BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Trouble in Texas

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Best Little Whorehouse, Yahoo! Read from January 17 to 18, 201


    Best Little Whorehouse, Yahoo!

    Read from January 17 to 18, 2013




    BOOK SYNOPSIS








    THERE'S A FOX IN THE HENHOUSE




    Inheriting the most notorious house of ill repute in Texas can spell trouble for a girl's reputation . . . especially when she's Elizabeth Murphy, Bramble's prim and proper librarian. Yet when she discovers a buck-naked cowboy handcuffed to a four-poster bed, she forgets all about the town gossips. Elizabeth has sworn off men, but the stranger's kisses melt her resolve faster than ice cream on a hot summer day.




    Waking up in Miss Hattie's Henhouse isn't how Brant Cates reckoned on getting to the bottom of his great-granddaddy's murder. The plan was to solve the centuries-old crime, then get the heck out of Dodge. But after meeting Elizabeth and discovering that the buttoned-up beauty is a sexy siren in disguise, he just can't pull himself away. 




    Now Brant needs Elizabeth to finally put his past to rest, but is she willing to risk her future on Bramble's newest bad boy?




    My Thoughts








    Being a lifelong Texan the fact that the setting was my home state was what really attracted me to this story in the first place, the fact it was set in a small town and centered around a house of ill repute was an even greater attraction because we live near the town of La Grange Texas whose claim to fame inspired the movie The Best Little Whorehouse starring Dolly Parton and Burt Reynolds back in 1982 .




    Opening page you quickly get drawn into the story, even if like me you have read not one book prior in series that will clue you in to past events. Following along as we learn a bit more as to how someone as straight-laced and proper as Elizabeth Murphy came to be the owner of Miss Hattie's is an eye opener at times, especially when the much renowned house of ill repute once again takes front and center stage as the main source of gossip for the town of Bramble.




    The mystery of the centuries old murder may have been the reason why Brant Cates first came to Bramble and ended up involved with the infamous Henhouse but even once he finds his answers his new found lease on life and his fascination with the secretly sexy librarian Elizabeth Murphy keeps him from leaving. As we follow along laughing at times when Brant and Elizabeth lock horns over one thing or another we are reminded that the journey to true love is not always smooth but in their case it is certainly never boring!




    This story is full of humor, it takes the reader on a journey about friendships, family relationships, love and honor from a very unexpected source. There is nothing quite like the joy of discovering that there is so much more than meets the eye as to what is going on, after all half the fun of a secret is discovering what it is and why it is being kept, especially when you find yourself enjoying visiting a small town like Bramble where the characters are so outrageously entertaining that you never want to leave!




    Going back through the synopsis for the rest of the books in the series you will find that in each instance there is a little more back story revealed on each of the Cates family members and to truly be aware of how things tie in to this 4th book one might want to at some point read the three prior books. (I firmly believe it is not really necessary but it would be enjoyable if you did go back to the first 3 books just to catch up on the characters back stories a bit more.)








    [EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Enjoyable Read

    This was a very entertaining story with lots of laughs and romance. I liked it better than the 2nd and 3rd books in this Series. I still think the 1st in the Bramble story line is my favorite. My only comment is, that I wish some of the characters from the other books made more than just a brief appearance in this story. So once again, Katie Lane did not disappoint me and I am looking forward to the next story in this series. For us Katie Lane fans, I would highly recommend, "Hunk For Christmas". It doesn't have any sexy Cowboys, but it is a "Hoot"! I was laughing at loud.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Helen & posted at Under the Cover

    Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Helen & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “This is not my first visit to Bramble, Texas and I guarantee, it won’t be my last!” ~Under the Covers

    Elizabeth Murphy, an uptight librarian, is known as the old maid of Bramble, Texas. She is also the secret and reluctant owner of the rundown Miss Hattie’s Henhouse—the most famous whorehouse in the state. Closed off and repressed, Elizabeth spends her days hiding behind shelves of books and frumpy clothes. And even though she is only thirty seven, she is more than happy with her loveless and boring life. Her mother had convinced her that men are a waste of time.

    Until she gets a call from one of the old hens, the nickname for the ladies who once worked for
    said house of ill repute and is still living at Miss Hattie’s. Told it’s an emergency, Elizabeth
    rushes out to Miss Hattie’s. Where she finds the hens have chained a naked and wounded man to Miss Hattie’s bed.

    The man happens to be Branston Cates. Branston who is Obsessed with the Cates Curse and
    solving his great-granddaddy’s murder so he can free the family of the curse, Brant showed up
    at Miss Hattie’s hoping to find answers. What he finds instead are three little old ladies, one of whom is holding a loaded gun. After an unfortunate coughing fit, Brant finds himself shot, drugged, and then handcuffed to a bed.

    Brantson Cates is a man who has known loss and heartache and loves his family greatly. But
    he can also be cold and calculating even Ruthless. And after an unexpected encounter with
    Elizabeth, while he was cuffed and not in his right mind, the librarian finds herself on his bad side, Which, I must say, is not an entirely bad side to be on.

    Elizabeth and Brant were such a hoot. I love the way that Elizabeth sweeps into Brant’s life and
    riles him up. It’s funny and heartwarming watching these two bicker like an old married couple.
    And, yeah, I also love that it led to some seriously hot and sexy times.

    Henhouse Rule #27: An angry co ck is better than a passive one.

    And we can’t forget the old hens themselves—Minnie, Baby, and Sunshine. The old gals might
    have scared me out at first, but they wear on you and have you laughing right along with their
    outrageous antics. Who wouldn’t adore three crazy old ladies who spend their days in lingerie
    and have a penchant for chain-smoking and match-making? They warmed my heart something
    fierce.

    This is not my first visit to Bramble, Texas and I guarantee, it won’t be my last!

    Favorite Quote:

    Which didn’t explain why Brant remained outside with Elizabeth, even when he started to suffer
    from heatstroke. Or maybe heatstroke was only the excuse he used for what happened next. With
    one eye pinned on Elizabeth, he stripped off his shirt, something he rarely did, and proceeded to
    perform feats of strength. He moved large rocks for no good reason, grunting as if he were leg-
    pressing a good five hundred pounds. He welded hedge clippers like Edward Scissorhands. And
    hoed like a lumberjack bent on clearing the Sierras.

    It was heatstroke. It had to be. There was no other way to explain a thirty-eight-year-old man
    flexing and posing for a woman like some goddamned body builder in a competition.

    And the worst part about it was she didn’t even pay him the slightest bit of attention.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love this series

    I love any romance series but if it's in Texas even better. Cute, romantic, sexy and sweet. Great read for the end of summer! You can easily read the series in a few days. Love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    loved it!!!!

    this is a continuing series. there is a 'henhouse' in this town that has been falling into disrepairand is inhabited by three old women related to the orginal 'hen'. they want to reopen, but someone, (a man) wants to buy the property and raze the place. so they drug him, strip him, and handcuff him to the bedpost. from there romance and comedy follow. i had a good time reading this one, and will reread it another day. some books are like that, yeah they are! miss katie shows that she is more than just a romance writer with this story. grab a copy and your beverage of choice, curl up and be ready to enjoy a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Loved it!

    Have read all of the books in this seried and this is the best! Loved the characters, they brought such life to the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Brant Crates is searching for answers to what happened to his gr

    Brant Crates is searching for answers to what happened to his great-granddaddy; however he doesn’t expect to run into three old ladies who leave him drugged and tied to a bed. Elizabeth Murphy has just inherited Miss Hattie’s Henhouse, for an uptight and proper librarian all she wants to do is get rid of it one day she finds a man tied to a bed and soon her life takes an unexpected twist.

    When I first started this book I kept getting angry, let me explain. I am from West Texas where Brant is traveling to Miss Hattie’s, there actually is a Miss Hattie’s in West Texas so when the author was describing the fallen down mansion I knew she was way off the mark. Miss Hattie’s is in San Angelo, Texas and has actually been made into a museum; it is located above a jewelry store in downtown San Angelo. Finally I came to the part where the author says “Bramble, Texas” and I was completely relieved that she did not mean the actual Miss Hattie’s. Once I was over that little hurdle I actually loved the book. The three old “Hens” who still live in Miss Hattie’s were my absolute favorite as they always seemed to be getting into trouble one way or another. These ladies may have been my favorite characters but Katie Lane created some absolutely fabulous characters including Brant and Elizabeth, but also a wide range of supporting characters that truly add new dimensions to an already fun read. Katie Lane has created an amazing romance, fantastic characters, and a storyline that is completely captivating. This is definitely worth the read. I was sent a free copy of this book for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Snatch this up NOW!

    ABOUT THE BOOK:
    Inheriting the most notorious house of ill repute in Texas can spell trouble for a girl's reputation . . . especially when she's Elizabeth Murphy, Bramble's prim and proper librarian. Yet when she discovers a buck-naked cowboy handcuffed to a four-poster bed, she forgets all about the town gossips. Elizabeth has sworn off men, but the stranger's kisses melt her resolve faster than ice cream on a hot summer day.

    Waking up in Miss Hattie's Henhouse isn't how Brant Cates reckoned on getting to the bottom of his great-granddaddy's murder. The plan was to solve the centuries-old crime, then get the heck out of Dodge. But after meeting Elizabeth and discovering that the buttoned-up beauty is a sexy siren in disguise, he just can't pull himself away.

    Now Brant needs Elizabeth to finally put his past to rest, but is she willing to risk her future on Bramble's newest bad boy?

    REVIEW: Oh…my…God, this was a fantastic read! I really enjoyed the suspense kept throughout this piece and thoroughly enjoyed the buildup in tension between the hero and heroine.

    Ms. Lane does a phenomenal job at building everything up. She doesn’t give too much away and allows it to seep in before she moves on to another piece you are waiting for. The premises is entirely original and completely a welcomed addition to the romance genre.

    I definitely think this is a piece that you will want to snatch up as soon as it hits the market. Five out of five stars for a job well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1