Customer Reviews for

Trinity: Military War Dog

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Head-turning romantic suspense

I love Ronie Kendig's books and "Trinity" is no exception. In this book, Ronie gives us a glimpse into the lives of military war dogs and their handlers. We don't hear much about these amazing members of our military. They give their lives (both human and canine) to fig...
I love Ronie Kendig's books and "Trinity" is no exception. In this book, Ronie gives us a glimpse into the lives of military war dogs and their handlers. We don't hear much about these amazing members of our military. They give their lives (both human and canine) to fight for our freedom.

"Trinity" was a truly wonderful book. I love romance, and this has it. I love a little suspense (occasionally), it has that too.

I've never been much of a fan of "military" books, but the excellent writing within Ronie's novels has changed my opinion. I may never pick up anyone else's military books, but I will be coming back time after time to anything Ronie Kendig writes.

***I received this book free for purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion.***

posted by GingerS219 on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I'm a little new to the military suspense genre. I've heard wond

I'm a little new to the military suspense genre. I've heard wonderful things about Ronie Kendig's talent for story-telling, so I decided it was high time to check her out. Although, I'm not a huge dog lover (don't hate me!), I thought Trinity sounded like an interesting...
I'm a little new to the military suspense genre. I've heard wonderful things about Ronie Kendig's talent for story-telling, so I decided it was high time to check her out. Although, I'm not a huge dog lover (don't hate me!), I thought Trinity sounded like an interesting book. The story was great! I liked Heath from the very beginning. He's struggling to figure out what to do with his life after suffering a traumatic brain injury and jumps at the chance to go back to Afghanistan—even if it's simply to talk to the troops. All of his challenges seemed so realistic, and I had such compassion for him! Darci was a unique character as well. It took me a while to warm up to her, but once I did, I loved her! The back and forth between Heath and Darci and the action-packed story made for a great read!

There were a few things that kept me from completely falling in love with the story. One, the vast number of characters! I had a really hard time keeping everyone straight—even more so because many of the characters went by multiple names. The Chinese operatives had such similar names (some even overlapping between first and last name!) ... it was too much for me to keep straight. The story also jumped through so many different people's perspectives that I often found myself having to go back to re-read to refresh what was actually going on; the transitions were not clear. Finally, I found the background story to be a little convoluted. I eventually gave up trying to figure it out and just focused on the current happenings, which helped me keep moving.

Even with these "negatives", the good out-weighed the bad and I enjoyed the book! I will definitely read other books by this author. Now I just have to decide which one to read next! [3.5 stars]

I received a temporary e-copy of this book from the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for my fair and honest review.

posted by iblog4books on July 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Head-turning romantic suspense

    I love Ronie Kendig's books and "Trinity" is no exception. In this book, Ronie gives us a glimpse into the lives of military war dogs and their handlers. We don't hear much about these amazing members of our military. They give their lives (both human and canine) to fight for our freedom.

    "Trinity" was a truly wonderful book. I love romance, and this has it. I love a little suspense (occasionally), it has that too.

    I've never been much of a fan of "military" books, but the excellent writing within Ronie's novels has changed my opinion. I may never pick up anyone else's military books, but I will be coming back time after time to anything Ronie Kendig writes.

    ***I received this book free for purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion.***

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    I have some authors that I read over and over again and Ronie Ke

    I have some authors that I read over and over again and Ronie Kendig is now one of them. I have read Trinity and Talon and could not put them down.
    The suspense and romance and edge of your seat chapters keep you wanting more. I look forward to reading more from her. Trinity was fantastic! The way Daniels struggled with his faith is real life and the struggles he has with his career ending injury, you feel so bad for him. It was just an excellent book and I would highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Excellent, Highly Recommended

    This book was so overwhelming, in a good way. Couldn't put it down. Have now bought the other two war dog books of hers that are about dogs mentioned in this first book. If you love a compelling story and love dogs, buy and read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    A military dog

    One of my favorit book's

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    Please check on this as it is a fantastic read

    Dogs are amazing and Trinity is an loyal as well as amazing. The story is a tear jerker so have hankies available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Highly recommend

    I enjoyed this book so much that I hated to see it end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Diana

    Good job! Part ten is out at pol, please check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    XY

    Wonderful! Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    GRIMM chapter 8 part 3

    ...Ten minutes later, I found myself in a plain,brown tunic, dark green pants and stiff leather boots. Getting dreesed had been a hassle, for every bit of me screeched in pain when I moved. I had also found, while changing into my new clothing, that my chest, as well as one of my legs and a shoulder, was wrapped in layers of thick, white bandages. They explained my stiffness, somewhat, but were useless when it came to concealing my injuries. Four red blotches in the material onfirmed how many imes I had been hit. The sight was horrifying and I hastily finished dressing, despite the pain. <br> Pleased with my new look, Jack led me out of the compound, into the glaring sunlight; it was time for training to begin. <p> end of chapter eight. Short, I know, but then again, it is part three, making this my longest chapter. Diana, (and someone else) you'll be pleased to hear that I found a way to work Henry Charming and Jasmine into the storyline, with a few mods. However, please be noted that this is WAAAAAAAY down the road in the story and probably won't appear until AT LEAST chapter 15 or so. I am still taking character apps! -Frozen_Over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Hunter

    Awesome story! Keep it up! Do u think u could add a hunter (( one that hunts))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    This review is from: Trinity: Military War Dog (A Breed Apart)

    This review is from: Trinity: Military War Dog (A Breed Apart) (Kindle Edition)
    Great read, story is riveting. The relationship between dog and handler is almost like a marriage, but with strong military camaraderie. The plots must be followed closely, as their are a number of relationships to follow. A story about our Special Forces is a means of showing great respect for their service to our country. We now, also have another Military Service Force to give respect and honor to the Dog's (MWD Memorial) that provide pot for our soldiers from insurgents, IEDs and explosives. Many have their stories to share and this was a great one.
    A Memorial is being established and requests donations to the John Burnam Foundation Memorial.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    Every book I read by Ronie Kendig just keeps getting better. In

    Every book I read by Ronie Kendig just keeps getting better. In Trinity, I wasn’t sure what to expect because I knew nothing about Military War Dogs, but since I love all of Ronies other books, I knew it would but good. But it wasn’t just good, it was so awesome I didn’t put the book down until I finished it!

    I can’t say enough about Heath Daniels and his military war dog. I was in awe of the relationship the two of them had and Trinity was just amazing! I grew to love that dog like it was my own! And as usual, Ronie Kendig throws so many twists and turns into the story that she keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout the entire book. I guess you can tell, I love, love this book, just as I love anything that Ronie Kendig writes! I can’t wait for the second book in this series to come out so I can meet another K9 friend!

    I really recommend this book to whoever likes fiction. If you enjoy dog stories, or stories about war, you will enjoy this one too! Go grab a copy of this one, and watch out for the others in this amazing series from Ronie Kendig.

    I received this book from Barbour Books to read and review.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    Staff Sergeant Heath "Ghost" Daniels ` closest partner

    Staff Sergeant Heath &quot;Ghost&quot; Daniels ` closest partner is Trinity, his Special Forces-trained military war dog, until Trinity attempts to prevent his actions. Misunderstanding Trinity's actions, Daniels and Trinity go stateside after injuries in a bomb explosion. When Daniels gets the chance to return to the battlefields, even though it is only as a moral booster, he and Trinity go. Then circumstances, force them back into action.




    Great story, I enjoyed every minute. I admit I am a dog lover and I admire all of our military professionals, but the story captured my imagination and I found myself praying for the safety of the characters, a sure sign of my enjoyment. The characters and the story completely pulled me in. I could not put it down, part love story, part military story, and all dog. Highly enjoyable, I can not wait for the next one in the series. I recommend it for those who look for more in a story line than romance.




    Received Galley from NetGalley.coma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes life takes a turn that we aren't expecting. Discourage

    Sometimes life takes a turn that we aren't expecting. Discouragement can set in, even despair. But God uses all things to refine his children, making us into who we need to be.

    Former Green Beret Heath Daniels and his Military War Dog, Trinity, are an inseparable team. After a career ending injury, Heath and Trinity become members of A Breed Apart, a unique program to boost morale for active military personnel. Their first assignment finds them in Afghanistan where they meet Darci Kintz. 

    Darci is illusive and careful to keep herself distanced from relationships due to her job but there's an instant connection between her and Heath. When she goes missing, Heath and Trinity are asked to join the Special Forces Team that's going into enemy controlled territory to find her and bring her back. 

    There's just no disappointment when I read a book written by Ronie Kendig. Action. Faith. Suspense. Romance. It's all there, expertly written and woven together to keep me focused on one thing only...the story. 

    I love how my whole being felt suspended while reading this book. I was full of anticipation, anxiety, and joy; on pins and needles to see what was coming next. If even a fraction of what is written in this book could possibly be true concerning the MWD and handler relationship, then I have to say BRAVO to our military for cultivating some of the finest soldiers out there! And certainly a huge shout out to the author for educating me on such an important aspect of our military, creating fascinating scenarios that unequivocally make my heart pound and my soul weep for the dangers our men and women volunteer to put themselves in, all so I can have the privilege of being an American citizen!

    I highly recommend this book to any lover of suspense, actually to anyone because if you're not a fan of high level military suspense now, you just may be after reading Trinity: Military War Dog. I'm looking forward to all the books in this exciting new series!

    I was provided an electronic copy of this book through NetGalley from Barbour Publishing for review purposes. I was not required to write a positive review, just my opinion of the book, which I have done. No compensation has been received. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Can you rate a book higher than a 5? If so, then it's definitly

    Can you rate a book higher than a 5? If so, then it's definitly more than a 5! This was an awesome book. I really learned alot about MWD's. I can't wait for Talon to come out! This book is highly recommended! Of course, I've loved all of Ronie Kendig's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    After three tours in the Special Forces, she outranked most of t

    After three tours in the Special Forces, she outranked most of the men she worked with. Especially her handler Heath &quot;Ghost&quot; Daniels. War dogs and specialized search dogs were high-value targets. Terrorists paid big for dead military working dogs. She has countless lives saved under her belt and her final tour almost cost her and Heath their lives in Afghanistan. Thanks to the efforts of the new resolution signed into law by President Clinton a few years back, which allowed dogs to live out the remainder of their years rather than being euthanized after the military decided they were done with the dogs, Trinity has a second chance.

    As one of three dogs working with their handlers at A Breed Apart Ranch in Texas, each of these teams is once again training for contract work from companies who have contractors on the ground in Iraq and Afghanistan, even their own military. They've seen the great benefit of war dogs and will pay nice fees to have a for-hire availability. Especially since his latest request to rejoin his team as a chaplain was also turned down. It seems to Heath that God is keeping him from finding his true calling back into active service and soon grows frustrated in his own faith. For Heath this is the opportunity for them to get back into action since the IED concussion from the blast and shrapnel sliced through his skull and left him with a traumatic brain injury. This is a program designed by Jibril Khori, former Green Beret and colleague for former military war or working dogs and an opportunity to continue to utilize what they were trained for once again but in a different capacity.

    When Heath and Trinity get called to Northern Afghanistan under contract for the Public Affairs Office, as part of a morale-boosting for the troops, he meets Darci Kintz. It seems they have a lot in common but Heath has to make sure to keep his stress in check. In fact that is why the other handlers, Timbrel Hogan and Aspen Courtland are also on this trip, to ensure he doesn't black out. The truth was spelled out on the three faces of the other ABA( A Breed Apart) members: They didn't trust him to do his job. They expected him to fail. God just wouldn't give him a break. And the more he stressed about it, the more he kept blacking out. Is it possible she can find someone who can truly love her despite her secrets or will Trinity be the only girl for Heath? When Heath receives word that a military intelligence officer, Darci who is gathering evidence tracking the Taliban as an undercover geological survey team member has been kidnapped, it will be just the golden opportunity for Heath and Trinity to be called back into action once again. Will he be able to keep his focus or will he put all their lives in danger?

    In Trinity, Military War Dog by Ronie Kendig, we get an opportunity to see what its like to work with these handlers and their canine companions in the various military forces and see just how dangerous and truly rewarding their work can be in this fictional novel. Ronie did an exceptional job at her research into what it takes for both the canine and their handlers to work together in some dangerous assignments. I am so honored to be able to look into a different side of serving in the military and just how far loyalty and honor go hand in hand with these service dogs. I also got an opportunity to view the Belgian Malinois that is Trinity's breed of dog and learn more about them after I finished this book. Truly a remarkable breed of dog that is highly intelligent for this line of work.

    I received Trinity: Military War Dog by Ronie Kendig compliments of Barbour Publishing and Net Galley for my honest opinion. It is a must read for any military or service dog lover and really hit home for me. I love how much a handler and their dog play upon one another so that they really become one with their thoughts and actions. I applaud Ronie's expertise is bringing this unsung hero to light and to showcase just how dangerous and rewarding their work really is. It is the beginning of an exciting new series, A Breed Apart and I can't wait to read the next book!!! In my personal opinion, this one rates a 5 out of 5 service stars!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    Trinity was a fast paced read full of action, twists and plenty

    Trinity was a fast paced read full of action, twists and plenty edge of your seat moments. I had a hard time putting the book down as, just when I thought I’d found a place to stop, something exciting happened and I was hooked again.

    The characters were by far the best part of the book. They were all very realistic and the way their voices were written felt natural. Two of my favorite characters turned out to be Timbrel (who will be getting her own book sometime soon, yay!) and Candyman, who was just funny. The real star of the book though, was Trinity, Heath’s MWD. She was a truly amazing animal with such a strong personality and so much love for Heath. She was a great reminder that our four legged soldiers are heroes as well as our men and women in uniform.

    At the beginning I was confused by all the different characters and plot points that seemed to be introduced rather quickly but once I got everything figured out it was smooth sailing from there.

    Trinity is the first book I’ve read by Ronie Kendig and I can’t wait to read some more! If you’re a fan of action and intrigue I would absolutely recommend this book.

    *I was given a copy of this book by the author in exchange for my honest review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Highy recommend

    Wonderful story, as always from this author. Well written with lots of detail to ensure gratitude for those who volunteer their lives to keep us free. Inspiring, entertaining,etc. What more could we ask?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    Know the old adage about some things just getting better with ti

    Know the old adage about some things just getting better with time/age? Let it most definitely be said of Ronie Kendig's latest book, &quot;Trinity: Military War Dog&quot;. I've been totally impressed with Kendig since day one of her writing, but I've grown to absolutely mentally pace with anticipation when one of her books is on the horizon.
    &quot;Trinity: MWD&quot; is an exceptional read. Kendig combines elements of humor, adrenaline, perseverance, loyalty, faith, hope, and romance into this heart-pounding story of an ex-special forces military war dog handler and his ever-faithful dog. The realistic scenarios of spec ops in the book read like this author is an expert in military warfare--it's emotional, dramatic, and unpredictable. Without fail, each character is endeared to the reader in ways that tug at your heartstrings and leave you unable to remove yourself from the story--no, really! I barely moved from my couch for 14 hours before finishing.
    Seriously, I dare readers to find anything else out that's got this much emotion, dramatic punch, and writing finesse that makes you walk away from the book feeling like this author hit a home run! I can't help but cheer for the books to come in this series! Job well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    Courage, honor, duty and a reluctant hero!

    Trinity: Military War Dog is a fantastic story about Staff Sergeant Daniels, and his special-forces military war dog, Trinity, serving in Afghanistan and what happens to both him and his four-legged companion after he is wounded by an IED (improvised explosive device). Sometime after Daniels is diagnosed with a traumatic brain injury and post traumatic stress disorder, he gets back to a version of himself he can live with and have his companion, Trinity, in his life. Over the course of his journey, he comes across a girl, Jia (aka Darci), that resonates with his past, how or why he doesn't know...and slowly he is brought back into a war he wanted so badly to be back in but now desperately wants out of.

    Ronie tells a story that begs you to turn the page for more. In her sixth book, she tells a story of courage and fear, bravery and honor that represents our armed forces today. She also brings a little romance to each of her stories which balances the story's suspense. Pick up a copy today. You'll have a tough time putting it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2