Customer Reviews for

Trouble

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Trouble

    This book sux dont read it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Trouble

    This book teaches you to achieve your goals no matter what gets in your waym It also teaches you to forgive your enemies.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    I love this book, it is a very heartwarming book for me, as I lo

    I love this book, it is a very heartwarming book for me, as I lost someone recently. I am making a movie out of this book, and the movie will be posted on youtube. Check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Love this book. It really shows you to keep going, just when you

    Love this book. It really shows you to keep going, just when you feel like it`s the end of the world. Would totally recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Secret

    Gripping and very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Depth with character

    I reviewed this book for my class and we will definately be reading it soon. I found the language to be rich and intriguing. My students will gain a lot of insight from Troible. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    Great

    I love the plot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    deep

    this book is deep!!! he eliminates so many people so fast! but its a really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    Refreshingly original, extremely well written, and relatble to all ages!

    Gary Schmidt's novel Trouble is a profound piece describing the coming of age of main character, Henry Smith. Coming from a privileged background, Henry has grown up under the pretense that Trouble will never come to his home. This impression of safety is shattered when Henry's older brother, the athletic and popular Frederick Smith, is hit by a car and sent into a coma. Chay Chouan, a Cambodian immigrant at Frederick's school, admits to the accident. The event inspires racist tension as the citizens of Blythbury-by-the-Sea demand justice against the refugee teenager. Schmidt's story explores Henry's battle "to find out how to live with trouble." Henry thus vows to climb Mount Katahdin, the mountain his brother mocked he could never handle. With his friend Sanborn in tow, Henry heads to Maine in a journey of unexpected revelations and self discovery. Though the protagonist is junior high aged, all age groups can appreciate the overarching theme of dealing with the unexpected twists and turns that life brings. I loved how the author gradually revealed new angles and aspects of Frederick's accident throughout the story. This excellently crafted story, more serious in nature than Schmidt's other books, calls attention to the importance of avoiding rash judgment. He shows how the actions and behavior of others contain motives that are often misunderstood by onlookers. I praise the well written novel as poignant and thought provoking for everyone whose lives have been thrown into confusion by feelings of grief and self doubt.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A decent book overall

    I looked into this book solely due to a college assignment that required us to read a title by Gary Schmidt. I figured that Trouble looked more interesting than some of his titles so I picked it up with few expectations. I was surprised to find a fairly decent story within, at least keeping my interest throughout the book.
    First off, this book is definitely aimed at a younger audience. Older readers may be offset by the simple writing style that is made to appeal to that younger crowd. The writing style also lacks a bit in a few areas, mainly a diverse, descriptive voice that hooks the older readers. As part of this grouping, I found it a chore to read through some parts of this book, only because the style wasn't mature enough.
    The story itself is quite interesting, although it mainly centers on Henry and his development through the book, it also focuses and relies on racial profiling, showing the problems that occur from such concepts. There's also a fair amount of general drama and death, so some people will be drawn in by those factors.
    As far as the character department goes, Trouble is somewhat lacking. Apart from Henry, our main dude, there are a decent amount of other main supporting characters, such as Chay, Sanborn, and Black Dog (the most boring name ever). These characters, although having fairly interesting back stories, aren't all that interesting themselves. Sanborn is the only character I found myself liking since he provided some form of comic relief between the growing angst. Also, some of the older characters have odd habits, probably because this book is written to be read by a younger audience and this is how they'll probably perceive their seniors.
    Overall, I found Trouble to be an enjoyable experience once I got past the age barrier. I encourage people who want an easier read to go through this book, or to suggest it to their children, probably in the age group of twelve through fourteen. I also would suggest some instructors to consider this book over some 'classics,' mainly because it provides more of a modern look at some problems that persist in our society today, possibly making it easier for children/students to relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book

    This is a very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Harmony for TeensReadToo.com

    I don't think that there's any way for me to summarize the complex plot that makes up the novel TROUBLE, but I'm going to try. <BR/><BR/>Henry's father always said that if you stayed far enough away from Trouble, Trouble would never find you. It was what Henry and everyone else in his family believed. Until Trouble came to their lives in the form of Chay, a young Cambodian teen. Henry's older brother, Franklin, had been jogging on the night Chay hit him. Chay said it was an accident but their community thinks otherwise -- because Cambodians don't belong there and are the cause of every disaster. <BR/><BR/>Filled with anger of the accident, Henry, his best friend, and Black Dog set out to do the one thing Henry and Franklin had planned to do - climb Mt. Katahdin. They don't know how they're going to get there, how they're going to survive, or anything about climbing mountains, but they know they're going to do it. <BR/><BR/>As their journey continues, Henry runs into the one he hates most. Chay is also running from Trouble, and the once-enemies become allies. Henry begins to realize that family is not always what it seems -- and sometimes you just can't run from Trouble. <BR/><BR/>All I can say is that this is an amazing book and should be required reading in every classroom. Not only were the characters real and three-dimensional, each with their own quirks and problems, but the plot was also drawn out perfectly, with the right amount of details and action. You could feel yourself being taken into their world and, though this is technically a historical novel, I could barely tell because it seemed so real. <BR/><BR/>While reading this book, you will feel your heart breaking for Chay but you'll also be hoping that everything turns out okay for Henry's family. TROUBLE will take you on a roller coaster of emotions that you will never forget. <BR/><BR/>There's really no way for me to explain how much I loved this book. It's creative and original and just all-around amazing. Whether you're a middle school English teacher or a student, you should definitely pick this up on your next trip to the bookstore. Or heck, order it online today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    Anything but trouble...

    Trouble, by Gary D. Schmidt, was written exceptionally well. You can feel the depression of the characters, and you hope for the characters. The author describes his scenery and thoughts beautifully parts of the book sounding like a stunning poem. Even though the main characters are boys, they are intellectual, and not the stereotypical apes. You can see the reasoning behind their words, and this book pieces together beautifully. The boys are also funny, making you laugh out loud because of their smart remarks. Gary even brings the saying ¿A dog is a man¿s best friend¿ to a whole new meaning. The character¿s lives connect in unexpected ways, but they make sense. The book relies on racism to propel the story forward. While not being offensive, it creates an understanding between the characters. This is a touching book, and by far my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2