Customer Reviews for

The Troubled Man (Kurt Wallander Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wallander is at his crusty best with a case that goes nowhere and with age aches reminding him of his mortality

In 2008 Sweden at Hakan von Enke's seventy fifth birthday party the disturbed former Swedish naval commander tells Kurt Wallander about a 1980 incident he was involved in. His crew found an unidentified submarine in Swedish territorial waters, but when he reported it t...
In 2008 Sweden at Hakan von Enke's seventy fifth birthday party the disturbed former Swedish naval commander tells Kurt Wallander about a 1980 incident he was involved in. His crew found an unidentified submarine in Swedish territorial waters, but when he reported it to his superiors while preparing to force the sub to surface, he was told to back away.

Soon after the septuagenarian tells his tale, he and his wife vanish. Although suffering from diabetes and memory lapses, and euphoric over the birth of his grandchild, sexagenarian Ystad Police Detective Wallander investigates what happened in the last few days to the parents of his daughter's mate and back during the height of the Cold War.

Wallander is at his crusty best with a case that goes nowhere and with age aches reminding him of his mortality as he fears death making him The Troubled Man; as ironically also is von Enke over the 1980 incident. The mystery is top rate as always in this super Swedish police procedural as the hero sees his detecting days nearly over with the family torch going to his police officer daughter. However, he refuses to quit on an inquiry involving his future in-laws as the Cold War echoes two decades after it ended in wintry cold Sweden.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on March 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite of the series

After having read all of the Wallander novels this one was a great disappointment. Although it started out with great momentum it soon became tiresome. Wasn't too sure as to who the 'troubled man' was -- Hakan von Enke or Wallander.

posted by 1296891 on May 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wallander is at his crusty best with a case that goes nowhere and with age aches reminding him of his mortality

    In 2008 Sweden at Hakan von Enke's seventy fifth birthday party the disturbed former Swedish naval commander tells Kurt Wallander about a 1980 incident he was involved in. His crew found an unidentified submarine in Swedish territorial waters, but when he reported it to his superiors while preparing to force the sub to surface, he was told to back away.

    Soon after the septuagenarian tells his tale, he and his wife vanish. Although suffering from diabetes and memory lapses, and euphoric over the birth of his grandchild, sexagenarian Ystad Police Detective Wallander investigates what happened in the last few days to the parents of his daughter's mate and back during the height of the Cold War.

    Wallander is at his crusty best with a case that goes nowhere and with age aches reminding him of his mortality as he fears death making him The Troubled Man; as ironically also is von Enke over the 1980 incident. The mystery is top rate as always in this super Swedish police procedural as the hero sees his detecting days nearly over with the family torch going to his police officer daughter. However, he refuses to quit on an inquiry involving his future in-laws as the Cold War echoes two decades after it ended in wintry cold Sweden.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Wallander through and through

    What makes Wallander books great is not fast paced action or mellodrama. It's the blending if Wallander's life, personality, and the mystery he is working on. The mystery is both secondary and central to Wallander, just as any detective, teacher or diagnostician must live. you go home at night, but part of your brain continues piecing together clues and worrying ar the problem. I've enjoyed the Wallander series over the years, and while it didnt read like a last book, I'm sad to see it end.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Must read this book.

    Being of that age to have seen the changes in Europe over 45 years and have read the Stieg Larsson series, The Troubled Man captivated my attention. I look forward to reading more Henning Mankell novels. This is the last of the Kurt Wallander series and as such provides a very thoughtful conclusion. I will buy more of his novels and know they will be as enjoyable to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Mankell's The Troubled Man

    As a huge fan of Henning Mankell's Wallender series, I was truly disappointed with The Troubled Man. I didn't want the series to end. But, I found this novel, the last in the Wallender series (#10), to be disjointed,overlong and depressing. As a reader, one senses Mankell's lack of interest in his main character and his urgent need to end the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    Not my favorite of the series

    After having read all of the Wallander novels this one was a great disappointment. Although it started out with great momentum it soon became tiresome. Wasn't too sure as to who the 'troubled man' was -- Hakan von Enke or Wallander.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    One of the best!

    A fitting ending to a great series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Excellent!

    Really enjoyed the story and getting to know the people involved. Well-written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2015

    Writers burn out but if an avid fan of dark norse tales for you

    You will like this book. series often sag after fiive or six books and start a new series. Dont blame the translator m.a.@sparta

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    I liked it

    My favorite Wallander book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    It may be the end of a series of Kurt Wallander's life as a poli

    It may be the end of a series of Kurt Wallander's life as a policeman and his own doubts for his future, but it is a must read. International intrigue and family come together, with a mystery full of surprises. It seems only Kurt can piece together the puzzle as he travels around Sweden getting help in the most unlikely places. A pure joy and at times it tears at your soul. Makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Will check it out

    I haven't had time to check this one out but I'm sure anything he wrote will be good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I have watched a few episodes of the TV series, but this is the first of the Wallander books that I have read. It was fun to learn more in the book about the character, Kurt Wallander, and get more in to his thoughts. My only regret is I wish I had read one or two of the earlier books in the series before reading this one. I liked the author's writing style and will definitely go aback and read some of the earlier books in the series now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Mankell has broken my heart.  I mourned Inspector Morse for so l

    Mankell has broken my heart.  I mourned Inspector Morse for so long, and now I must mourn Wallander, too.  I have read the Wallander series from the start.
    How could Mankell end it this way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4