Customer Reviews for

Truce: The Historic Neighbor from Hell

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of my faves!

This series never fails to bring me back over and over anticipating the next story. Great writing,humor,steamy sex,and love can't wait for more!

posted by Anonymous on December 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Okay

I love RL, she is a great storyteller. This particular book was not my favorite. It was very reminiscent of Checkmate, just set in the 1800's. She's an independent female stuck in a mans world, and he's an obnoxious Bradford, who enjoys torturing her. It was predictable...
I love RL, she is a great storyteller. This particular book was not my favorite. It was very reminiscent of Checkmate, just set in the 1800's. She's an independent female stuck in a mans world, and he's an obnoxious Bradford, who enjoys torturing her. It was predictable, and not as entertaining as her other books. That being said, I still love this author and will read anything she publishes, this book is just not my favorite. Bring on the next Pyte/Sentinel book!

posted by Anonymous on November 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    Ok so let me start off by saying that I hate historical romance

    Ok so let me start off by saying that I hate historical romance books with a passion. When I saw this book was by
    R.L. and that it was from the neighbors from hell series i just bought it without thougHt. When i started to read 
    The intro I got a little ticked cause it was written in a historical romance setting. I decided to read it anyways and
    I'm glad I did because this book was so good I couldn't put it down. Let's just say I wish I had an Orangery!!
    Bravo for another great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Great read

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Xxxxxx

    Super cute addition to the series. They are all crazy but lots of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Rune

    Rune flew away on Dawn.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Oh how I love the Bradford boys! Truce was much what you would e

    Oh how I love the Bradford boys! Truce was much what you would expect from a book in the Neighbor from Hell series. It was funny and infuriating as you just wanted to smoosh Elizabeth and Robert’s heads together and tell them to kiss and play nice. It is a mild historical romance. And by that I mean it is low on historical (good for people who are just testing the historical genre waters) and high on the romance (as is expected from R.L. Mathewson.) It is not my favorite in the series but was a fun read. It was nice to see where it all began.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    R.L. Mathewson has continued her terrific “A Neighbour from Hell” series with a bit of a twist; we are going on a trip back in time to meet the very first Bradford who enjoyed driving his neighbour crazy. To do this we are going a little closer to home for me and back to England where Robert Bradford is the second son of a Earl and also the childhood nemesis of Elizabeth Stanton. But, when Elizabeth meets a handsome stranger at a ball he seems perfect…until she realises he is Robert Bradford, the boy who once made her life hell and who is now driving her different kind of mad with his sizzling looks and caresses.

    This series has become one of my favourites, I know if I want to read something completely outrageous and guaranteed to make me laugh I can just pick up any one of the “A Neighbour from Hell” series. Truce is no different and I loved the twist of doing a historic installment of the series, it is something you don’t see very often and fit really well with the rest of the books.

    I think the reason that this fits so well with the rest of the series is because, although it is a historical novel, the background is just window dressing, the characters don’t act that much differently than the contemporary Bradford’s. So if you are looking for a book with a historical feel you are looking in the wrong place; however, I didn’t let that bother me I wasn’t reading this book for historical accuracy. What I was reading for is the contentious and hilarious relationship between Elizabeth and Robert, they both tease and torture each other as they drive themselves mad with desire, creating some funny situations and banter. Underneath all of this though was a sweet romance they suited one another perfectly and I loved watching them come to that realisation as they fall in love with the person they least expected; each other.

    A great book, if you haven’t started this series yet I highly recommend you give it a try, it will leave you with a big grin on your face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    like a fav movie or play...you'll read it over and over again :D

    if you love the Bradford's, your gonna love the beginning of all their stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Awesome book

    I loved the book. I've totally loved the Bradfords since I first found them and I love that R.L. wrote about how they came to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Great!

    A wonderful addition to the series. Sexy and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Loved

    Im not one for historical romance but i had to read how the bradfords came about and i loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1