Customer Reviews for

Trophy House: A Novel

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    ME FIRST

    Eevee team first. We get xernas as a team member!! High five!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    What We Plan Vs. What Actually Happens

    I have to admit this is a woman's story. Not only mature women, but any woman. We go along and one day find we have somehow lost our way and those around us seem like strangers instead of those who are closest to us. This lesson is done slowly and gives the reality of what would really happen in a life experiencing great change. It was more serious than I expected, but it had some very good lessons to consider at any stage of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2005

    loved this book

    This was a great read that really gave you a sense of place, as well as, stage in life. I am also in my mid-fifties and I have to say that she really captured the feelings that come with that age. You feel like a sage about some things but puzzled about your own life all at the same time. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2005

    Writer Rants on Beach Life

    Like another reviewer, I, too, had seen this book recommended in People magazine. I was rather disappointed in the story, as I thought it was very disconnected, although I did find the prose highly readable. There were far too many references to 9/11 so that by the novel's end their significance (if any) was lost entirely. Basically, I found the novel to be one long rant written against: large beach homes, the 'washabouts' in a small beach town, middle age, solitary life, affairs, second marriages, the 'Vows' page of the New York Times, George Bush, etc. After reading the cover notes, I thought this novel was rather transparent in its agenda given that the author herself has a beach home in Truro. It is amazing to me that one can get an entire book of complaints published, i.e., real estate development in a small beach town, and use it as a personal agenda to attack society, shoobies and politics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2005

    Not my favorite

    No matter what the reader's political affiliation, I and I bet a lot of other people, don't think a novel is the place to vent your political feelings! That said, I was terribly interested in this book at the beginning - - but it let me down time and time again. The ending dragged on and I felt zzzzzzzzzz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2005

    Gratuitous References to 9/11

    I bought this book because it was mentioned favorably in People Magazine. It was slow reading, but I remained curious enough about the outcome to continue to its conclusion. However, trying to relate the angst of the characters to 9/11 was a far reach at best and extremely gratuitous at worst. Toward the end of the book, the author was throwing in 'September 11' sometimes twice on the same page, but to what end? The characters were so poorly developed that there was no real insight into what was going on in this family other than pure boredom with each other. And what was the point of the hate crime at the beginning of the novel? It just drifted off into nowhere. I find it astonishing that any reviewer would label this a character study. At the end of the book, I had no idea who the characters were that I had just spent my time reading about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2005

    too politically correct

    I have been reading Anne Bernays excerpt, and can't believe how the author weaves politics into her story - First off, she (bernays) is a very wealthy, connected woman, married into a prominent Boston/Cambridge family. Her antipathy towards people who have earned and spent money on things like swimming pools is typical - it's only old money and privilege which she respects - People with years worth of beach or dump stickers. In other words, you will never be as good as she and you will never fit in with the long established insiders. She is the ultimate insider, the ultimate snob, with kneejerk, rather than thoughtful observations. There are, of course, the obligatory swipes at Bush, for no real reason, other than it's fashionable with her crowd - these people hated him before he was sworn in and blame him for everything from inadequate local schools to a Stop & Shop in their neighborhood. I wonder if she'll address the NIMBY issue of wind farms (an alternate energy source) on Cape Cod in this novel. A potential solution to energy production, if only people like her didn't have to catch an occasional glimpse. I think I'll pass on the rest of this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fine contemporary fiction novel

    On Cape Cod, the residents are depressed as the one year anniversary of 9/11 occurs. Children¿s book illustrator Danforth ¿Dannie¿ Faber is sad and somewhat guilty because her life is near perfect while summering on the dunes of the Cape. She and her spouse MIT anthology Professor Tom is an ideal couple and their two adult children seem to be doing well. Perhaps the only glooms are that she dislikes the lover of her daughter, Beth and wealthy Mitchell Brenner has built an affluent monstrosity in the middle of Truro.......... However, her perfect life begins to unravel when Beth comes home heartbroken as her lover dumped her. Stunned Beth quit her job as accessory and make-up editor at Scripy teen magazine. An even worse shock is Tom leaves Dannie for someone younger. Upset but refusing to mope, Dannie finds solace with a publishing peer................ TROPHY HOUSE is an intriguing character study that focuses mostly on a middle age woman whose life radically changes when her long time spouse leaves her, but also provides a look at other individuals like a nouveau riche show-off, etc. However, this is clearly Dannie¿s tale. Thus, after the initial shock is over, Dannie begins to regain her equilibrium seeking solace elsewhere. Though action readers need to visit a different house, Anne Bernay writes a fine contemporary fiction novel that stars a strong ensemble cast kept together by the strong lead protagonist................ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1