Customer Reviews for

Trouble in Mind: The Collected Stories, Volume 3

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Warm Up to Novel Release

Great story and a good character introduction for any one who has never read Deaver. Unusually straightforward in delivery with very little twists that are a hallmark of his writing. Lincoln Rhyme continues to evolve as a character with a plot element that I will not re...
Great story and a good character introduction for any one who has never read Deaver. Unusually straightforward in delivery with very little twists that are a hallmark of his writing. Lincoln Rhyme continues to evolve as a character with a plot element that I will not reveal here. Waiting impatiently for "The Kill Room" out on June 4th.

posted by dsmCO on April 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

good

didn't realize this was a short story. He is a good author and I prefer novels. Still a good book

posted by snowflakeIB on May 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Warm Up to Novel Release

    Great story and a good character introduction for any one who has never read Deaver. Unusually straightforward in delivery with very little twists that are a hallmark of his writing. Lincoln Rhyme continues to evolve as a character with a plot element that I will not reveal here. Waiting impatiently for "The Kill Room" out on June 4th.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite Fans of Jeffery D

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite

    Fans of Jeffery Deaver will be thrilled with his latest offering “Triple Threat: 3 Original Short Stories.” Fans will be thrilled with the return of Kathryn Dance, a police officer with a special talent for reading body language, in 'Fast'. In this short story she is working on a case of domestic terrorism. A bomb is hidden and 200 lives are at stake. However, this suspect is unreadable so she must resort to trickery. The second story 'Game' revolves around a missing wealthy woman assumed dead. Her housekeeper hires a private detective to locate the body. This tale is based on an actual crime. In 'Paradise', John Pellam returns as usual trouble surrounds him. Pellam was driving down a mountainous road when his brakes failed. A woman decked him leaving his faced bruised. Despite her bruised knuckles Pellam can’t help but admire her beauty. The sheriff questioned Pellam concerning a recent murder. While the sheriff seemed to believe him there was naturally a bit of suspicion that overshadows any strangers at a time like that. Soon Pellam found himself searching for the murderer to protect his own life.

    All three stories are well written although I felt 'Paradise' and 'Fast' were of a much higher quality than 'Game'. My review is on the audio format of “Triple Threat.” January LaVoy and Kevin T. Collins are the narrators. They both did an excellent job of adding just the right inflections to convey the proper ambiance of the emotions and actions. This is a very short book making for a quick read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Highly recommend

    A GREAT read, just as all other Deaver books are!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Whether you are a Jeffery Deaver fan, or just want to try out hi

    Whether you are a Jeffery Deaver fan, or just want to try out his work, this book is a great read. 

    Many of you may be familiar with Jeffery Deaver through his Lincoln Rhyme or Kate Daniels books.  Although he has been on my To Read list as an author, I have yet to read any of his books, mainly because I have so many series going currently that I have been reluctant to start another one.  I found that reading this book of short stories was the perfect way for me to acquaint myself with his writing. 




    As it turns out, Deaver has been writing short stories for years.  As it states in the sub-title, Trouble in Mind,  is his third published volume of short stories.  The author himself says in the Author's Note to Trouble in Mind that he began writing at age 11 with a short story (two chapters in length).  His latest effort is comprised of 12 stories, most of them in the mystery/crime genre that established readers of Deaver's books would expect.  For those of you who love his series, there are two Lincoln Rhyme stories, one Katherine Dance and one John Pellam.  Don't worry, though, if you are not familiar with the series.  I read and enjoyed all four of the stories and did not feel lost at all.  In fact, I thought they were a great way to introduce me to his series and characters.  A way to "try them on for size" you might say. The volume includes six other stories in the crime genre, all of which are excellent. 




     In addition to the mystery stories there were two stories with a more sci-fi or fantasy bent.  Deaver himself calls these "genre benders" and tells us that one thing he likes about writing short stories is that they "allow an author to step out of genre more easily than novels do."  I would say he did a good job stepping out of genre, as one of these stories, "Forever" was my favorite from the whole book. 




    To be honest, though, I loved every one of the stories in this compilation, and cannot wait to read more by this author.  In addition, I am anxious to start at least one of his series, as the stories included here peaked my interest in them.  Since I live in Northern California, I may start with the Katherine Dance books as they take place in the local area where I live.  Whether you are a tried and true Jeffery Deaver fan, or just someone who wants to explore his work, I would recommend Trouble in Mind.   For me it was a great place to start with Jeffery Deaver's work.




    Thanks to Grand Central Publishing for making this title available through Netgalley in exchange for my review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    Highly recommend!

    This short read is a great intro into Jeffery Deaver's world of Lincoln Rhymes novels. I love all of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Typical Lincoln Rhyme - Loved it

    The story keeps your interest and is an easy read. Thoroughly enjoyed the book. Short and sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Excellent Lincoln Rhyme thriller

    What I've come to expect from Mr. Deaver. Intricate story line with a twist the only Lincoln can see. Sad but it was too short a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    A very nice collection of classic Deaver talent!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1