Customer Reviews for

Tripwire (Jack Reacher Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 476 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(202)

4 Star

(166)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A good law-enforcement tale with lots of twists. It'll keep you busy.

Lee Child has written a whole series of books about a character named Jack Reacher. He's a rough-and-tumble former Military Police officer who is now a civilian, a loner, working for an admirable cause using tools that are at times a bit extreme. The people he meets in ...
Lee Child has written a whole series of books about a character named Jack Reacher. He's a rough-and-tumble former Military Police officer who is now a civilian, a loner, working for an admirable cause using tools that are at times a bit extreme. The people he meets in the process are each unique -- especially their names -- and bring all kinds of angles to Child's stories. His descriptions of the surroundings and locations of the action are detailed and evocative. The resolution of the story occurs on the last page, so the reading requires following all the players, all the way to the end. These books are good entertainment with no strings attached.

posted by Cdrpete on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I really think that jack reacher is just excellent. I like tom

I really think that jack reacher is just excellent. I like tom cruise too BUT tom just isnt big enough to, play jack.. NO WAY!!! "with hands as big as hams" ????? I dont think so . Sorry Tom. LUCASRM

posted by 7069232 on September 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 480 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    A good law-enforcement tale with lots of twists. It'll keep you busy.

    Lee Child has written a whole series of books about a character named Jack Reacher. He's a rough-and-tumble former Military Police officer who is now a civilian, a loner, working for an admirable cause using tools that are at times a bit extreme. The people he meets in the process are each unique -- especially their names -- and bring all kinds of angles to Child's stories. His descriptions of the surroundings and locations of the action are detailed and evocative. The resolution of the story occurs on the last page, so the reading requires following all the players, all the way to the end. These books are good entertainment with no strings attached.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Another Excellent Adventure

    I am reading the Jack reacher series in order and can not put them down once I start. This book was no exception. The characters, the plot, the continuous twists and turns leave you longing for more. It would have seemed that Jack's corporal would have left some clues since they both covered the same ground, but that would not have been near as exciting. This book is a bit more gory than the previous two so be prepared.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    Trip Wire

    Loved it. This is the 3rd book in the series & so far I liked them all. I like the main character and am anxious to read the rest of the series.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Excellent book!

    You will never put this book down!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    I really think that jack reacher is just excellent. I like tom

    I really think that jack reacher is just excellent. I like tom cruise too BUT tom just isnt big enough to, play jack.. NO WAY!!! "with hands as big as hams" ????? I dont think so . Sorry Tom. LUCASRM

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2005

    READ NOTHING ELSE TILL YOU READ THIS!!

    Trip wire was the best Reacher novel yet. I wish Lee Child could clone himself and be able to write a Jack Reacher novel every month. I'm glad I discovered Reacher after there were several books published, but deeply saddened after I read the last one, knowing I had to wait till Mr. Child put one to paper.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Outstanding

    If you are not reading these Jack Reacher series of books you are missing out on some great fun.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Great Reacher Novel

    Ive read most of the Reacher books and this by far is my favorite one! Great read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Awesome

    This is one of the best books ever

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2003

    Great book

    I dont know what some of u guys are talkin about. This is one of the best books i ever read, and I read a lot. This is best author I have come upon so if you read this, this book along with his others are great. So go and read them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Good book

    Pretty good series so far, but wish the chapters would break the story up better. His writing seems to flow everything together. At points it's like reading a paragraph with no punctuation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Good read!

    I just ran across Lee Child and have enjoyed his writing and the main character. Look forward to reading the entire Jack Reachers series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Early Reacher

    First off, let me say that I've read all, or nearly all, of the Reacher books. Once you start, if this is your kind of story, you'll find yourself COMPELLED to seek our and read the rest.
    This is one of the early books and Reacher is the epitome of the complex, simple man.
    He's practically a super hero. Big, strong, smart as Batman, has a sense of justice. Right and wrong is mixed in. But, make no mistake, when Reacher is involved, right or wrong--Justice will be served.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Great series!

    The Jack Reacher books are suspenseful and capitvating. I love this series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Highly Recommended - Jack Reacher is a great character - terrific read.

    This is the third in the Jack Reacher series by Lee Child and I can't get enough of him. What a great series. Hope Lee Child never gets enough either and keeps 'em coming.
    He's definitely a man's man and the writing is outstanding.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Another good read from Child

    You can see Child's writing abilities have aain improved with the third book in the series. The story was well paced with just a little fits and stops going from storyline to storyline. The main villian's character was in stark contrast to the intensity of the other characters. It's as if Child was asked to go back and spice the book up a little bit and chose to focus all of the changes in the one character.

    I'll definitely purchase the next book in the series. Child did add a little bit of continuity to the Reacher stories by ending this book with Reacher staying with the woman he started out with in the beginning of the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    Great suspense!

    I love Jack Reacher!!!
    L.Jo

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    Great Read

    Exciting! This was my first Child book. I will try his others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent...

    I've only read a few of the Jack Reacher books so far and this one definitely is worthwhile. Hook Hobie is one of the really good "bad guys" in any book I've read. My plan is to read every single Reacher book and I'm hoping that others are at least as good as this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2003

    Best book I've read all year

    This is a superb book, a breathless sprint to the end. I was sucked in immediately by Hook Hobie and, having read the first two in the series, by yet another 'Jack Reacher pops up somewhere unexpected' kind of story. This is not the simple-minded airport read others here have proclaimed. The characters are three-dimensional, especially the antagonist, for whom you almost feel sorry, until the surprise ending. The action is unpredictible, non-stop and unique. There are enough characters of such diversity as to keep the book fresh and interesting. And the author is clearly very knowledgable about the military, police procedure, New York City, attorneys and their mentalities, and armaments. My only knocks would be we never know what happenes with Chester and Marilyn Stone, the latter of whom I found more intriguing than any character besides Reacher. And I'm not sure chest muscles could slow a .38 round, although the book did note the bullet was stopped by two ribs. But given the accuracy of Child's descriptions of weaponry and ballistics in the prior two novels, Killing Floor and Die Trying, he has instant credibility with me. Child's better than the heavies of his genre. I'll take him over Patterson or DeMille any day.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 480 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24