BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Troubled Waters

Average Rating 4.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a great opening political fantasy

    While grieving the death of her father Navarr of the flame, Zoe Ardelay receives a surprising visit from the capital Chialto where she and her late father once fled to rusticate in safety. King Vernon sent Darien Serlast to bring back Zoe as the fifth bride of the monarch in order for a numerically balanced court. The Five Families fight through their respective queen to propel their offspring as the heir. Zoe met the ruler before her father fell out of favor and learns from Darien that his family possesses all that hers once did.

    However, before entering the castle, Zoe slips away to the nearby river where she is stunned to realize she is the "Coru Prime" of another family Lalindar of the water. Ergo she is no longer the next bride of Vernon. Zoe explores her new power and investigates palace secrets while facing danger from envious enemies, many of whom remain shadowy unknown adversaries who reject an upstart new dynamo. She and Darien also are attracted to one another, but both know many will use their desire as a weapon to destroy both of them. Zoe's biggest lesson at court is trust no one as everyone seems manipulative with a personal agenda to move up the ladder without regard for others.

    Troubled Waters is a great opening political fantasy that is filled with a strong cast, wonderful refreshing laws of magic and court intrigue. From the moment Darien arrives for Zoe, the story line never takes a respite as this is a fast-paced thriller. Sharon Shinn affirms what her fans already knew from the Twelve Houses saga that the author is one of the best fantasists; with her new series loaded with action yet introducing the key characters and significantly the mathematics of magic.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    Loved it!

    It was a nice relief from all of those silly teen books that have crappy writers and all sound exactly the same. I was so tired of all the twilight wanna be's I thought I was going to die..I was looking for something refreshing and different. I thought the book was fabulous. She is fantastic at weaving stories where you can picture another land, along with characters containing growth and backgrounds we can all relate to.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    a solid effort

    Creative worldview and a well crafted story, as we've come to expect from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Is this the second book

    Is this the second book in the series the one after josettas sister left with seth if so say so or if it isnt tell me which one it is

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    I loved this world and hope desperately for a series based in it

    I loved this world and hope desperately for a series based in it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    I loved Troubled Waters and was happy to see a new and unique wo

    I loved Troubled Waters and was happy to see a new and unique world created by Sharon Shinn. I don't want to give much of the book away but I thought it was interesting to see Zoe come into the prime powers and how she used them. While I did like the book, I did get frustrated because every time Zoe did something questionable that caused conflict it was like nothing had happened at all and there were no true consequences or hurdles to overcome. I still loved the book though and I hope that she writes another book giving more insight into this world! I would love to read about Zoe and the other characters again! There's definitely room for a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    I have been looking for a great read for a long time and I have

    I have been looking for a great read for a long time and I have finally found it. I really loved Shinn's Summer at Castle Auburn and I felt that this book was very similar. Every since I read Summer at Castle Auburn I have looking for a book to meet the same expectation. I am glad that Shinn was able to create another magical world. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    This was a fabulous book. I hope that there will be more to com

    This was a fabulous book. I hope that there will be more to come with these characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Troubled Waters is an exciting, unique, riveting story. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and wished there was more at the end! Any lover of adventure, intrigue, and romance will think "Troubled Waters" is a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Troubled Waters

    This book was really well written, I have to say. Zoe at firsts seems docile and like she just might be weak, allowing everyone to push her this way and that. But she had a spark in her and she turned out to be totally different. it was interesting to see her cope with her grief and watch her figure out who she is and become such a strong character.

    I really enjoyed this book and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Another enjoyable story from Sharon Shinn

    An enjoyable read. My only complaint is the too obvious tarot imagery. As I was reading some of the character descriptions I could picture the corresponding cards perfectly, especially the queens. It made the story feel a bit more shallow than some of her other books. If you're unfamiliar with tarot, you probably won't be bothered by this, and it wouldn't stop me from buying the book again. Hope we see more of this world in future books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Just Okay

    This starts out interesting but doesn't progress much. It's too girly with talk of cloths, shoes and hairstyles. Not enough magic and fantasy. Gave it 3 stars because it is written well but more imagination is needed. The elements are there it just doesn't go anywhere exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    Recommended

    Since reading Summers at Castle Auburn I have rarely had the opportunity to become completely enthralled with another of Sharon Shinn's novels. While it has a plot line that moves a bit slowly, her main character, Zoe Ardelay is both compelling and likable. The other members of the court and her friendships forged on the river bank are also interesting and the scandals of the court keep you guessing (to a point). If anyone is looking for a good story to take their mind off things for a while this one is certainly and excellent escape! I hope all of you enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A bridge to AMAZING

    Sharon Shinn has again delivered another fantastic read, similar to her Twelve House series and yet so very different and unique. In Twelve Houses, any random person can be born with magic powers which range from shape-shifting to fire-controlling to mind-reading. The magic in Troubled Waters only involves the elementals (elay - air/soul; hunti - wood/bone; sweela - fire/mind; coru - water/blood; torz - earth/flesh). Yet while a commoner can exhibit elemental personalities, the heads of the Five Families wield actual awesome powers such as stopping the flow of the river at will. The rich details of the magic system was really awe-inspiring -and I could only imagine the time that Ms. Shinn spent on creating such an amazing world. Troubled Waters is a perfect fantasy read that had all the good trimmings of romance and political intrigue. I loved Troubled Waters and am really sad if this is the only venture into this world! I hope that Ms. Shinn will bring us back here, even though it probably will feature different characters whom I may not love as much as Zoe and company!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Great!

    Well written and narrated (only a few punctuation mistakes on the NOOKbook) with interesting plot and characterization. I love all of Sharon Shinn's novels, and this is just as lovable as her others.

    There is only one thing I didn't like, and that was the protagonist, Zoe. I liked her in the beginning, but when she began realizing her power, she became very hotheaded, unsympathetic, and annoying, but she's tolerable and redeems herself in the end.

    Other than that, it was a great read. Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    Immersing - Won't Put it Down

    Adored this novel, reminiscent of Robin McKinley with it's powerful heroine. I read it straight through.

    I appreciated the original world, especially how they categorized people into five character classifications. The love-interest was strong & mysterious. And our heroine was unique & respectable. A enrapturing romantic fantasy.

    Highly ecommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An adventure into a unique elemental world

    Troubled Waters by Sharon Shinn was an enjoyable stand alone set in an original magical world that focused on the five elements, earth, wood, air, fire, and water. The writing style was easy to read, giving a clear understanding of how this world works without getting lost in endless descriptive detail. I was thoroughly drawn into this world and the array of unique personalities that inhabit it.

    The main character, Zoe Ardelay, was fascinating. Being raised by her father in exile and growing up in a small village far from court intrigues, she had to overcome a lot of obstacles to find her place as the head of one of the five families, which constitutes nobility in this world. Given insight by both the blessings bestowed upon her at birth by 4 strangers, and the blessings drawn from the baskets at various temples, Zoe learns that her strength lies in the elements of water and blood. Zoe then uses this affinity to help her navigate the complex scheming of the court, sometimes letting her temper cloud her judgement on how to best use her new found power.

    The relationship between Zoe and Damien Serlast remained rather combative, it was clear from the beginning what direction they were heading, however, I felt that this romance was a bit underdeveloped and not quite believable. Darien alternately helps her and hides things from her throughout the book.

    Some of what I found most fascinating were the blessings themselves. There are 43 blessings, 8 from each of the elements, and 3 that do not belong to an element. Each blessing describes either a personality trait or something to expect, for example, some of the blessings include love, beauty, change, surprise, joy etc. I loved how these affected the lives of those who drew or was given each blessing.
    The ending, for me, felt rushed and incomplete, leaving a lot of questions unanswered for a stand alone novel.

    Overall, I would rate this a 4, the incredible world that Shinn created in this novel makes it one I would definitely recommend to fans of fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4