Customer Reviews for

Triumph: The Power and the Glory of the Catholic Church, a 2,000-Year History

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

An Eon of Sinners

This book tells a story of failure and weakness on the part of man. Not surprising since we are all sinners. What is surprising is that the our Lords church has survived so much weakness and lack of insight by the decendants of Peter. The book gives you a perspecti...
This book tells a story of failure and weakness on the part of man. Not surprising since we are all sinners. What is surprising is that the our Lords church has survived so much weakness and lack of insight by the decendants of Peter. The book gives you a perspective over the ages as man has slowly evolved to learn the lessons of the gospels and the teachings of Jesus. He picked his weakest deciple to lead his church and it worked. There were even weaker men who followed through the ages. Yet in todays modern world we find a pope as strong and faithfull as John Paul II. I highly recommend this book to all Christains for it shows how frail we are as human beings and how difficult it is to live the message of Christ.

posted by Anonymous on June 13, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Uncritical

As a convert to Catholicism, Mr. Crocker is a devout believer. However, he may be too close to his subject to be objective. Rather than provide a balanced and critical history, this book alternates from being a readable and intriguing inquiry to being merely a whitewas...
As a convert to Catholicism, Mr. Crocker is a devout believer. However, he may be too close to his subject to be objective. Rather than provide a balanced and critical history, this book alternates from being a readable and intriguing inquiry to being merely a whitewash of the past. Humane Vitae? It told 'simple facts'. The Syllabus of Errors? It condemned that 'might makes right' (it also condemned the First Amendment, but you won't learn that it Mr. Crocker's book). Criticisms appear only in obilque and devout ways. Pope Paul VI's decision to sell his papal tiara to benefit the poor was a 'bad sign for those who knew that the pomp and grandeur of the church is manna to the soul of the believer'. If Gary Wills' 'Papal Sins' went far in the critical direction, Mr. Crocker has done the same but in the opposite direction.

posted by Anonymous on April 3, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2004

    An Eon of Sinners

    This book tells a story of failure and weakness on the part of man. Not surprising since we are all sinners. What is surprising is that the our Lords church has survived so much weakness and lack of insight by the decendants of Peter. The book gives you a perspective over the ages as man has slowly evolved to learn the lessons of the gospels and the teachings of Jesus. He picked his weakest deciple to lead his church and it worked. There were even weaker men who followed through the ages. Yet in todays modern world we find a pope as strong and faithfull as John Paul II. I highly recommend this book to all Christains for it shows how frail we are as human beings and how difficult it is to live the message of Christ.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Highly recommended!

    I have not yet finished this book but look forward to my evenings when I can sneak in a few more pages. I am a cradle Catholic and spent all but 4 years of my education in the Catholic School System and find that I am learning so much more about the Catholic Church. There is no glossing over of any event and Mr. Crocker weaves his wit as he writes. The footnotes are also great to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    My journey here.

    Jan. 2004 I decided to start attending the Catholic Mass after the Episcopal 'Church' lost its head. In my studies (for the past 5 years), searching for the real 'Church,' and authority, I am convinced I am finally home. This book has done more to confirm thatthan any other. There is ONE God, ONE Son, ONE Baptism, and ONE 'Church.'

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2003

    Uncritical

    As a convert to Catholicism, Mr. Crocker is a devout believer. However, he may be too close to his subject to be objective. Rather than provide a balanced and critical history, this book alternates from being a readable and intriguing inquiry to being merely a whitewash of the past. Humane Vitae? It told 'simple facts'. The Syllabus of Errors? It condemned that 'might makes right' (it also condemned the First Amendment, but you won't learn that it Mr. Crocker's book). Criticisms appear only in obilque and devout ways. Pope Paul VI's decision to sell his papal tiara to benefit the poor was a 'bad sign for those who knew that the pomp and grandeur of the church is manna to the soul of the believer'. If Gary Wills' 'Papal Sins' went far in the critical direction, Mr. Crocker has done the same but in the opposite direction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2002

    The Catholic Companion Text

    It has been said that of the millions of people who hate Catholicism, only a handful do so for its genuine doctrine. H.W. Crocker III, in Triumph: The Power and the Glory of the Catholic Church, a 2000-Year History, will go a very long way toward ending pervasive ignorance of the Holy, Catholic, and Apostolic Church. Seemingly in the Jesuit tradition, Crocker educates the mass lay public to end misrepresentations and misconceptions of the Faith. Triumph chronicles Catholicism from its earliest establishment in the Roman Empire to the current Vicar of Christ, John Paul II. Unbelievably, the beautiful tapestry of Catholicism's historical context had not been woven in its' entirety until this dynamic text. Crocker's intelligently lucid writing style is seductive to even the most time-conscious reader. Triumph articulates the paramount occasions in religions' foundation and delightfully delves into the religious and secular relations between Popes and national leaders, the 'conveniently' omitted facts behind the Protestant Reformation, and unabashedly (and truthfully) addresses the controversial topics of the inquisition, indulgences, and the pontificate of Pius XII. Triumph is a wonderful companion text, one that should be read immediately after the Bible, and the Catechism. I strongly encourage all interested in Catholicism, from those who have chosen to build their lives upon its' foundation to those slightly concerned, to read Triumph. You will be forever enlightened.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Must read! History brought to life

    This needs to be read and re-read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Great Book!

    I have heard other people review this book, and all of the reviews have been good. So is mine. So many books dealing with Catholicism are slanted, biased, or just plain hostile to a religion which goes back 2,000 years and is practiced all over the world by millions of people. It's good to find a book that tells the story of the Church and its changing role in history, without dodging the more unChristan deeds of some of the Popes, and abuses by the clergy.
    Reading this book was not a drag of a dry read. It presents the material--and there's lots of it-- clearly, and in plain English! Talking about the earliest Christians, with secret ways of identifying themselves, to closet Christians in places such as China and the Middle East, this book would be an excellent resource for those teaching RCIA. Triumph carries it all.It is a good source for those who are simply interested in learning more about the history--good and bad-- of the Church. Triumph is a must read! I would not hesitate to call it a Triumph. The only thing is, in the limited space, the author cannot always go into the depth that you might wish for. If you're like me, that'll just make you want to learn more about your faith. Or perhaps it will inspire you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2003

    One Splendid, Eye-opening Read!

    Mr. H. W. Crocker III obviously is into really big stuff: A history of the 2,000 year-old Catholic Church in 499 pages! How rash to undertake such a task! Doesn't he know that fools rush in where angels fear to tread? Well, love is like that: blind. Crocker obviously loves the Catholic Church, in spite of what almost everybody says about it. He just takes his pen,(sits down to his word processor?), and tells it as he sees it. He sees his Church's uncanny ability to survive deadly challenges. He doesn't reveal how it mysteriously accomplishes this--probably no one really knows; how its 'water has run uphill for centuries'; how 264 human beings(popes)managed to pull off such a miracle of unbroken, unchanging continuity, given its powerful enemies, the weaknesses (all right, the downright corruption of some of its pontiffs.} Obviously something spooky went on during those twenty centuries. Crocker, in his love affair, doesn't seem to care very much. He describes his Church, warts and all, and keeps going, celebrating the death-defying miracle that it is. It helps that Crocker is a gifted, witty writer, a pleasure to read. You will have a wonderful time reading his new book and, who knows? you might also fall in love with his wonderful story of survival in this shaky, flaky world of ours. --John Cantwell Kiley, M.D., Ph.D.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2002

    Incredible and riveting history, better told than any other book available.

    No apologies, no excuses and no pulled punches. I could not help but be humbled by one of the greatest history books I've ever read. H. W. Crocker III has told the greatest story of good vs. evil, of the frailty of humans, and of the TRIUMPH of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit over the last 2000 yrs. I will have to re-read this book many times but I fear I will never be able to again read it for the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2001

    The sweep of history comes alive

    To write a history of the Roman Catholic Church that covers event over the course of two millennia is a daunting task, but once again, H.W. Crocker has done it. 'Triumph' reads like the great narrative histories of Sir Winston Churchill, or Shelby Foote's Civil War masterpiece. The reader is not bogged down in minutiae, or cheated out of certain epochs due to an editor's pen, but instead receives a complete and fair overview of this fascinating topic. And perhaps most importantly, Crocker's writing style accomplishes what has become so elusive within academic historical circles; He entertains. 'Triumph' is a triumph.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1