Customer Reviews for

The Triumph of the Sun

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Sunstar's Story-Chapter Eight

    "Like this." Sunpelt mewed, slicing her claw across the moss a pulling out a clump. "Now you try." Softpaw slashed her claw at the moss and pulled out a big clump. "Good job!" Sunpelt praised. "I think we have enough, let's go back." Sunpelt and Softpaw padded back into camp, their mouths stuffed with moss. Sunpelt turned to her apprentice. "Now, go change the elder's bedding." She intructed, dropping her moss at Softpaw's paws. "Aww, do I have to have to?" Softpaw whined. "Yes." Sunpelt replied. "Heatherpaw can help you." Summerwish's voice chimed in. Softpaw brightened. "Okay!" Both apprentices picked up a clump of moss. Sunpelt quickly pulled Summerwish behind the warrior's den. "Hey!" Summerwish complained. "What are we doing?" "I need to you something." Sunpelt said, an urgent air to her mew. Her eyes softening, Summerwish looked at her friend. "What is it, Sunpelt?" Sunpelt hesitated. "I-I'm expecting kits." She meowed in a whisper. "What?!" Summerwish squealed. Sunpelt nodded. "That's great!" Summerwish purred. Sunpelt smiled. "Summerwish!" Thornberry's voice sounded. "I gotta go. Congrats, Sunpelt!" Summerwish mewed, rushing away. Sunpelt padded into the warriors den. Wintershadow was the only one there. Breathing a sigh of relief, Sunpelt ran to her mate. "Guess what?" She purred. "What?" Wintershadow asked, nuzzling her. "I'm pregnant." CHAPTER NINE IN NEXT RESULT!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    Highly Recommeneded, Very Good Read

    I have found that Wilbur Smith is a writer whose understanding of his subjects make for novels that intrigue, captivate, and leave you wanting to read more of his novels. I am in hopes that I will be able to get all of his works and read them with as much relish as I have this book. If you,re looking for a good read to pass time in front of a warm fire or while waiting in an airport for that flight, this is the author that can make that time pass quickly, since you will be drawn into the book and storyline. Hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    Triumph of a Book!

    I enjoyed this book greatly and was drawn into the drama that unfolded. One of my favorite Wilbur Smith books and I highly recommend reading this. I could really feel the tension of the siege on the city and the battles that ensued. The dynamics between the characters and how they played out was really cool and fun to see unfold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    How Have I Missed This Author?

    I can't believe I never read Wilbur Smith before I stumbled on this book. After reading it, I educated myself on the author and his work. Like many prolific writers who crank out historical fiction, Wilbur Smith has created some fictional family trees, and crafted multiple stories around the generations thereof. In this novel, the Courtney and Ballentine families intersect during the siege of Khartoum. The novel takes the characters years beyond that event, and makes use of the author's extensive research on Africa, and the Sudan in particular, to provide a glimpse inside 2 distinct cultures. I suspect Wilbur Smith is a closet anthropologist...not just because of the attention he gives animals in some of his novels, but because of the human actions and interactions he depicts--usually according to type. This book has a lot to offer: adventure, romance, action, tragedy, and a couple happy mini-endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    Smith at his worst

    As a long time Wilbur Smith fan (I own and have read every previous book) I was very disappointed in this work. A fine story and plot, but the gratuitous and explicit sexual descriptions ruined it for me. His predilection for this type of gratuitous vulgarity in his later works, i.e., Blue Horizon, cautioned me, but this was beyond the pale. I would not recommend it to anyone. No more Wilbur for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    Great read!

    I have enjoyed all of Wilbur Smith books and I rank this one much higher than Blue Horizon. If you appreciate realistic fighting scenes, unpredicable turn of events, and historical insight of the Sudan, you will like this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    Starts with a bang ... ends with a whimper

    I can modestly claim to understand Mr. Smith's style for storytelling, considering I have followed his books written in the 60s through today. I immensely enjoyed the earlier books - Shout at the Devil, Hungry as the sea, Goldmine, Cry Wolf etc. Lately Smith seems to have lost his touch for the exotic and has become more mainstream. Triumph of the Sun displays his usual brilliance in the beginning - however the latter half dissolves into a standard formulaic action adventure you get to see from Hollywood only too frequently. Smith also seems to have stopped trying to keep his characters in, well character. Case in point, Rebecca Penbrook, our vestal, pure heroine seems to degenrate into a slutty tramp as the story unfolds. I was particularly put off by her 'awakening' with the creepy Mahdi after her capture. While I applaud Mr. Smith's confidence in his deep insights into the female sexual psyche, I seriously doubt if women think with their 'quimmies', as he puts it, all the time, which is what our dear Rebecca seems to do. If we wanted a detailed description of what Rebecca does with the Mahdi's 'essence' in her mouth, we always have Harrold Robbins or Erica Jong. I am waiting for a book with the classic Smith touches of elephant hunts, lions roaring and crocodile snapping off people's legs in the Zambezi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    Disappointed

    I have read all his books and have enjoyed them all. Felt in this book the two leading families as advertised did not seem to have a connection to previous family which was part of the joy in ealier novels along with the fact that the two families didnt really join up in any way , has hoped.The story seems to jump ahead alot ( gaps )leaving the characters not developed as in previous books.Fighting seemed to be more the issue. Still good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2005

    WILBUR SMITH SEEMS TO HAVE LOST HIS WAY

    A very disappointing book from Mr. Smith. Having enjoyed 'Blue Horizon' i was looking forward to the next aspect of the Courtney series.However, he all but drops the main character to drift off on some tangent that was both uninteresting and out of character from the first part of the book. It was as if Mr. Smith was bored with what he set out to do and then changed direction in order to finish the book. I am amazed that such a fine writer could turn out such a major failure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    A page turner

    I consider Wilbur Smith as Africa's all time best writer or novelist. The Triumph of the Sun just goes to add to the accolades from his other bestselling novels. This great historical fiction is set in The Sudans when it was gripped by the rebellion against the ruling Egyptian Khedive and the British by The Madhi or 'Expected One' who in 1881 deemed himself a religious prophet who Allah had chosen to purify the Islamic faith, a rebellion which saw the creation of a vast Islamic state from the Red Sea to Central Africa by preaching the omnipotence of the Qur'an, utilizing internal class struggles, and by successfully organizing his 'ansar' or military.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2