BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Trouble With Valentine's Day

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Valentine's Day never looked so yummy...

I recommend this book for anyone who enjoys chick-lit. The book is entertaining and the characters are easy to fall in love with. I finished it in one sitting. I felt relaxed and happy after reading the book.

posted by MelScifi on April 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Cute, But Not Great

This book was typical, but lacked serious character development, especially Rob's character. Some of the steamier scenes lack serious emotion that makes romance novels so great. I wouldn't recommend this to my friends as a good read.

posted by Anonymous on March 18, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Home Run

    This was a reread for me. I really love this book. It has everything in it that I like in a romance novel...humor, angst, awesome nookie scenes and plus it's Rachel Gibson..hello!

    Reread July 09

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Valentine's,Valentine's,Valentine's!

    For those who have no valentine(like me)it's a great read, for those who do have a valentine it's still a great read! The story about a an ex-private investigater who goes to vist her grandfather at a small town meets ex-hockey player is great and romantic...this story makes anyone that's having a bad day feel better or anyone whos having a good day feel even better. the story makes you laugh and think who cares if i don't have a valentine when i have a great book...not everyone is good at the whole valentine thing, but a good book could make the trouble with valentine all better...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    A good read

    Enjoyed this book. Funny and romantic sums it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is the first book I read by Rachel, I was going away and asked a friend for a good read and this was it. I laughed on the plane that people were looking at me and my husband kept looking to see what I was laughing at. I really enjoyed it and was sad when it was over. I will defintely get more!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    Wonderful!!!

    This is my favorite so far, and I have read all of Rachel Gibson's. Loved the grocery store scene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    fun romantic read

    This is my 2nd Rachel Gibson book and I found it to be a fun read! The rejection at the beginning was something we all can relate to--in reality or in our imagination. I loved the Hummer-driving, manly man image and the imaginative sex scenes...Looking forward to reading the rest of her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2006

    Fun and Sassy Read

    I absolutely adored this book. I really love that Rachel Gibson revisits old characters in her books - I'll call this one of her 'Chinooks Hockey Series.' I loved these characters and the story is fun. And really, what woman can't relate to Kate and how she grapples with the situation she finds herself in in this book? I think Gibson fans will enjoy this book a lot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    I want to move to Gospel!

    I accidently read this one before a few of Gibson's other 'Gospel' stories, and I want to move there to find my Rob! The first chapter is just too enticing to stop. What woman hasn't wanted to just forget all the rules and take a guy home without thinking about the consequences? TO be turned down? Ouch...I felt for Kate big time. That's what is so great about this book, you feel what each of the characters are feeling: pain, loss, lust and love. That's what makes a book a great book. While it's not much for a plot (comparitive to her other books), who needs one when the chemistry is too hot for the pages? Gospel, here I come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    The perfect combination of romance and comedy!

    This was the first book of Rachel Gibson's that I had read and I absolutly loved it! I stayed up all night reading it and couldn't put it down. This book will have you laughing one minute and turning up the air-conditioning the next. The end will have you smiling like a fool and itching for more. I ran out and bought all the other Rachel Gibson books and read all of them. I can't wait for her new one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    kate and rob are hot...this book not so....

    i am a big fan of rachel gibson's work. i have read every one of her books and loved it all... except for this one. although i loved kate and rob's personalities and chemistry together, i didn't care for the actual story line. the story started great with a rob rejecting kate's proposition for a one-night stand. i was really looking forward to how the two of them would meet again and eventually fall in love. to my dismay, the story didn't develop as great as the beginning and the ending was just so-so. Despite this book, i still can't wait for her next 'bad boy hockey player' romance novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2005

    great book...

    I finished reading it in less than 24 hours. I love the story, romantic and funny. A must read book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    Disappointed

    I have purchased all of Ms. Gibson's books and this is the worse by far. Or maybe all of the others were just really good. Like some of the previouos reviews said somethings were annoying. Like the misspelling of Dylan Tabers name from True Confessions. I think that the problem was that Kate and Rob didn't really interact with the townspeople like I thought they should've to make the storyline more interesting. So there was a lack of depth to the characters than you find in other books written by Ms. Gibson. This novel was just okay I kinda wish that I had read some reviews before I purchased this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    ok book, not much there

    This book was very mediocre, and annoying in some respects. There wasn't much to the book -- the hero wasn't too likeable, and the heroine didn't have much substance. Two things that particularly annoyed me: the Fu Manchu mustache (not only is it unattractive, but the term is horribly culturally insensitive), and the fact that the name of Dylan Taber (from True Confessions) was spelled Dillon throughout this book. Shouldn't an editor be able to fix these types of mistakes?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    wonderful and charming

    As soon as Rachel Gibson publishes a new book I buy it! Her books have always been great reads, especially this one. This book was so good I read it in two days! Mind you, I rarely have the time to finish a book at all. Don't miss this one-it's excellent!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    It was okay

    It was not as good as her previous books, but it was not bad. I can't put my finger on what it is but there was something missing from this book that was present in the others. It is not her best work. It was average.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    Not a sweet treat!

    While Rachel Gibson has always been one of my favortie contemporary romance novelists, this book is one to skip. The story is forced; it has no natural flow. Unlike others from her that have kept me up at night until finished, this one put me to sleep - several times before I finally completed it. Also, I read romance novels to escape the stress of a hectic worklife and the craziness of our country's current domestic and foreign policies that are destroying our international reputation and leading us to moral and financial bankruptcy. I do not want to read about a principal character using voting for the first Bush as a timeframe in her life. Please, I know the author is from Idaho, but can we skip the red state/blue state intrusion into what should be relaxing literature?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Another good one from Gibson

    If you like rachel Gibson you will love this! The story of Rob and Kate is great I had to read it all the way through! The best characters from Gospel are back creating a humorous and relatable story. Loved it like the others! if you like this and haven't read See jane Score or True confessions read them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    This book is well worth the wait

    The Trouble With Valentine¿s Day is a laugh out loud, make you smile and swoon, touch your heart book. Kate Hamilton is licking her wounds after being dumped and quitting her job. She decides to make her first attempt at picking up a hunky guy at a bar. Then is promptly shot down. Kate continues on her way to rethink her life in Gospel, Idaho by helping her grandfather. Just her luck the hunky stranger runs the local sporting good store across the street from her grandpa¿s grocery store. Rob Sutter retired from hockey and the last lane to quiet Gospel. He has messed up his live and wanted no waves. A big wave called Kate Hamilton shocks him to his core. Kate and Rob try to avoid their sparkling chemistry is a hoot to read. They can¿t keep their minds or their hands off each other. I really enjoyed this book. The dialogue and chemistry leap off the page. It¿s a page turner from the first word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    Gibson gets better with each book

    Perhaps it is because I love gas-guzzling environment-destroying Hummers sure to kill everyone unlucky enough to be in an accident-- that I loved this book. Like all Gibson novels, the people were real. And Gibson has once again created a hot hunky hero. This is a fast-paced fun book, and I enjoyed every second I spent in Gospel again. Bigotry: intolerance toward people who hold different views, especially on matters of politics, religion, or ethnicity

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    I liked it, not loved it.

    It was better than 'Daisy's Back in Town,' but it wasn't as good as 'See Jane Score.' There were some really HOT moments between Katie and Rob that I loved, but the plot wasn't that strong. The ending really dissapointed me. There wasn't enough love or caring in the end with Rob, except in the love scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5