Customer Reviews for

True Believer

Average Rating 4
( 615 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(287)

4 Star

(133)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

hardcore nicky sparks fan

i had a countdown of the days til 'true believer' came out in stores. i bought it and was immediately immersed in it. when i was down the shore this weekend, i never left my room, racing to satisfy my thirst of nicholas sparks' romance, but slowing myself just enough ...
i had a countdown of the days til 'true believer' came out in stores. i bought it and was immediately immersed in it. when i was down the shore this weekend, i never left my room, racing to satisfy my thirst of nicholas sparks' romance, but slowing myself just enough so i could enjoy it. 'true believer' has many turns and twists - and although some of sparks' books can be somewhat predictable- this one was different. i was extremely pleased.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Save your money.....I started skimming very early in this book,

Save your money.....I started skimming very early in this book, say about page 150....then I said a little prayer that it would get much better....it didn't. So predictable and the corny residents of that "quaint" town were awful.
Sparks failed in this endeav...
Save your money.....I started skimming very early in this book, say about page 150....then I said a little prayer that it would get much better....it didn't. So predictable and the corny residents of that "quaint" town were awful.
Sparks failed in this endeavor unless you like to be bored.

posted by 6068450 on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 618 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    hardcore nicky sparks fan

    i had a countdown of the days til 'true believer' came out in stores. i bought it and was immediately immersed in it. when i was down the shore this weekend, i never left my room, racing to satisfy my thirst of nicholas sparks' romance, but slowing myself just enough so i could enjoy it. 'true believer' has many turns and twists - and although some of sparks' books can be somewhat predictable- this one was different. i was extremely pleased.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Save your money.....I started skimming very early in this book,

    Save your money.....I started skimming very early in this book, say about page 150....then I said a little prayer that it would get much better....it didn't. So predictable and the corny residents of that "quaint" town were awful.
    Sparks failed in this endeavor unless you like to be bored.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Great book!

    True Believer
    True believer embarks on science journalist Jeremy marsh’s journey of attempting to demystify the unexplained. With Jeremy’s career at its peak, after previously disproving a fake television psychic on live television, he sets off to tackle yet another “explainable” supernatural phenomenon, or so he thought. When word of small town Boone Creek’s mysterious phenomena’s reached Jeremy’s ears he knew he had to research the strange glimmering lights being seen every foggy night in the local cemetery. So he heads off to begin his life changing journey of love and life in a small town.
    Jeremy’s first impression of the small town was far from his New Yorker atmosphere of which he previously departed from. Instead he gets complete small town hospitality by quickly being treated like the celebrity that would return the tourists to the forgotten town. After quickly learning all about what small town life was about at the local diner Herbs he set of to find a place to lay his head.
    After the mayor manages to employ Jeremy to stay at the Green Leaf Cottages, a local hotel, Jeremy finds himself with a deficiency of technology, heat, and not to mention the constant threatening sounds that haunt his nights. With the current culture shock at hand Jeremy still made due and began his research of the town.
    At the beginning of Jeremy’s research he finds himself at the local library in the hopes to kick start the process. At this time he notices Lexie Darnell, the librarian, realizing immediately that she was the girl he observed at his first visit to the cemetery previously that day. After speaking with her he soon finds out she’s the granddaughter of the local psychic Doris Marsh.
    Throughout the lackadaisical progression of his research, Jeremy becomes more aware of lexie. He begins to get to know her and begins to notice the person she is, even the cute way that she compelled him by how forward she was, unlike most city girls. This book quickly becomes yet another famous Nicholas Sparks romances, but with a twist.
    Throughout their relationship Jeremy learns of the presence of deputy hopper. Deputy hopper had long time had strong feelings for lexie, in which she played a part In keeping the fire going, but never saw it going anywhere. Jeremy quickly swoops in and they fall madly in love leaving deputy hoppers in the dust.
    Throughout their love affair Jeremy discovers how related lexie really is to the strange light occurrences. Lexie felt responsible for the mysterious light appearing because after her parents misfortunate accident the lights began to appear. Jeremy quickly discovers in order to keep the girl an keep his happiness, that he must put the matters of the heart first and science behind him, not to mention his previous life. In the end Jeremy discovers the Mayor's father revealed exactly what he thought. The reflection of an incoming train on the local factory, coupled with the extremely thick fog caused by the slow sinking of the soggy graveyard results in the lights appearing on the tombstones. Doris also knows there is a hoax, having her six sense that it was all misunderstood and not ghost’s after all. Jeremy decides to stay with lexie in Boone creek in the end they discover she’s pregnant with a baby girl. They end the book embracing her stomach together.
    Overall Nicholas Sparks’ #1 New York Times Best Seller, True Believer is a highly recommended book along with many other of his work such as, The Last Son

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

     The PW description seduced me into thinking it was a story abou

     The PW description seduced me into thinking it was a story about journalist investigating mysterious lights. It isn't. The lights serve only to get Our Hero to the place where he meets cliched smart beautiful librarian, so that he can ultimately embrace the charms of rural life.




    Now, just about every romance formula is done over and over, and if it is done well, I enjoy it over and over. I did not think this was done well. The characters were all surface; there was no apparent reason for Hero to fall for this particular woman or she for him (except that pickings are slim in a very small town). And it struck me as being purely anti-modernist/technological -- a tiny backwater town equated with all that is good.This is a delightful novel. I liked the setting, because it is an area of NC I know quite well. As with many of Sparks' novels, any twists or turns in the plot are resolved, usually positively. Reading about good things vs action and killing is refreshing.It seems every book I read gets better and better. I love anything and everything that Nicholas Sparks comes out with. I love the fact that he takes me inside the books and I can't help but to read on. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    True Believer is the first book in the Jeremy Marsh series by Ni

    True Believer is the first book in the Jeremy Marsh series by Nicholas Sparks, and is another great story.
    Synopsis:
    Jeremy has just pulled off the story of his career about a conman. Now what will he do next? A letter came to him by a lady named Doris from Boone Creek. She told him about some mysterious lights that take place in their cemetery and would be he comes down to investigate? Jeremy journeys to Boone Creek to start his investigation. He meets the people of the town but there is one special one in particular. Lexie Darnell is the librarian who helps Jeremy with his investigation but can she help him with more. What will the investigation discover about the lights?
    My Thoughts:
    Having been a fan for a long time, I found another great book by Nicholas Sparks. I was very much entertained by the author’s description of this small town and its characters. I think my favorite character was the mayor of the town Mayor Gurgken who helped ad some humor to the story. The main character in this book includes an interest in science. Science personally is one of my least favorite subjects in school. I was as interested in the investigation but felt the story lagged a little.
    What makes a story great to you? What flavor does a story need? Do you like romance? What feeling do you need expressed by the author to truly enjoy a book?
    What I like is a great relaxing story that occasionally provokes some thought. Nicholas Sparks is great at evoking emotion out of his readers.
    I hope you enjoy Nicholas Sparks as much as I have. Please visit his Facebook and website.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    Even tho I am a Sparks fan I have to admit it was a bit of a slo

    Even tho I am a Sparks fan I have to admit it was a bit of a slow start. Once it did pick up I enjoyed it very much.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Still enjoying

    I always love a nicholas sparks book, & he's done it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Omg

    Nicholas Sparks is AMAZING one day i WILL meet him!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    I love Nicholas Sparks!

    He is the best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Y

    Y would u hate itiloveit

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    A little slow at times

    I liked this, but it was boring sometimes

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Highly Disappointed

    This is my least favorite book by Nicholas Sparks. It was slow to start and left little to the imagination. I knew the ending before it was over. I was hoping I was wrong and that there would be a curve ball.. unfortunately not. I feel like I'm reading about similar characters and story lines in every book. I'm taking a little break from his novels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Loved it

    This was a great book...definately a must read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    Okay

    So I didn't know that At First Sight was a sequel to this book and read that one first. I probably would have enjoyed this one a little more had I not known what was already going to happen. It was very slow for me in the beginning and I had a really hard time getting into it. It picked up a bit the last 100 pages or so. I would recommend reading this one first then reading At First Sight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    Not so much

    Well I just got done reading this one and I surely had a way more difficult time getting into it. I am kind of disappointed with this novel and is most likely my least favorite compared to the others which I loved! This is slow and easy to determine the outcome. Not much romance and no cliff hangers or foreshadows. On to the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Great Read! I really enjoyed this book, and I think you will, t

    Great Read! I really enjoyed this book, and I think you will, too! Enough said....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Not the best

    I was disappointed by True Believer. I usually find it to be a bit harsh when reviewers label a book as boring, but on this one, I'm afraid I have to agree. This story dragged out, though it finally picked up a little towards the end, it was a very long time coming. Although I am a fan of many of Sparks other books, I am finding that they all have in common the fact that the male lead character always loves the female more than she loves him. Also, I've noticed that in many of his books, I just really don't care for the female characters. I couldn't understand why Jeremy fell for Lexie- and so quickly at that. Her sense of humor came off as very condescending to me. It may be cliche, but can't the women be a tiny bit more charming?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    True Believer by Nicholas Sparks  Jeremy Marsh is a New York j

    True Believer by Nicholas Sparks 


    Jeremy Marsh is a New York journalist with the popular magazine "Scientific American,". He is a
    skeptic in anything supernatural, fortune tellers, mind readers, ghost hunters, etc. He is sent to a
    small South Carolina town named Bone Creek, to investigate the legend of "lights" being seen in the
    local cemetery. 

    Lexie Darnell is the town librarian and the one he goes to for researching this story. Jeremy soon fall
    for the lovely Lexie, although she is hesitant to give up her heart so easily. Soon Jeremy is faced with a
    major life altering decision. Should he follow his head or his heart?

    I liked the story like, the main characters were likable. The descriptions of life in a small American
    town (in my opinion) were very accurate. I also loved the cover, yes I do admit Lighthouses are
    appealing to me, the cover drew me in, Nicholas Sparks name caught my interest, and the story kept
    me reading until late at night.



    Romance lovers should enjoy this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    True beliver

    Great Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    EXCELLENT

    What I thought was going to be one of Sparks less popular books ended up being fantastic! I had to read a few chapters before it got really interesting, but it was well worth my time. Excellent book and the follow up book, At First Sight, is excellent as well. Highly recommend this read and all of Spark's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 618 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31