Customer Reviews for

Triptych

Average Rating 4.5
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A great mystery with a lot of twists.

This is the second Karin Slaughter book I've read, and I loved it. I usually read James Patterson, but I like this just as much. The characters are real. You feel their grief. Don't want to spoil anything at all. When things come together, it's neat.

posted by Opal_Sun on December 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Slow reading

I usually read a book in 2 or 3 days, but so far I have been reading on this for 4 nights and am only 1/2 way through. For some reason I just can't get into this book like I have her other books. I don't know if it is because she skips around so much from past to presen...
I usually read a book in 2 or 3 days, but so far I have been reading on this for 4 nights and am only 1/2 way through. For some reason I just can't get into this book like I have her other books. I don't know if it is because she skips around so much from past to present or from charater to character or what. To me, this isn't one of her best. I should have saved my money on this one.

posted by Anonymous on July 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    The Best of all her books

    I have read all of Karin Slaughter's books and this one is absolutely the best. They are all outstanding books with a lot of substance to them. Read everything of her's that you can get your hands on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    One of the Best Mysteries/Thrillers out there!

    I would have to say that this book definitely gets five stars. Overall it keep me at the edge of my seat and I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    Another Karin Slaughter Hit!

    Amazing is a word we often use to describe any number of thing, but in the case of Triptych by Karin Slaughter it does not even come close to covering the sheer incredible worth of this book. Karin Slaughter is an incredible writer who always pleases her readers and never takes them down a path they do not want to go. While her books are very graphic in nature it is information you need to truly understand the criminal mind and process what would make anyone act in such a manner. From the moment you open the book and start reading the first page you will be unable to put it down to even sleep. You are riveted to the general storyline of how the three main characters in Michael Ormewood a local police officer, John Shelley a convicted criminal and Will Trent an FBI Agent come together and turn everything inside out for each one of them. In 1985 a horrific crime was committed that placed a 16 John Shelley in jail as a convicted rapist and murderer. Only his mother believed in his innocence and maintained a vigilant endeavor to have his case over turned and John released. John was released after 21 years of barely surviving his jail time to find that his life had been stolen by someone else, but who and why would anyone want to be a convicted murderer. In searching for the person responsible he also discovers that more women have been brutally attacked and murdered, leaving the blame back solely on him as all but one of the new cases is identical to the crime for which he was convicted and accused. The three men cross paths a number of times while each one searches for the truth, a truth that is so horrific no one can comprehend what is happening. From one chapter to the next the details are revealed and explanations given in small fragments you need to remember and absorb so that when you finish each chapter you hear yourself say Oh My Gosh that was so amazing! After completing this book I started to read it again and in doing so I found so much more that I had missed the first read around and found myself still amazed and shocked by all that occurred and in some incidences trying to absorb how this could all have happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    Never a Moment to catch Your Breath

    Reading through a Karin Slaughter is a lot like successfully going 15 rounds with a heavyweight boxer. You'll be dazed, stunned, have the wind knocked out of you and may occasionally end up on the seat of your pants, by when finished, you'll walk away with the satisfacion of having a survived a worthy ordeal. Like any great heavyweight, Karin pulls no punches and ALWAYS delivers a knockout blow. 'Triptych' is as powerful a novel as Ms. Slaughter has ever written. It's gritty and in your face and while at times it may difficult to read because of its vulgarities or seemy sexual overtones, it remains, nonetheless, nothing short of an intoxicating blend of drama, intrique, character study, and just plain good story telling. Karin Slaughter just keeps getting better. As an aside, I recently met Ms. Slaughter at a book signing event and found her to be a very friendly and personable 'celebrity.' I highly recommend this book. If you are a constant Slaughter reader you will not be disappointed. If your are a first time reader, you'll be looking for her earlier releases quicker than you can say 'Grant County.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2006

    A Worthy Case For Any Armchair Detective Worth His or Her Salt

    Oh what a tangled web Ms. Slaughter weaves in her first stand-alone suspense novel. In the aptly titled TrypTych¸ Karin Slaughter brilliantly portrays the psychological complexity of three seemingly unconnected men: the good, the bad, and the reality. She keeps armchair detectives on the edge of their seats from the first grisly murder scene. The moment readers think they¿ve figured out whodunit, Slaughter throws in curve balls galore, keeping you guessing until the very last chapter, where justice¿no matter how unconventional¿is served.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4