Customer Reviews for

Trouble in High Heels

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will enjoy this lighthearted contemporary romance

    Trouble in High Heels <BR/>Leanne Banks <BR/>Warner Forever, Mar 2009, $6.99<BR/>ISBN: 9780446611749<BR/><BR/>Since the death of her affluent martinet father, heiress Lori Granger has given away a fortune to anyone who asks. Her father¿s CPA firm is at a loss as to how to prevent Lori from going broke even with her late dad not trusting her with money so he added to his will that she must marry by thirty or live on his budget.<BR/><BR/>Desperate the partners assign their newest accountant Jackson James to work with the out of control Lori. He behaves different than the wimps she previously was assigned. He says no and means it. However, tired of all their meddling especially her father from the grave, Lori orders Jackson to find her a husband. He struggles with saying no as he is falling in love with his client and worse she wants him to find her a husband. <BR/><BR/>The growth in the lead characters from Oscar the Grouch and Miss Piggy to caring in love protagonists make for an amusing fun read even if this version of It Happened One Night has been told often. The accountant stoically understands the bottom line is occupied by the expendable newbies who breathe in the sh*t rolling downhill without a snorkel while Lori¿s monthly pittance would make Republicans in Congress ashamed of her capitalist rant. Fans will enjoy this lighthearted contemporary romance as the lead couple goes through the phases of fictional relationship from war to fragile peace to friendship to love with a few humorous setbacks at each stage.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    Contemporary Romance┬┐

    Trouble In High Heels<BR/>Leanne Banks<BR/>Hachette Book Group.com, 2009<BR/>ISBN: 0446611743<BR/>Reviewed by Kay R. for ReviewYourBook.com, 01/09<BR/>Contemporary Romance¿<BR/>4 stars<BR/>Lori Granger is an heiress who gives away too much money to make her accountant happy. Her solution is to have a temporary marriage to get access to her trust fund. Jackson James is her new CPA and is enlisted to find her a husband. <BR/>Trouble In High Heels is written with the perfect amount of wit. Sassy, sexy, and great romance are the words I chose to describe Trouble In High Heels. Leanne Banks is a talented author. I look forward to reading more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Trouble in High Heels by Leanne Banks

    Reviewed for queuemyreview.com; book release Mar09<BR/><BR/>It was a gloomy day outside my window today. Rain, overcast, and cold (well, cold for the South anyway). Since I needed a bit of a pick me up, I picked up Leanne Banks newest contemporary, ¿Trouble in High Heels¿, hoping for a love story with some humor to brighten my day. BINGO! Instant mood changer!<BR/><BR/>Lori is a young, beautiful, shapely heiress with a heart of gold. She grew up with her father who controlled her through love and guilt. Since his death she¿s given away staggering amounts of money. That¿s what makes her feel good. She¿s always been pretty sure a happy marriage and kids aren¿t in the cards for her future, so she does her best to create her own happiness via generosity. Things are going well. Then a new accountant is assigned to her and he¿s actually trying to tell her she has to stop giving away money and live on a¿budget (gasp). Apparently dear old Dad added a codicil to his will and Lori must either marry or live on a (very generous) budget until she¿s 30. That¿s the last straw for Lori. No more controlling men¿ever!<BR/><BR/>Jackson comes from a dirt poor background and has struggled hard to finally be a successful CPA. When his boss tells him he¿s finally made full partner with a corner office, he¿s thrilled. Then the back of his neck begins to tingle. WOW! The partners are giving him one of the biggest accounts the firm has¿hey, wait a minute. Something¿s just not right with this. If it sounds too good to be true, in Jackson¿s experience, that means it¿s downright horrible. After quickly looking through the file, he realizes he¿s been given a promotion and a raise only because his firm expects him to say no a young, gorgeous, spoiled heiress. No problem.<BR/><BR/>These two are at loggerheads from day one. An heiress who¿s been extremely sheltered and a hard-charging CPA with plans for the future-- they both want their way, and those ways are diametrically opposed! I didn¿t like either one of them at first. I mean, hey, a young gorgeous heiress¿I hate her already! And she has to live on a ridiculously high budget? Kill me now. But I actually grew to like Lori. She was smart and capable and just needed to do a bit of growing up. And Jackson? Well, he too came off rather gruff at first, but pretty soon I was cheering for both of them. Their gunfire repartee had me giggling and their heated attraction kept me reading. This was no `fall into bed¿ story. They grew to be friends first and the love came afterward. There¿s even a secondary romance that I would have liked to see have a book all its own. And the settings match the story perfectly.<BR/><BR/>¿Trouble in High Heels¿ won¿t have you thinking the philosophy of love. Nor will it tinker with your emotions. What Leanne Banks does well is combine hot romance and humor. So if that¿s what you like, you¿d do well to pick up a copy when it's released in March 2009.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Romantic Escape-ism

    Leanne Banks is a national #1 best-selling author of romance novels. She is the winner of the Romantic Times Career Achievement Awards in Series Sensuality and Love and Laughter. She is also the winner of the Florida Writers Beacon Award, the Golden Quill Award, the Georgia Romance Writers' MAGGIE Award and Booksellers' Best Award. Her books have been recognized by the Award of Excellence Contest, the Romance Writers of America Rita Contest, and the National Readers' Choice Awards. Other titles include: Footloose, Underfoot, Some Girls Do, and When She¿s Bad. Leanne resides in Virginia with her husband and two children.<BR/>When Lori Granger¿s esteemed father died, she inherited a fortune. Known for going through her money like normal people do water, Lori has stretched her funds too tight on her many charitable donations. Now, not even her alluring and illustrious image can save her. Hired by her father¿s estate, Jackson James is determined to control her spending. Worse, he appears immune to her many charms. He refuses to loosen his grip on her trust fund and helps her to fulfill a condition of her father¿s will- to find a husband! As the attraction between them intensifies, and Jackson finds that Lori is much more than a rich girl with a credit card, could Mr. Straight-as-an-Arrow and Miss Break-All-the-Rules be just what the other needs to find true love¿And right in front of their bickering, lusting eyes?<BR/>The only issue I had with the book was two phrases that the author used, ¿inundulated¿ and ¿French kiss¿. It may be just me who feels this way, and the author only used them a couple of times each, but they drew me out of the story when they were used. They just didn¿t seem to fit there.<BR/>This was a great story to get you out of your hum-drum life. The characters were charming and relatable. The setting drew you in. The plot flowed agreeably and smooth. There weren¿t any dead spots where I lost interest. You know that you¿ve been sucked into a great book to escape when you find yourself laughing out loud uproariously- which I did, several times, in fact. I especially loved the side story with Geoffrey and Maria. I wanted to read their outcome as much as Jackson and Lori¿s.<BR/>Trouble in High Heels, by Leanne Banks, is a hilarious and zesty story, filled with heart and vigor. <BR/><BR/>Kelly Moran,<BR/>Author and Reviewer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1