Customer Reviews for

The Trouble with Chickens (J.J. Tully Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I don't know when I've laughed so hard!

I loved this book. It was one of those books that you pick up because you finally have kids and can now read it without explaining why you think it's humorous. I laughed the whole way through the book. The kids 7-14 enjoyed it. The story wasn't one to write about it's a...
I loved this book. It was one of those books that you pick up because you finally have kids and can now read it without explaining why you think it's humorous. I laughed the whole way through the book. The kids 7-14 enjoyed it. The story wasn't one to write about it's a typical kids mystery but the way it was written, well, let me say, if you have a dry sense of humor you'll love it. If you prefer slapstick probably not so much.

posted by GHott on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fgh

Absolutely thouroughly enjoyed this exquisite book though it was very short.

posted by Anonymous on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I don't know when I've laughed so hard!

    I loved this book. It was one of those books that you pick up because you finally have kids and can now read it without explaining why you think it's humorous. I laughed the whole way through the book. The kids 7-14 enjoyed it. The story wasn't one to write about it's a typical kids mystery but the way it was written, well, let me say, if you have a dry sense of humor you'll love it. If you prefer slapstick probably not so much.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Fun chapter book mystery

    I once had the joy of reading "Click, Clack, Moo" to a group of first and second graders. They were rolling in the aisles! In Cronin's new chapter book, the laughs continue. JJ Tully is a retired search and rescue dog who is enlisted by a hare-brained hen to find her two missing chicks. Naturally, there is a villain and Vince the dog plays the part well. The story reads like a Bogart movie with dogs and chickens.

    JJ deduces that the chicks are held captive inside the house. He concocts a scheme to distract Vince and rescue the chicks. They discover, too late, that Vince has set a trap for JJ and has evil intentions for the chickens. Fortunately, in a surprising twist, the good guys win out and Vince is forced to face his punishment.

    The chapter book crowd will enjoy this book and laugh out loud when they encounter the crazy antics of the characters. Kevin Cornell's illustrations are delightful and comical.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    J.J

    I just love this book! I have 9 year old daughter and she has read this book over 10 times!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Very cute book

    It was an ok book very short though

    I a great reader and i read books fast but read this 98 pagebook in an hour or more

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    T Awesome

    I loved it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    So good to be ture

    Best book ever so good *

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Boring

    I read this book and the second book, and I dident really like either of them. But if u like really short books, I reccomend.....

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Fgh

    Absolutely thouroughly enjoyed this exquisite book though it was very short.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    JJ Tully Meets Vince, The House Mutt

    J.J. Tully, a retired search and rescue dog who lives out in the country with his handler, Barb. Vince is Barb's pet dog. Vince is jealous of J.J. and wants to get rid of "The Hero Dog." Vince kidnaps two of Millicent's chicks, Poppy and Sweetie, causing the mamma to hire J.J. for the price of a cheeseburger. Together with Millicent's other two chicks, Dirt and Sugar, J.J. makes plans to rescue Poppy and Sweetie. Soon the tables are turned and J.J. is in a dog cage. Vince is sending J.J. to the vet for the night. Poppy and Sweetie have been in on the kidnapping the entire time. They agreed to Vince's plans because they wanted to watch television (but stayed to read the books). J.J. gets Dirt to "come clean" and learns he was set-up. Now he needs to find a way out of the cage. One-by-one the chicks join J.J. and Vince is defeated, caged and sent to the vet for his needed ear plugs.

    J.J. is a sarcastic mutt who loves the rescue part of search and rescue. He helps Millicent, who he nicknames Moosh. In the beginning, J.J. finds the chicks annoying. The two young ones, nicknamed Dirt and Sugar, play in his water and sleep in his food. Mamma Moosh is jumpy. The story has two perspectives, J.J. Tully's and Vince's. J.J. sounds like a detective, somewhat sarcastic and questions most everything. He nicknames each of the chickens with unusual names. Millicent is Moosh, Little Boo becomes Dirt and Peep he calls Sugar. Vince is not happy J.J. is around and wants to get rid of him. He uses the chickens as pawns and what ensues is a funny, surprising, and a well thought out, old-fashioned, fake kidnapping. The dialogue snaps, the story never drags, and the illustrations, mainly of J.J., are spot on.

    I really liked this. I am not one to read a mystery but I liked this one. The sarcastic J.J. Tully sounds like a detective in a film noir story. Even his name, "J.J. Tully," sounds like a detective with a harshly lit, one room office. He can seem bigger than life as he sizes up each character. Sugar is a sweet as her name and ironically, her love of books is the cause of the entire incident. The chicks are like little mobsters. Vince is the leader who over estimates himself and his plan. The story and wonderful illustrations remind me of Tom and Jerry cartoons. I think middle grade kids will love this new J.J. Tully mystery. It is sharp witted, funny and cartoonish. Simply wonderful.


    Note: received galley from Net Galley, courtesy of the publisher

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Find it

    Find the i: lllllllllllllllllllIlllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Press here

    Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Ok

    Ok not the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Best book for begg Bes Best Book for Beginner readers BEST BOOK FOR BEGINNER READERS!!!!!

    Very good book, way below MY level.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Asome book

    Aw ya!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Liked the book

    Do not have the book on my nook have it in paper back. Is very good but needs more details and discription. Very cute but needs work. Also a very short read that i think could have been longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    To Dragonkit

    Picks him up and brigs him to small res 7

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Dragonkit

    Ryns in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Speedbullet to Riverkit and Streamkit

    I will adopt you. Come live with me and my mate and two kits at tropical paradise result six.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Riverkit Streamkit

    Enter nervoudly hoping to be adopted . They saw a mouse scuffling and caught it . They shared with rasperkit and Robinkit

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Berrykit

    ((I got lazy for putting everyone else up.))<br>


    <p>Berrykit purred. "No one here is borther and sister." He meowed softly.<br>


    <p>

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3