Customer Reviews for

Troy

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!

    I really loved the book Troy. It was very captivating and exciting. I loved the action/romance. Im not the romantic type but it caught my attention and kept me wanting to read more. If you love the Trojan war this is the right book to read. Everythimg was well written and explained thorougly. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves war and a little bit of love. This was my fisrt book that i read by Adele Geras. I am going to consider reading more books by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Not worth it.

    When I went searching for books about the Trojan War, I had completed my first year of Latin. My teacher dedicated the entire second half of the second semester to learning about the Trojan War. At this point it was certain I was going to be going into a second year of Latin studies, but I wanted more reading on the Trojan War and immediately went searching for fiction on the subject. I wanted to see an alternate perspective that would give me further insight about what women might have dealt with during those ten years of war.

    Troy is a young adult novel written by Adele Geras. The summary wants you to believe that the story is about the Trojan War from the perspective of the women of Troy. When I pick up a book titled Troy, I expect to about the war from inside the gates from characters already known about, like Hecuba, Helen, Polyxena, and Cassandra.

    What you get is the story about two sisters, Xanthe and Marpessa, who are in two different positions, and they have but one thing outside their relation in common: Alistor, that poor kid who got fatally wounded after not even five seconds of battle! And it gets better! SPOILER ALERT There's unplanned pregnancy and do-it-yourself abortions! SPOILER ALERT The plot, on the whole, gets lost somewhere about a third into the book probably because the author lost sight of an interesting concept or the author is just clueless about the Trojan war and hopes that readers don't notice by throwing in some teenage angst because teenagers crave angsty love triangles like candy, right?

    While there are people out there that enjoy this book and hail it as an excellent adaptation of Homer's Iliad, why is beyond me.

    And why did I force myself to finish this book? Maybe it was the hope that things would somehow get better, which they never did. Why did I even bother to pick up this book in the first place? Because it was after my first year of Latin, we had covered the Trojan War second semester and it sounded like it had the potential for being an illuminating read, from the perspective of one of the female characters from the Iliad. I did not want teenage drama, which is what I got.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    The award winning novel of love and war

    After reading this novel, I think it was a pretty good book. It talked about the siege of Troy. Each morning men would go out and fight, women would stay on the walls and wait of their return of their husbands. I think this book would be more stable for young adults and not for children. Furthermore, this book describes the death of a person very detailed also this book is more mature than others. All in all, I would rate this 8 out of 10 since I was quite interested since I am interested in war and the Olympus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Book For Trojan War Fans

    I thought this book was great. It really told about the lives of Trojan peasents; a subject that isn't really covered in history class. The only thing was that it reminded me of a soap opera. Each chapter went to a different person's messed up love life, so, like a soap opera, it was kind of hard to follow their stories. But I did think that the charcters had real personality and I got emotionally attached to each one. A warning: This book takes place near the end of the Trojan War, so I recomend this book for people who already know a great deal about the Trojan War, because the author doesn't spend much time going over the beginning of the war, only a couple flashbacks. I liked how the gods and goddesses were involved too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Really Good

    This story has gods and goddesses sisters and one problem they both think the love the same person an wounded soldier but Aphrodite says he is only for one sister this story takes you on a journey of love and war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Abosoulute Must Read

    As a teen i loved this book. i love it because of the wat Adele Geras words the story and encorporates the drama of war with the trickery of the gods. The wars affect on everything in their world is closely intertwined into the story. Also i was captured by the love conflict between the two sisters. I couldn't let go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting...

    My friend was telling me about Troy (knowing that I love Greek mythology), and when I saw the book on the shelf, I was expecting it to be quite good. In the most part, it didn't disappoint. There were enough twists and turns to keep me occupied. But at the end, I had to think - what was the point of everything if it ended like that?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    If I could give it a 10 I would

    This was amazing! Unlike some, I am obsessed with the war on Troy and love reading historical fiction about it. The way the author tells the story through fictional and non fictional characters is just divine. I would tell everyone to read this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    um, no, not really.

    My brother and I have both read this book and found it lacking. I was more interested in the larger than life mythological figures that do not make much of an appearance and he felt there was too much romance and not enough substance 'plot'. I agreed with him on those counts as well. Even a good writer can have off moments, so I read 'Ithaka'- it had the same problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    Best Book Ever!

    Troy is my favorite book! I never wanted it to end. I loved the charaters and the way every thing fit together in the book, it made me feel like i was realy there in Troy during the war!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Great book!

    I really loved this book. The way the characters' lives were weaved in with mythology was fascinating. Some descriptions were beautifaul, and I really loved the characters. I never wanted Troy to end! This novel really makes you wonder: Did the Trojan War really ever happen?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2007

    I love this Book!!!

    1 of the best books I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    One of my favorite books

    I thought this book was overall very good. I liked each conflict and I liked the main plot. There were a few parts that I didn't really understand, but I really thought it was an excellant piece of writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    This book is great!!!

    I thought the book was great,it was a little confusing at first but once u got into it it was hard to put down.I would recommend this book to anyone who like mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    very good

    this was a very good and interesting book. its a little confusing at first, but super good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    I loved it!

    this book was soo good! my friend bought it for me and i didnt think i would like it much. but i enjoyed it so much! i love the characters and how it wasnt based around just one person. at some parts it was hard to understand because their are so many people the book talks about, but it was WELL worth it. Honestly whoever likes mythology will love this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2006

    not what it seems

    when i first read the summary of the book i thought it would be different. personaly, i think that it was just about romance. i thought it would have more action, it was like a soap oprah,DRAMA. the plot i didn't like, but i have to admit that adele geras writes really well. mabey i'm to young, going into 6 grade, but too much romance. and there was no ending. what happens to marpessa and the baby, xanthe, and alastor, everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2006

    Excellent

    I love mythology, and read as much of it as I can, and I really enjoyed reading about the Trojan War from the perspective of 2 young Trojan women. What made it more interesting than just being a good myth was that the war was not the major focus of the story, but romance. It makes the story better depict what living through the war might really have been like, so it is more an entertaining story than a historical tale. I loved the vivid and colorful charecters and spiteful gods that played important roles. Troy is a really great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    Wonderful

    I loved this story. Ancient Troy has always been an interest of mine, and I was happy to find a book about somthing other then the mens point of veiw on the war, and Helen. Its an excellent read for young adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2005

    Beautiful

    This novel was so thrilling and enchanting. A must read for young adults! This book has gotten me interested in ancient Greek an Roman mythology. I love this book. From the moment you pick it up you can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4