Customer Reviews for

True Believer

Average Rating 4
( 610 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(284)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

hardcore nicky sparks fan

i had a countdown of the days til 'true believer' came out in stores. i bought it and was immediately immersed in it. when i was down the shore this weekend, i never left my room, racing to satisfy my thirst of nicholas sparks' romance, but slowing myself just enough ...
i had a countdown of the days til 'true believer' came out in stores. i bought it and was immediately immersed in it. when i was down the shore this weekend, i never left my room, racing to satisfy my thirst of nicholas sparks' romance, but slowing myself just enough so i could enjoy it. 'true believer' has many turns and twists - and although some of sparks' books can be somewhat predictable- this one was different. i was extremely pleased.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Save your money.....I started skimming very early in this book,

Save your money.....I started skimming very early in this book, say about page 150....then I said a little prayer that it would get much better....it didn't. So predictable and the corny residents of that "quaint" town were awful.
Sparks failed in this endeav...
Save your money.....I started skimming very early in this book, say about page 150....then I said a little prayer that it would get much better....it didn't. So predictable and the corny residents of that "quaint" town were awful.
Sparks failed in this endeavor unless you like to be bored.

posted by 6068450 on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 613 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Loved

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    P Q


    Y c cfddds g

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Not very interesting.

    I ended up skimming through this book. Kept waiting for something to happen. This was my first book by Sparks. Will try one more. Hopefully it will be better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Great love story

    Sparkxsdoes itagain

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Save your money

    Not the best cheaper at walmart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Awesome

    Another great book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    Cute

    Cute

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    love it!

    love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Not one of my favorites, but still worth the time. An interestin

    Not one of my favorites, but still worth the time. An interesting story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    I love true bilevere

    I love the love a ghost story with no horror in this is one of his good ones

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    A good read.

    I heard lots of raving reviews for Nicholas Sparks so chose True Believer for my first Nook purchase. It is a good book, nice love story, but a bit slow for me. I found myself losing interest in so much detail about the area. I plan try another Sparks book but will check individual reviews first.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Great read

    Another of Spark's heart warming tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Okay

    This book was just okay to me. The end is when sparks really started writting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    YES !!

    Wonderful story on finding true love when you least expect it and believing in miracles. Loved it ! ~ classic Nicholas Sparks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    good read.

    Just like all nicholas sparks books great love story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    I expected more from Nicholas Sparks.

    I've read a lot of his books. He fell short on this one I think. The character development just wasn't as detailed and thorough as usual.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    The Greatest Love Story Ever Told

    In the novel "True Believer," an investigative journalist and big time New Yorker Jeremy Marsh exposes the fraud of a psychic by uncovering what the man really does to "read people's minds." The results of his findings were astounding to the public and earned Jeremy his first appearance on national television. Encouraged by the success of his last article, Jeremy presses on to the next big story, which leads him to the small southern town of Boone Creek, South Carolina. In this sleepy ghost town in the middle of nowhere, Jeremy is expected to crack the myth of mysterious lights seen in the town's old cemetery. Unexpectedly, Jeremy runs into another mystery along the way, Lexie Darnell. As Jeremy continues research at the library to find out where these mysterious lights might be coming from, he can't help but become distracted by the librarian, who also happens to be Lexie. As Lexie and Jeremy spend more time together and conversations grow deeper, they come to realize that they were meant for each other. The only problem is that in the end Jeremy will have to return to New York once his investigation is over, and Lexie is not willing to leave the town that she's lived in and loved her whole life. Therefore, Jeremy is left with a tough decision. Go back to New York and leave Lexie, or stay with Lexie but leave the city he knows and loves. Major messages and themes throughout this book are dominantly of love and sacrifice. I felt that an overall message to this book was that love, although unpredictable, will stand the test of time if it is true. Something that I enjoyed about this book was its never-failing attempt to entertain me. It's definitely one of those books where you just have to know what happens next. Without reading the ending of this book, it truly would have driven me crazy. Something that I disliked about this book was perhaps how predictable the ending was. I know that some books end sorrowfully, but I was pretty sure that Nicholas Sparks wouldn't have ended this book with Jeremy staying in New York and forgetting all about Lexie. Another thing that I didn't like about this book was its speed in certain areas. The further I got into the book the more events seemed to progress, but in the beginning I felt it to be a little slow paced which made it difficult to be fully engaged. Despite my dislikes about the book I would most certainly recommend it to anyone in search of a classic love story with a good ending. Another work of Nicholas Sparks' that I highly recommend is "A Walk to Remember," because I find it refreshing to hear a story of a very spiritual girl whose life should be changing because of her illness, yet she is the one changing the lives of other's due to her faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Will start reading soon

    A Walk To Remember was the first book i read by Nicholas Sparks. The 2nd was The Notebook. I feel in love with his style of writing. I've had this book for sometime now - i am looking forward to reading it. I look forward to reading more of his books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    3.5 stars

    This was a good book. As always, the writing was good as was the story. It was actually a bit slow until around mid book though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Great book...wonderful uplifting ending. A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 613 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31