BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Trouble with Chickens (J.J. Tully Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I don't know when I've laughed so hard!

I loved this book. It was one of those books that you pick up because you finally have kids and can now read it without explaining why you think it's humorous. I laughed the whole way through the book. The kids 7-14 enjoyed it. The story wasn't one to write about it's a...
I loved this book. It was one of those books that you pick up because you finally have kids and can now read it without explaining why you think it's humorous. I laughed the whole way through the book. The kids 7-14 enjoyed it. The story wasn't one to write about it's a typical kids mystery but the way it was written, well, let me say, if you have a dry sense of humor you'll love it. If you prefer slapstick probably not so much.

posted by GHott on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fgh

Absolutely thouroughly enjoyed this exquisite book though it was very short.

posted by Anonymous on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Riverkit Streamkit

    Enter nervoudly hoping to be adopted . They saw a mouse scuffling and caught it . They shared with rasperkit and Robinkit

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Berrykit

    ((I got lazy for putting everyone else up.))<br>


    <p>Berrykit purred. "No one here is borther and sister." He meowed softly.<br>


    <p>

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    It was a good book.

    It was funny how he made up the names of the chickens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    :):):)::):):):):):)

    LOVE IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Horrible

    Who ever felll for my title is a stupid kindergarten but the story was "AWESOME"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!JUST SO AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!: ) <3ED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Trouble with chikens

    This book is so cool i love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    The trouble with chickens

    Such a great book my favorite chapter was chickens tears.love the way vince traped the chickens and how suger fake the kidnap just to read books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    THIS BOOK IS THE BEST EVER!!!!

    YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK BRCAUSE IT IS THE BEST!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Awesome

    Unspeakable to say

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Camryn rocks!!!!:):):)

    LOVED book. I like the dogs name jj love it. How did you come up with dirt abd suger for chicken names?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Service

    Delivery time excellent and products received were exactly as stated. Would use them again, no question.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    i love this b¿¿¿¿k

    At first i didnt like this book because it was a book report but when i read it this was like the best story i ever read if you do not like this book you have no brain at all becsuse this is something you should spend your money on my friend katlyn has it even i got into it its pretty good and i told my mom and said why do i have this on my nook.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Amazing

    My brother is reading it and he said its hilarous!!:) probaly recommened for ages 6-8!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)

    Awesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomwawesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    I love this book

    Next year it is going to be a sunshine book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Best

    This is the best book every

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Mikayla snow

    This book is mysetery slash fantasy it is the vest book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    OMG!I love it!

    Aig

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious!

    J.J. Tully is a retired search and rescue dog now living on a farm, but his golden years are not agreeing with him. J.J. misses the gritty streets and high stakes drama that came along with his career. Then suddenly the chicken family is in need of his services. Two of the four chicks have gone missing, and the chicken mom is beside herself. J.J. quickly deduces that Vince the Funnel's got something to do with this. Vince is the indoor dog that lives in the farmhouse and always has a giant funnel around his neck. Will J.J. be able to save his fine-feathered friends? You or your young reader will have to read this side-splitting tale to find out. I would really like to meet Doreen Cronin; I bet she is one funny lady. All of her books are hilarious with spot-on witty humor, and this one is no exception. Cronin has written this book in a very film-noir kind of way; you almost expect J.J. to call someone dame. Then she adds this juxtaposition of the cuddly little chicks. The combination of these elements is so out there and original, and it totally works. To give you an idea, the first lines of the book are as follows: "It was a hot, sunny day when I met that crazy chicken. So hot that sometimes I think the whole thing may have been a mirage. But mirages don't have chicken breath, mister." I mean, come on, this is funny stuff! As I read this story the gravelly voice of a narrator - think Perry Mason - was talking in my head. This is a quality book to put in your young reader's hands. And the really good news is, it's the start of a series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    wow

    i allready have the book at home

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3