BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Trip to the Beach: Living on Island Time in the Caribbean

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    Makes you want to take a trip to the beach....

    A trip to the beach is a memoir written by a couple who decide to live their dream of moving to Anguilla and opening up a restaurant. Although their journey is full of challenges in the end they are successful and extremely satisfied with their decision. I could relate 100% to this book as my Husband and I plan to open a B & B in Puerto Rico when we retire so it was interesting to see another couple do something similar (although PR is modern compared to Anguilla). If you love to travel and you love other cultures, read this book...you will just be swept away to the beach.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Life On Island Time

    A lovely memoir about life on island time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Very enjoyable

    I really liked this book. If you enjoy experiencing what it is like to
    actually live in another part of the world (like I do) get this book.
    You get a real sense of the people on this island. I even looked up
    the location afterwards to understand where exactly it was and the
    surrounding islands. A real life geography lesson!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book!!

    I have never ever been a reader! I would rather see the movie than read the book anyday. That all changed when I picked up this book. I couldn't put it down, you feel like you are right there with the Blanchard's. It is a great read! It makes you want to move to the Caribbean!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Love+it

    Makes+you+want+to+move+to+someplace+tropical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun book

    This book was a lot of fun. I feel the need to visit the island and the restaurant and contemplate my retirement days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    How we wreck Paridise

    The Blanchards seem a bit up tight to do what they did and that is why they seem to have so much trouble in their new enviroment. They weren't on 'island time' when they started their new lifestyle, they were still on continental time. Fun reading anyway.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2002

    Very Entertaining and Inspiring!

    I have recently started reading travelogues and stumbled across this one in the bookstore. Although I am presently in no position financially to do what this couple was able to do, I definitely admire their strength and unity in their marriage to accomplish what they have. I especially liked how open and loving they were to the natives of the island, and pretty much became a part of everyone's family there. Maybe one day if I ever get to visit Anguilla, I will most certainly visit their restaurant and offer my congratulations to them on a job well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2001

    CORNBREAD RECIPE WAS DELICIOUS!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. What a wonderful feeling the author created, making us a part of their struggles and joys of starting their business and running it. I felt as if I were right there in the kitchen with them. I loved their staff. They sure are Sweethearts. I tried the 'Cornbread' recipe. MMMM,It was really delicious. I thought it was an interesting twist on cornbread.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2001

    Great Book

    Very interesting and entertaining book. It sounds like hard work getting away from it all on a Caribbean island! Recipes sound great. Their Hurricane experience was interesting to read, since I went through Hurricane Andrew. I would have liked to know more of their background, i.e. how did she become a chef and how did he become a builder? Also, at the end of the book, after they settle down in the restaurant again, were they still happy having only their island friends. I guess if I want to know more, it must be a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2001

    Great Adventure

    This was a good book. For those who like letting your mind get away from the everyday humbug, this is a good escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    Caribbean Dreams, Island Ways...

    Mel and Bob Blanchard have done what I feel many wish they could...just leave it all behind for that dream of a house overlooking the unbelievable Caribbean water. Their baptism into the island lifestyle will have you giggling and crying at some point during your read because they are sharing some very amazing experiences as they follow their dream (with more than a few potholes along the way). I loved this book and really want others to realize the charm of the Caribbean, beyond the beautiful beaches and in her lovely, warm, wonderful people! Having experienced this firsthand in my life, I was so thrilled to read a book that really conveyed that message. It will captivate you! I only now must figure out when I can make MY trip to Anguilla that I have wanted to do for several years. I know the trip will have been worth the wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2001

    Outstanding!

    Wonderful first book for these two authors. Touches on all the senses. Enjoyed the behind the scenes information on the Easter Sailboat Regatta.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2000

    white sand and sunny skies

    This book makes takes you the heart of Anguilla. It allows you to tag along with the author's as they establish their dream restaurant right on the sunny beaches of the Caribbean. They introduce you to some of the locals who add flavor with their island lifestyle. The reader can easily picture the adventures as they unfold for the authors. A must read for anyone who enjoys that special island lifestyle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1