Customer Reviews for

Triptych

Average Rating 4.5
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A great mystery with a lot of twists.

This is the second Karin Slaughter book I've read, and I loved it. I usually read James Patterson, but I like this just as much. The characters are real. You feel their grief. Don't want to spoil anything at all. When things come together, it's neat.

posted by Opal_Sun on December 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Slow reading

I usually read a book in 2 or 3 days, but so far I have been reading on this for 4 nights and am only 1/2 way through. For some reason I just can't get into this book like I have her other books. I don't know if it is because she skips around so much from past to presen...
I usually read a book in 2 or 3 days, but so far I have been reading on this for 4 nights and am only 1/2 way through. For some reason I just can't get into this book like I have her other books. I don't know if it is because she skips around so much from past to present or from charater to character or what. To me, this isn't one of her best. I should have saved my money on this one.

posted by Anonymous on July 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    A great mystery with a lot of twists.

    This is the second Karin Slaughter book I've read, and I loved it. I usually read James Patterson, but I like this just as much. The characters are real. You feel their grief. Don't want to spoil anything at all. When things come together, it's neat.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    INTENSE!!

    The way Slaughter jumps from character to character giving you their different perspectives each time is genius!! You are left with your jaw on the floor when the pieces are put together. Outstanding!! Will be adding this series to my collection for sure!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    Brutal murders in Atlanta

    Mutilated female bodies are turning up all over Atlanta. Atlanta is known for its history of rape and crime but some ¿sicko¿ is creating havoc that is sending the Atlanta Police and the Georgia Bureau of Investigation in circles as they attempt to solve the puzzles this maniac leaves and still stay sane with their normally uncooperative inter-department methods. Grady Homes is a section of Atlanta that is deeply infested with slums and contains much of the areas crime. Prostitutes are everywhere, some giving freebies to the police so they can maintain their business. On the sixth floor of one of the buildings in Grady lies a young woman dead, cut up badly, raped, her tongue ripped off, and her body discarded on the stairs for all to view. The police arrived, conducted their investigation, making their nasty comments about the body and the buildings, and the girls that are being killed doing their prostitution. Detective Michael Ormewood arrived after the original police who had found the body. Michael was one of the cops that liked to partake of the free women in the area. GBI Detective Will Trent, a completely different type of cop, worked with Michael on the investigation. Back in 1985 Mary Alice Finney had been found in the same condition as the girls in the Grady Homes section had been found in present time mutilated, raped, and cut in many areas of their bodies. The same two detectives had worked that case. John Shelley had been arrested for that murder and was convicted and sent to prison. He had a terrible time in prison being a young man that the other guys loved to force themselves on. They made Shelley¿s insides look like hamburger through their constant raping of him. Prison was not kind to Shelley who insisted he was not guilty of killing Mary Alice Finney. In 2005 Shelley was released and found a world changed so much that he did not know how he could ever fit. Work for ex-cons was laborious, sparse, and paid little, which is why he ended up in a car wash doing such menial work. Located in a poor area loaded with prostitutes and working with some fellow workers, some ex-cons too, that would not let him forget his past, Shelley plodded on and got nixed up with Angie, one of the prostitutes who actually was an undercover cop. He did not know that fact so John worked her to get information in his search for someone connected with the killing he was accused of years ago. Karin Slaughter takes the reader on a trip through prison, recuperation from prison (if there is such a thing), and the rough life led by many in such desolate areas of crime in Atlanta. The story contains love, both true and untrue, and you get the feelings with the words used that you are in the middle of this story trying to figure out who is the mutilator, the killer, the good guys or the bad guys. Granted, Slaughter does not give anything away as you read until you get very deep in the book. A very enjoyable brutal mystery-murder story. I highly recommend it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Must read book. If you love twisted thrillers.

    I 'ABSOLUTELY' could not put this book down. It is a MUST read. If you enjoy twisted thrillers. Made me want to read ALL Karen Slaughters others books. Which I have. This one is my favorite. I cannot wait for her next book. She writes so you cannot put the book down from the first page to the last.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Slow reading

    I usually read a book in 2 or 3 days, but so far I have been reading on this for 4 nights and am only 1/2 way through. For some reason I just can't get into this book like I have her other books. I don't know if it is because she skips around so much from past to present or from charater to character or what. To me, this isn't one of her best. I should have saved my money on this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Awesome book---loved it.

    Excellent. Rarely do I read a suspense story that surprises me. TripTych did. It would be worth reading twice!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Highly recommend this book!

    A great book that grabs you from page one and holds onto to you until the last page! The characters are real and powerful and the story line is terrifyingly real. A must read for anyone who loves a good mystery!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    triptych

    just an all around great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a good book

    This book was a great read,good storyline,good characters and it keeps you engrossed till the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    So.....

    Must be me, but I did not think this book was all that, it was good, just not all that good....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    Slow Reading

    I just haven't been able to get into this book like I have the others. Usually it only takes me about 3 days to read a book but for some reason I just can't get into this one. Hopefully the ending is worth the wait. I love all of her other books, but this one is not as interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    Triptych

    The book started out slow, but overall it was really good. I loved how she switched stories everytime you thought you were getting close to solving the murders another problem arose and another conflict became involved. I loved the twists and turns and how three different stories had so much in common but yet they were so different, but in the end, it was all tied together, no loose ends. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading murder stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Masterpiece!

    Triptych is a fascinating, intense book. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. The beginning of the book started like an ordinary novel, then clips of newspapers from the past link to the present. The way things connected amazed me, it was pure genious! I absolutely loved this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    A riveting thriller you'll find hard to put down.

    I LOVED this book. Karen Slaughter has ventured out into a new realm of writing that's more than exciting. I really had a hard time putting this book down to do other things. Her style in this book is riveting, compelling the reader not to stop because of the suspense and the desire to see what¿s going to happen next. The title was so appropriate in that her story line really was a ¿Triptych¿ with the multi-facets of her characters , each one being laid out in the story like a piece of artwork, very pleasing to look at in your minds eye. The only part that left me feeling suspended and wanting more was the ending. The reader was left to finish the conclusion mentally, but the way she ended each scene with each character there was only one logical conclusion. I would have liked for her to embellish just a little more to make each scene a little more complete. All in all, the book is a strong 5 points. You won¿t regret reading or buying the book to re-read it again. It's a keeper!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    Very gritty

    I am on page 70 so far and the story has been very gritty and at times graphic. I enjoy Karin Slaughter's in-your-face approach to storytelling. I can't wait to finish and find out what happens!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    Highly Recommended!

    I highly recommend this book. It is great! Big twist to the whole story. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    This is not the first audiobook I¿ve listened to, but it is the

    This is not the first audiobook I’ve listened to, but it is the first one I finished in less than three days; a little less than fifteen hours of listening time. Now, audiobooks aren’t really my thing, because I get distracted too easily and my mind starts wandering. But, with Triptych this was not the case. I’m not sure if it was the excellent narrator (Michael Kramer), or the gripping story, but either way I listened to this book every opportunity I could.

    Another bookworm friend of mine has been raving about Triptych endlessly, so the moment I got the audio version of this book I jumped right into it. I now see why she loves Karin Slaughter’s books so much. Triptych was downright awesome! If you’re a fan of Karen Rose’s books, you’ll understand what I’m talking about. This lady (Slaughter) writes characters that are flawed, raw, and brutally honest. What didn’t escape my noticed is that all the characters were both good and bad. How much more real than that do you want? We all have a good side and a darker side (whether we’d admit it or not), and Slaughter capitalizes on this by playing on the reader’s emotions as to whether you should be sympathizing with the villain, or should you be despising him? Or, is it rather a question of hating the act, not the person? Also, early on she gives you the culprit who committed the heinous murders and other atrocities, but it’s up to you whether you’re going to see it, or whether you choose to be kept in the dark until the big reveal at the end. Whichever way, you might feel like kicking yourself for not seeing early on what the author is hiding in plain sight.

    Other than a great narrator, I loved the characters in this book, and the plot with all its twists and reveals. Big or small, each character comes to life to tell a story of how people are not what they seem, and how easily we can be deceived and let down by the ones we trust the most. I loved the bits of humor Slaughter added to this story, but mostly it was the nerve-wracking suspense and the intricate aspects that mold each character’s personality, that made this into a riveting read. It’s as though Slaughter knew exactly what I’m looking for in a book and while writing Triptych she was probably thinking: “Angie, I’m writing this book just for your reading pleasure”. Well, thanks Karin. You did a splendid job. You even left out the romance. Oh yeah!

    Due to frequent use of profanity and scenes of explicit violence which gives this book a realistic edge, I wouldn’t recommend Triptych to readers below the age of eighteen. For everyone else – get it. Now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Great Read

    This is the first book in the Will Trent Series. I read it because I was looking for a read a like book by another author and this author's name came up. It was so good that after I finished it, I bought all the other books in the Will Trent Series and just finished reading them. This is a great murder/mystery and will keep you on the edge of your seat. Really enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Ok

    Not bad. Hate Angie. Why doesn't Slaughter kill her off. Trent is a nice enough guy. Hard to believe he can get by with his dyslexia as bad as he is. I enjoyed it. Waiting for Sara to get a life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Good read!!

    I enjoyed this book, would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6