BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Trouble with Magic (Bewitching Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Really great book!

I was looking for a new supernatural series experience to read about (since I've read the Twilight series 4 times through already). I love vampires, but wanted to go another route. When I saw this book, I instantly thought it would be great. I've always been fascinated ...
I was looking for a new supernatural series experience to read about (since I've read the Twilight series 4 times through already). I love vampires, but wanted to go another route. When I saw this book, I instantly thought it would be great. I've always been fascinated by all things witchy. The characters are great. The author does a great job describing their appearances and personalities. The plot is super easy to follow and definitely interesting. This book certainly has me going back for more every chance that I get to read. You are instantly taken into the world of witchcraft curiosity and into the middle of the story. If you want a book series that you can get hooked on and can help you escape from everyday normalcy, this is for you. I will definitely read the others in this series.

posted by ReadForFun16 on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Light reading

Decent mystery but not a lot of character-development.

posted by JACk1026 on April 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    There's no trouble with magic here!

    This is great series with a lot of potential. While the plot wasn't overly complex (I had a good idea whodunit about a quarter of the way into the book) the journey and the finale did not leave me wanting as there were surprises along the way. And I loved the way the end of this book left me anxious to start the next. I'm glad I don't have to wait. I think I've found a new friend in Maggie O'Neill and I'm looking forward to indulging myself in more stories about her and all the spooky goings-on in Stony Mill, IN for a long time to come. Well done on your first book, Ms Alt.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Short but sweet.

    Fairly short story with smart & sassy characters. The plot is solid & flows smoothly. Overall, an enjoyable read. I look forward to reading "A Charmed Death".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Fun, cute, and enchanting

    The story line keeps you guessing and is unique to other mystery books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    A light and magical fun read. Maggie has a refreshing outlook on

    A light and magical fun read. Maggie has a refreshing outlook on the new
    world she discovers which is full of magic and "ghostly
    thinkers". The author lays the groundwork in this first book for
    each character by giving us just a taste of their magic abilities and
    personalities. We feel Maggie's fear and uncertainty as she questions
    and finally accepts her psychic abilities. We learn about Maggie's
    relationship with her family and her fear of a relationship with the
    handsome policeman. Felicity is believable and loveable as the
    seasoned witch who helps guide Maggie even though she's accused of the
    murder of her sister. Ahhh.... the mystery.... The author did a good
    job of moving the mystery nicely along while introducing us to the main
    characters. Maggie becomes an amateur sleuth as she tries to clear
    Felicity of the murder of her own sister, Isabella Harding. There were
    a few good twists and turns-- Isabella's cheating husband and her
    two-timing boyfriend. I would have liked to see a little bit more
    mystery and magic and not as much character development. It was a
    little tiresome at how timid Maggie was at times. Perhaps I was
    expecting a few more spooky moments and spells. At the end of the book
    we are lead to believe something big lies ahead. I love the cover art of
    this book and unfortunately the story didn't live up to the enticing
    book cover. But that being said I want to read the next book in this
    series to find out what lies ahead..... perhaps a little more magic?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    Great Lead Book to Start the Series

    I like almost everything about the story and I really enjoy Madelyn Alts witty, sarcastic and ironic tone. It allows you to feel like you are thinking some of the character's thoughts. Great style. Very comfortable read. Only thing that bothered while reading the book is Maggie allowing people to mistreat her. Oh well, maybe as the series continues...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Book

    Enjoyed this light reading.
    Tiny bit of romance -- I always like a little more, but it kept me reading, and I will read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    This is a different kind of book...I am a vampire fan and I loved this. Most paranormal books are somewhat funny....this had an air of mystery to it. So far I have read Two books by Madelyn Alt and felt that both of them touched on some very great subjects...good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    It took me abit to get into this book! Once I did I am glad! I love EVERYTHING paranormal! If you do not like the paranormal then this would not be a good read! I love the fact that Maggie (lead character) likes Magnum PI! it was a book once started I could not put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cute Read!

    Ms. Alt's first installment in this series was a light, fun, and easy read. The book was filled with quirky humor and plot twists that made it very enjoyable.

    Maggie hated her job as a collection agent. Her boss being a sexist jerk didn't help her plight any either. When her car, whom was aptly nicknamed "Christine", acted up on a cold and rainy morning leaving her late for work again and having to take refuge in a store's alcove, Enchantments, it turned out to be the answer to her prayers.

    The store's proprietor, Felicity Dow, immediately liked Maggie the moment she fell into her store front's door. Felicity offered her a position as a clerk in her shop filled with antiques and peculiarities. After Felicity letting her in on her taste in spiritual beliefs, Witchcraft, Maggie said she would have to think about it. Being fired just an hour later for being late again, it seemed like a good option and she took the job.

    Her first day there was an interesting one to say the least. Her boss, whom she was quickly finding a fondness for, is soon suspected for the murder of her own socialite sister, Isabella. A few members of the Stony Mill police force knowing Felicity for being a witch didn't help her case of innocence either in their eyes.

    Maggie and Felicity's coven member, ridiculously attractive Marcus Quinn, set out to do some fact finding of their own to prove Felicity's innocence.

    Did I mention Marcus is ridiculously hot?

    This book is filled with humor, romantic frustrations, and a glimpse into modern day witchcraft. Also, at 261 pages it's a book that can be easily plowed through in a few hours and you will not be disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Magical Reading

    This is one of a series of which I read all. I could hardly put the book
    down. Location is set in Indiana-same as myself. This is a good book for
    some romance, magic and a little bit of humor thrown in.Don't forget the
    other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    I am really enjoying Ms. Alt's books. Maggie the main character is a normal girl that is being introducded to the magical side of the world by her boss, who is really a great character. I just love the character's and the books...and the magick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Loads of fun

    I enjoyed this mystery very much. The treatment of magic is very openminded, something I admire. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    hard to put down

    Wasn't really sure if I would like the series or the book, but took a chance and am very glad I did!! Once I got started it was hard to put down. Highly recommend the series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    Trouble with Magic

    Enjoyable and it is a more than one-time-read. This is not a book that I will leave somewhere as a pass-along (books that are fine for one read and no more). I'm from Indiana and am trying to figure out the city she is referencing. I liked the book and look forward to more reads. It was a bit too short, but looks like a delightful ongoing saga. Reminds me a bit of Charlaine Harris' Sookey series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2006

    Trouble with Magic

    This is a keepable, re-readable tale. Books that are a good once read, or not-at-all-worth finishing (rare) are pass-alongs... left for others to read at odd locations. This story and plot were fast, quick and the authoress had better keep writing and the publisher publishing these tales. I can't wait for the next story. The plot is quickly established and the readers know just what the heroine knows. Two interesting, single men... a mother who won't stop mothering... a snotty, younger sister. Well, reality intrudes. Read it and enjoy.... now, if I could just figure out WHICH town she is talking about...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3