Customer Reviews for

Trouble Don't Last

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Everyone should read Trouble Don┬┐t Last!

    What if you were a slave on the most important journey of your life- running away? Samuel is on that journey with Harrison, another slave he works with. With all the obstacles they have to face, will they reach freedom alive? Samuel is an eleven-year-old black slave who is raised by Lily and Harrison. They raise him because Samuel’s parents aren’t living with him. Harrison is an older man who sticks to his work because he knows that is the right thing to do. Lily is a very caring person that really helps in raising Samuel. As I read, the characters started to become my friends. The author really makes them realistic through their emotions and dialogue. The pages of the book practically turned themselves. From the moment when Harrison woke Samuel up and through every last part of their adventure, I couldn’t put the book down. I’d recommend it to boys and girls who like adventure and historical fiction. I feel everyone should read Trouble Don’t Last because it takes you on the adventure with the characters.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    THIS BOOK IS AMAZING!

    I read this book and it is awsome! It has exiting twist and a shocking ending. Thats why I like it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    FABULOUS!!!

    Trouble Don't Last is an AMAZING book!!! I highly recommend it. Of course, I'm only fourteen, but the plot is very well-presented and exciting. I just finished reading this book for the fourth time. Every time I read it, I love it even more. It's exciting, symbolic, and amazing. PLEASE READ THIS BOOK!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    No Troubles for Trouble Don't Last

    I highly recommend Trouble Don¿t Last. Inspired by the story of the Underground Railroad and her subsequent extensive research, author Shelly Pearsall (Random House 2003) provides a veritable cornucopia of vignettes depicting the lives of two runaway slaves, Samuel and Harrison, before the Civil War. After the premature sale of his mother, 11-year-old Samuel is raised by slaves Lilly and Harrison. Samuel is your typical preteen boy who is sometimes worth his weight in trouble as he learns many lessons about how to behave in a time when black people had no worth outside of working for white people. This heart-wrenching story of escape, survival, and revelations also looks at the strength and tenacity of a young boy who didn¿t have an identity, but had managed to muster hope in hopeless situations. The author¿s note gives much impending realness and factual remnants that make this story a soon to be classic. The first person narration is almost biblical in its attempts to explain the ways of the world through a child¿s eyes during that era. This book is a solid choice for all middle school and high school students and a surely a must-have for all libraries serving diverse populations.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    The best book ever

    Do you like thrilling escape stories? Do you like learning about history and slavery? Than you will love this book! This book won a Scott O¿Dell Award for historical fiction and it definitely resembles its award. trouble don¿t last is a story about a child named Samuel and an elderly man named Harrison escaping from slavery. They travel from Blue Ash, Kentucky all the way to Chatham, Canada, in 1859, searching for freedom. The main message that Shelly Pearsall tires to get into your mind is that slavery is horrible and was very hard for the blacks. Some weak points in this story are when she goes on and on without telling who is talking. Some strong points in this story are at the end of the chapter, she leaves a cliff-hanger making you want to read on and on and on. I would highly recommend this to anyone who likes to read and learn.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    pretty good

    i liked it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    very exiting!

    we read this in school. i would highly recomend it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    Seriously...Troubles Don't Last

    Troubles Don't Last was a great book!! I would recommend it to anyone who likes drama and/or suspicious book. The main characters are Samuel and Harrison. Guess what Samuel and Harriso are? They are both slaves. Samuel has been a slave since he was born. He has had a lot of adventures since he ran away from his master, but guess what happened after he ran away...cause I'm not telling you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    A Great Book

    Do you like a book that has a twist? If you¿re a sixth grader or older you will like this book. This book is about Samuel, an 11 year old kid who is a slave, and Harrison, an old man who to is a slave. One night Harrison creeps into Samuel¿s room and tells him that they¿re running away. I find that this story is like Harriet Tubman and The Freedom Train. It is like it because she is a slave who uses the underground rail road to escape from her master. It is also like Circu du Freak. It is like it because Darren runs away. This book takes place in 1859 in Kentucky to Canada. This author tries to tell us about the life of a run away slave. I would say this book has it weak points like when Harrison and Samuel were hiding and they weren¿t talking. Then there are the strong points like when we found out all of Harrison¿s secrets. I would suggest this book to many people because it is very entertaining.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    I like this book

    This book is a very good book. This books title is called Trouble Don¿t Last. This book is a historical fiction book that is written by Shelley Pearsall. She has written a lot of other good books and stories. An audience or person that would like this book would probably by a person that is or was interested in slavery. If I had written an opening sentence for a poem or a story to grab the audiences attention, it would be ¿Do you think slavery was good for our nation of bad?¿ This was actually a very bad thing that that our nation ever had. In one sentence, to summarize this book would be, ¿This book is about two boys, Harrison and Samuel that are running to get away from slavery. In one sentence, this book is similar to another book called ¿Freedom Train.¿ The main characters in this book are Harrison and Samuel that are both running away from slavery. They are both young boys. The setting for this book is on September, 1859 in the North and the South. The main idea of this story is for Harrison and Samuel to get away from slavery. In this book, there are really no weak or strong points in this book. I think I will encourage to read this book because I liked it and I know they will like it too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    Hip Hip hooray for Shelley Persall!

    Do you know about all of the hardships that slaves faced? Did you know how slaves had to stick together when running away? If you know about it and want to learn more, or if you know all about it already, the award-winning book, Trouble Don¿t last is right for you! Trouble Don¿t Last is about an 11 year old slave named Samuel and a much older slave named Harrison who run away. Along their way, they meet many obstacles and challenges, and even people willing to let them stay in their house. This heart-stopping suspense story will leave you on the edge of your seat!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    Awsome Book!

    This book is about a slave that ran away from his master. His mom got sold. He is left will two people to take care of him a man named Harrison and a woman named Lilly. In the end he will find out Harrison's secret......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    vbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbhgjvffjdyxbskjdbdushxydfjgejxwjxdj h

    Y &***--**/-7*/+ h h

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    I <3 it!!

    This sad but awesome book about slavery really touched my heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Anonymous

    Amazing book. I gotta give credit to Shelley Pearsall. This is my third favorite book and i have read many books.


    The story about Samuel and Harrison is addicting to hear in a good wsy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    So awesome

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    I heart this book!

    I am on chapter 7 and loving it!






    .































    .






























    :D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    best

    this book is so awsome i love it ! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    THE BEST THRILLING STORY

    This is about a 11year old boy that wanted to escape from his slave life. He didn't know his mom because she was slave and was going to be sold. The boys name was Samuel he was a slave too in Kentucky, but in 1859 Harrison took Samuel to go and run away to freedom. So, I would recommend this book to anyone that likes suspicion, thilling things, and kind of a mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    A page Turner!!!!, 4/24/2005

    I finished the book today and it was worth my time. Samuel finds out secrets and Both him and Harrison go on the underground railroad. it helped me understand more of what went on back then.239 pages of remarkable words!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2