Customer Reviews for

True Believer

Average Rating 4
( 610 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(284)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

hardcore nicky sparks fan

i had a countdown of the days til 'true believer' came out in stores. i bought it and was immediately immersed in it. when i was down the shore this weekend, i never left my room, racing to satisfy my thirst of nicholas sparks' romance, but slowing myself just enough ...
i had a countdown of the days til 'true believer' came out in stores. i bought it and was immediately immersed in it. when i was down the shore this weekend, i never left my room, racing to satisfy my thirst of nicholas sparks' romance, but slowing myself just enough so i could enjoy it. 'true believer' has many turns and twists - and although some of sparks' books can be somewhat predictable- this one was different. i was extremely pleased.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Save your money.....I started skimming very early in this book,

Save your money.....I started skimming very early in this book, say about page 150....then I said a little prayer that it would get much better....it didn't. So predictable and the corny residents of that "quaint" town were awful.
Sparks failed in this endeav...
Save your money.....I started skimming very early in this book, say about page 150....then I said a little prayer that it would get much better....it didn't. So predictable and the corny residents of that "quaint" town were awful.
Sparks failed in this endeavor unless you like to be bored.

posted by 6068450 on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    True Believer is the first book in the Jeremy Marsh series by Ni

    True Believer is the first book in the Jeremy Marsh series by Nicholas Sparks, and is another great story.
    Synopsis:
    Jeremy has just pulled off the story of his career about a conman. Now what will he do next? A letter came to him by a lady named Doris from Boone Creek. She told him about some mysterious lights that take place in their cemetery and would be he comes down to investigate? Jeremy journeys to Boone Creek to start his investigation. He meets the people of the town but there is one special one in particular. Lexie Darnell is the librarian who helps Jeremy with his investigation but can she help him with more. What will the investigation discover about the lights?
    My Thoughts:
    Having been a fan for a long time, I found another great book by Nicholas Sparks. I was very much entertained by the author’s description of this small town and its characters. I think my favorite character was the mayor of the town Mayor Gurgken who helped ad some humor to the story. The main character in this book includes an interest in science. Science personally is one of my least favorite subjects in school. I was as interested in the investigation but felt the story lagged a little.
    What makes a story great to you? What flavor does a story need? Do you like romance? What feeling do you need expressed by the author to truly enjoy a book?
    What I like is a great relaxing story that occasionally provokes some thought. Nicholas Sparks is great at evoking emotion out of his readers.
    I hope you enjoy Nicholas Sparks as much as I have. Please visit his Facebook and website.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    A little slow at times

    I liked this, but it was boring sometimes

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    True Believer by Nicholas SparksĀ  Jeremy Marsh is a New York j

    True Believer by Nicholas Sparks 


    Jeremy Marsh is a New York journalist with the popular magazine "Scientific American,". He is a
    skeptic in anything supernatural, fortune tellers, mind readers, ghost hunters, etc. He is sent to a
    small South Carolina town named Bone Creek, to investigate the legend of "lights" being seen in the
    local cemetery. 

    Lexie Darnell is the town librarian and the one he goes to for researching this story. Jeremy soon fall
    for the lovely Lexie, although she is hesitant to give up her heart so easily. Soon Jeremy is faced with a
    major life altering decision. Should he follow his head or his heart?

    I liked the story like, the main characters were likable. The descriptions of life in a small American
    town (in my opinion) were very accurate. I also loved the cover, yes I do admit Lighthouses are
    appealing to me, the cover drew me in, Nicholas Sparks name caught my interest, and the story kept
    me reading until late at night.



    Romance lovers should enjoy this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Nice story

    Predictible ending, but good none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    Cute

    Cute

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Great read

    Another of Spark's heart warming tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    good read.

    Just like all nicholas sparks books great love story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Love+nick%21

    He+always+pulls+through+with+a+great+story+and+awesome+characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    Great book that leaves you yearning for more!

    In my opinion, this book wasn't as good as his others, but it had an interesting plot. I myself am a prospective journalist and reading the story from a journalist's point of view was really insightful. I liked the characters and the little twists here and there. It really made me want to go out and by the sequel book, which I did a few days later! I LOVE NICHOLAS SPARKS BOOKS! This one is great for the skeptics, too. Gives you a little something to believe in...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good book but not one of Spark's best.

    I am a fan of Nickolas Sparks and look forward to reading his books. As an author, I appreciate the talent he has for creating wonderful characters and weaving his story around them. In the True Believer, I think he missed his mark.
    The strings of my heart weren't pulled on this one. Jeremy is a journalist who is investigating lights that appear in a small southern town's cemetery. The town's history points to ghosts, but Jeremy doesn't believe it for a moment. The mayor is struggling to bring some life back into a town that is dying. The local librarian, Lexie, just wants everyone to stay out of the cemetery.
    The characters were not as engaging as most of Sprarks. This is a good read for a Rainey day, but it doesn't measure up to his high standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    True Love!

    This book is definitely true to Nicholas Sparks' writing style. If you are a fan, pick this up. If not, and you are looking for a tear jerker, read this book and its sequel! The sequel is At First Sight and they definitely need to be read together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    Sparks- A leap of Faith

    "True believer" by Nicholas Sparks is a love story that reveals that love can be a struggle when negative feelings come to our lives. This brings out that "Love is a Leap of Faith". I believe this theme is true because when you fall in love with someone, sometimes you never know what may come in the future. This uncertainty can bring doubt and fear sometimes in Love. Just as the main character of the book, Lexie and Jeremy marsh had to go through. Luckily these characters to the chance and let the love they had for each other bring them closer when they were from different places. Its like the motto "Carpe Diem" meaning to seize the day. I think everyone should have a little bit of "carpe diem" in their lives to have some happiness.
    I like how Sparks was able to write a story with a theme that many people can relate to. Many people get hurt when they get out of a relationship, and later on in their life they are scared to love again because they don't want to get hurt.
    The only thing I didn't like was that in between the chapters the author would switch the dialogues of the characters. For some moments I couldn't find out who was talking and was somewhat difficult to keep on tract. But, overall I believe Sparks did a good job with this book. I would recommend this book to people that like romantic books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    Typical Sparks'

    Good read. Fairly predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    JBM

    GOOD READ. I LOVE NICHOLAS SPARKS BOOKS. THIS ONE TOOK ME A WHILE TO GET INTO THE STORY. I LOOK FORWARD TO TRUE BELIEVER WHICH IS THE NEXT ONE IN THIS TWO BOOK SERIES.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    Not a retitled book.

    FYI to whomever claimed that this was a retitled book is incorrect. "At First Sight" is the sequel to "True Believer." I wonder if this person has even read the books? You can even read the synopsis & it will tell you that it is a sequel. Sorry, I just couldn't let someone accuse a great author like Sparks of reissuing his book under a different title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dear John

    What can I say, anything that Nicholas Sparks write if wonderful. Dear John shows what real love is all about and for John to love Savannah that much is so wonderful. Good Job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Did it again!

    Nicholas Sparks is a wonderful novelist. I couldn't put the book down it was that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    Another Romance Novel By Nicholas Sparks

    Have you ever been hurt so bad thining you will never fall in love again? Have you ever thought of going to a new place to start off new? Well this is what True believer is about. Jeremy is the main character and he had fallen hard and been hurt. He is a big time journalist and decides to go do a report in a small town in North Carolina because reports of spooky lights in the cemetary. What he doesn't know is that there might be love waiting for him there. This high packed drama will be a great book for you romance novelist. This is a typical Nicholas Sparks charm romance novel so expect nothing less of it. I liked this book because I like romance novels so if you like romance you should buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Beautiful Love Story

    Nicholas Sparks knows how to write 'em! This romance shows that true love can show up completely unexpected. Jeremy, a big-time journalist from New York, visits an extremely small town for his column. Trying to research and find more information, he meets Lexie, the local librarian. As they spend more and more time together they become closer and closer. Will they be together forever or will he return to the city trying to forget what he and Lexie had? Read TRUE BELIEVER to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    really good

    i thought this book was really good. i loved the ending. at some parts in the book it got a bit less interesting but over all it was a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7