Customer Reviews for

Troy

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    The award winning novel of love and war

    After reading this novel, I think it was a pretty good book. It talked about the siege of Troy. Each morning men would go out and fight, women would stay on the walls and wait of their return of their husbands. I think this book would be more stable for young adults and not for children. Furthermore, this book describes the death of a person very detailed also this book is more mature than others. All in all, I would rate this 8 out of 10 since I was quite interested since I am interested in war and the Olympus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Book For Trojan War Fans

    I thought this book was great. It really told about the lives of Trojan peasents; a subject that isn't really covered in history class. The only thing was that it reminded me of a soap opera. Each chapter went to a different person's messed up love life, so, like a soap opera, it was kind of hard to follow their stories. But I did think that the charcters had real personality and I got emotionally attached to each one. A warning: This book takes place near the end of the Trojan War, so I recomend this book for people who already know a great deal about the Trojan War, because the author doesn't spend much time going over the beginning of the war, only a couple flashbacks. I liked how the gods and goddesses were involved too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Really Good

    This story has gods and goddesses sisters and one problem they both think the love the same person an wounded soldier but Aphrodite says he is only for one sister this story takes you on a journey of love and war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting...

    My friend was telling me about Troy (knowing that I love Greek mythology), and when I saw the book on the shelf, I was expecting it to be quite good. In the most part, it didn't disappoint. There were enough twists and turns to keep me occupied. But at the end, I had to think - what was the point of everything if it ended like that?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    One of my favorite books

    I thought this book was overall very good. I liked each conflict and I liked the main plot. There were a few parts that I didn't really understand, but I really thought it was an excellant piece of writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    This book is great!!!

    I thought the book was great,it was a little confusing at first but once u got into it it was hard to put down.I would recommend this book to anyone who like mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    very good

    this was a very good and interesting book. its a little confusing at first, but super good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    Wonderful

    I loved this story. Ancient Troy has always been an interest of mine, and I was happy to find a book about somthing other then the mens point of veiw on the war, and Helen. Its an excellent read for young adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    A High School Student

    This book was very good.I was not happy with the ending though. She never tells the reader what happens to the Marpessa or her sister Xanthe in Greece.But overall it exided my expectations.It had a good plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2004

    An outstanding literary read

    Admitedly, I'm not much of a history man. In fact, it's often a subject that I despise with a passion. However, I picked this book on the pretesnses that it was the novelization of the recently created film - It isn't. Despite the disappoinment, I read it...and loved it! It really is an engaging, suspesneful masterpiece. If you haven't read it all ready, read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    Troy

    This book was awesome, i love the stories about ancient troy and the battle of the greeks. all of the mythology just captures me. i would have to say that this book is the best yet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2004

    Looking forward . . .

    I just ordered the book troy and from what i have seen on the website description it looks fabulous. I am really Looking forward to reading this amazing tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    BBE

    I thought this book was the best book i've read in along time it made me cry and no book makes me cry. I liked that the author used regular characters for love instead of always being focused on Helen. I give it 4 stars because it just made me so sad but it was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2004

    A Must!!!!!

    This book was so great. i learned a lot about the trojan war friom this book. its kinda of intersting how different authors portray helen and paris.some portray helen as mean while others portray her a commpassionate. the same thing for paris. this book was awesome but the ending was abrupt and left me w/ a lot of questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2004

    masterful

    i think people are putting way to much into what this book is about. hello, its about the lives of the trojion people, not the gods or the greeks. we really have only ever heared the story through the eyes of the greek people, not the trojins. this gives it a whole new side. we hear how bruttal the greeks were in their attack and about all the suffering, not about a greek man who gets lost while trying to go home. thats why it is called Troy. not gods and greeks. this is about what a group of trojin teens whent through. the end. oh, and it was an excelent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2004

    review

    i really liked this book expect for the fact that it didnt have enuff intimate paris AND helen scenes which is why i bought the book in the first place. but o well its a really good book and i enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2