Customer Reviews for

Trojan Odyssey (Dirk Pitt Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

My father recommended this book and I did enjoy it. Will buy more clive books

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Worst Dirk Pitt Novel

I just finished reading this book and found it to be boring, not as thoroughly researched, and full of errors - more so than usual. While the plot is OK and enjoyable enough, I still think Inca Gold or even Atlantis Found as better books. This read like a tired version ...
I just finished reading this book and found it to be boring, not as thoroughly researched, and full of errors - more so than usual. While the plot is OK and enjoyable enough, I still think Inca Gold or even Atlantis Found as better books. This read like a tired version of Dirk Pitt novel - it really didn't 'feel' like a Clive Cussler novel was this written by a ghost writer?? A number of errors that I can remember in particular include: (1) The ship that Jason sailed on was the 'Argo' not the 'Argonaut' the Argonauts were the Greek heroes that sailed with Jason! (2) Fuel Cell technology that uses Nitrogen and then produces water as its output waste??? I mean at least do a little research on fuel cell. The reason why Hydrogen produces water in the first place is because the hydrogen ion produced bonds with oxygen to produce water while generating electricity. How can you produce H2O WITHOUT the H??? (3) How could Summer be the 'Daughter-In-Law' of Loren Smith Pitt?? Shouldn't she be the Step-daughter?? (4) Pumps in the tunnel... why would you need pumps in the tunnel when the water pressure at that depth is enough to induce water flow? He probably meant a turbine which can produce electricity when connected to a generator. Some additional comments: Why does he kept referring to China as 'Red China'? Nobody refers to China as that any longer - even in 2003 when this book was published. He never did place a connection between what Odyssey was doing and Hurricane Lizzie! I suspect he meant to include that in the book, i.e. that the freakish super hurricane was brought about by climactic changes that occurred because of the experimentation or whatever by Odyssey. What happened to that gentleman Dirk and Al met at the tavern on their way to the heavily guarded Fort? Clive made it sound like there was something fishy about this character and never followed up on this thread. And what is the deal with that 'low cost' fuel cell thingymagingy that can produced with 8 parts?? 8 parts?? Are you hallucinating? Even the most rudimentary wind-up toy requires more than 8 parts, let alone an ultra-sophisticated piece of technology. Why didn't he just leave well enough alone. Clive puts too much useless details in this book that made it even less plausible than it already is. I would have been willing to gladly suspend disbelief given the genre of the book, but this calls for beyond even that! It's ok to inject Sci-fi elements into a book of this kind, but please at least do some research and put some semblance of plausibility scientific or otherwise into your stories. Clearly Clive is very well versed in automobiles, marine science, sailing, piloting choppers - but for those that he is not, I wish he'd stop cutting corners just to get a book out in print. Mr. Cussler please do your research or fire your editor!

posted by Anonymous on February 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2007

    Worst Dirk Pitt Novel

    I just finished reading this book and found it to be boring, not as thoroughly researched, and full of errors - more so than usual. While the plot is OK and enjoyable enough, I still think Inca Gold or even Atlantis Found as better books. This read like a tired version of Dirk Pitt novel - it really didn't 'feel' like a Clive Cussler novel was this written by a ghost writer?? A number of errors that I can remember in particular include: (1) The ship that Jason sailed on was the 'Argo' not the 'Argonaut' the Argonauts were the Greek heroes that sailed with Jason! (2) Fuel Cell technology that uses Nitrogen and then produces water as its output waste??? I mean at least do a little research on fuel cell. The reason why Hydrogen produces water in the first place is because the hydrogen ion produced bonds with oxygen to produce water while generating electricity. How can you produce H2O WITHOUT the H??? (3) How could Summer be the 'Daughter-In-Law' of Loren Smith Pitt?? Shouldn't she be the Step-daughter?? (4) Pumps in the tunnel... why would you need pumps in the tunnel when the water pressure at that depth is enough to induce water flow? He probably meant a turbine which can produce electricity when connected to a generator. Some additional comments: Why does he kept referring to China as 'Red China'? Nobody refers to China as that any longer - even in 2003 when this book was published. He never did place a connection between what Odyssey was doing and Hurricane Lizzie! I suspect he meant to include that in the book, i.e. that the freakish super hurricane was brought about by climactic changes that occurred because of the experimentation or whatever by Odyssey. What happened to that gentleman Dirk and Al met at the tavern on their way to the heavily guarded Fort? Clive made it sound like there was something fishy about this character and never followed up on this thread. And what is the deal with that 'low cost' fuel cell thingymagingy that can produced with 8 parts?? 8 parts?? Are you hallucinating? Even the most rudimentary wind-up toy requires more than 8 parts, let alone an ultra-sophisticated piece of technology. Why didn't he just leave well enough alone. Clive puts too much useless details in this book that made it even less plausible than it already is. I would have been willing to gladly suspend disbelief given the genre of the book, but this calls for beyond even that! It's ok to inject Sci-fi elements into a book of this kind, but please at least do some research and put some semblance of plausibility scientific or otherwise into your stories. Clearly Clive is very well versed in automobiles, marine science, sailing, piloting choppers - but for those that he is not, I wish he'd stop cutting corners just to get a book out in print. Mr. Cussler please do your research or fire your editor!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Not bad

    My father recommended this book and I did enjoy it. Will buy more clive books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Sun

    XD XD XD "I just died." Seth; "Well...yay."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    &Kappa&alpha&epsilon

    T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Wavestar

    Hello.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Wolfstar

    Wolfstar sat and curled her fluffy tail around her paws. "I assume you've heard about the Dark Forest."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    The Den At The End Of The Earth

    Wavestar.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Storm go to book before

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The book begins with a new theory of the Trojan War - that it ac

    The book begins with a new theory of the Trojan War - that it actually involved the Celts. This was the first 31 pages of the book, and I had a hard time getting through this. I wanted to get on with the book, so after more or less skimming through this introduction, I stuck with it and finally did get to the actual story.

    I hadn’t read any of Cussler’s other books, and the main character, Dirk Pitt, surprised me at how James Bondish he was. He was pretty much a cross between Bond and Jacques Cousteau. He would, without thought to his own safety or the dangers involved and sometimes without even a plan of action, dive into any dangerous situation – but it always seemed to turn out all right. I also found it confusing that his son was also named Dirk, so we have Dirk and Dirk in the same book.

    As far as the storyline, it seemed to be several loosely connected stories. There was a floating hotel and a hurricane, which seemed to destroy everything in its path - yet Pitt (the elder) seemed to easily fly in and save the day. Cussler convinced me through most of the book that it was researched well, with the exception that it mentioned several times that hurricanes travel east rather than west. The story seemed to have some interesting speculative science in it. For me the book seemed rather long. I actually read another book when I was somewhere in the middle of Trojan Odyssey, then returned to it and finished it, and I’m a one-book-at-a-time person.
    The author had a cameo appearance at the end of the book, and I wondered if this was a trademark of his other books. Guess I’ll have to read another Cussler book to find out. If you can suspend disbelief, this is an enjoyable book. I hadn’t read any other Cussler books, and this is the 17th book in the series, so perhaps I would have rated it higher if I had a better understanding of the main characters. I flip-flopped between 3 and 4 stars, but went with 4 simply because I hadn’t read the other 16 Dirk Pitt books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Was not as enjoyable

    I have enjoyed the dirk pitt series from book one. I would purchase the book and I would have completed the book in less than 2 days. However, with this book it took me 3 weeks to finish. I had the most difficult time getting into the story and staying enthused and involved. I still have a mental block about how there can be children when summer and dirk never had sex. In any of the other early books it didn't take dirk 5 minutes to "do the wild thing" with women he had no clue who they were. If you read closely thru "pacific vortex" whenever summer and dirk were together one of them was unconscious or someone else was in the room. I'm hoping the next books in the series will get me back to enjoying them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Awwes Awesome

    That's the word to describe cussler's creations

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent follow-up to Valhalla Rising.

    This book follows the adventures of Dirk Pitt and his children and they embark on their own careers in NUMA. It continues very well from Valhalla Rising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Familiar but with a twist.

    I read this book with much anticipation. I wanted to read about Dirk's reaction to his new found children and how they would play into his life. The plot was a bit familiar, great challenges - overcome at the last minute... But there was the added drama of the "kids" involvement. I also am glad Clive took the time to show some of Dirks emotions toward his kids, his aging, and his need to "settle down" before it was too late to enjoy time with his new love. Yes there are a few problems with this book's research and believability, but the next one, Black Wind, is better, so keep reading!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    How did they get out of the Eye?

    I have not finished the book, but can rate it based on things I cannot brook in a book. The floating hotel was lucky to make it to the eye of the hurricane. The NUMA ship came into the eye also and saved the hotel. But the story never depicts them going through the other side of the world's biggest hurricaine ever! How did they get through with 130 foot waves and 250 mph winds while cabled together with two cables when four of the same cables wouldn't hold? No, all of a sudden the storm is over the Dominican R. and the tugs arrive to take over the hotel. There are other GLARING holes. I hate it in movies, I detest it in books. Change my mind. Tell me how they got out of the eye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    awesome!

    Was the first Clive Cussler novel I've read. I was surprised that I actually read it.(i usually don't read) It just keept me going and going... I finally found an author that I call my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    Same old Clive

    I don't know why I keep reading these Clive Cussler novels. It always the same old Dirk Pitt, Al Giordino, crazy plots, Supervillians who want to rule the world, underwater action, artifacts from a lost civilization, and then I remembered why I've been reading these crazy novels for more than 20 years....There great! They are funny, exciting, historical, well written, they are also too short and there is long of a wait between them. Reading a Cussler novel is pure reading pleasure. I can't wait fo the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    One of the best yet

    A real page turner. I've read everything he has written and I could not put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6