Customer Reviews for

True Believer

Average Rating 4
( 609 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(283)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

hardcore nicky sparks fan

i had a countdown of the days til 'true believer' came out in stores. i bought it and was immediately immersed in it. when i was down the shore this weekend, i never left my room, racing to satisfy my thirst of nicholas sparks' romance, but slowing myself just enough ...
i had a countdown of the days til 'true believer' came out in stores. i bought it and was immediately immersed in it. when i was down the shore this weekend, i never left my room, racing to satisfy my thirst of nicholas sparks' romance, but slowing myself just enough so i could enjoy it. 'true believer' has many turns and twists - and although some of sparks' books can be somewhat predictable- this one was different. i was extremely pleased.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Save your money.....I started skimming very early in this book,

Save your money.....I started skimming very early in this book, say about page 150....then I said a little prayer that it would get much better....it didn't. So predictable and the corny residents of that "quaint" town were awful.
Sparks failed in this endeav...
Save your money.....I started skimming very early in this book, say about page 150....then I said a little prayer that it would get much better....it didn't. So predictable and the corny residents of that "quaint" town were awful.
Sparks failed in this endeavor unless you like to be bored.

posted by 6068450 on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    hardcore nicky sparks fan

    i had a countdown of the days til 'true believer' came out in stores. i bought it and was immediately immersed in it. when i was down the shore this weekend, i never left my room, racing to satisfy my thirst of nicholas sparks' romance, but slowing myself just enough so i could enjoy it. 'true believer' has many turns and twists - and although some of sparks' books can be somewhat predictable- this one was different. i was extremely pleased.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Great book!

    True Believer
    True believer embarks on science journalist Jeremy marsh’s journey of attempting to demystify the unexplained. With Jeremy’s career at its peak, after previously disproving a fake television psychic on live television, he sets off to tackle yet another “explainable” supernatural phenomenon, or so he thought. When word of small town Boone Creek’s mysterious phenomena’s reached Jeremy’s ears he knew he had to research the strange glimmering lights being seen every foggy night in the local cemetery. So he heads off to begin his life changing journey of love and life in a small town.
    Jeremy’s first impression of the small town was far from his New Yorker atmosphere of which he previously departed from. Instead he gets complete small town hospitality by quickly being treated like the celebrity that would return the tourists to the forgotten town. After quickly learning all about what small town life was about at the local diner Herbs he set of to find a place to lay his head.
    After the mayor manages to employ Jeremy to stay at the Green Leaf Cottages, a local hotel, Jeremy finds himself with a deficiency of technology, heat, and not to mention the constant threatening sounds that haunt his nights. With the current culture shock at hand Jeremy still made due and began his research of the town.
    At the beginning of Jeremy’s research he finds himself at the local library in the hopes to kick start the process. At this time he notices Lexie Darnell, the librarian, realizing immediately that she was the girl he observed at his first visit to the cemetery previously that day. After speaking with her he soon finds out she’s the granddaughter of the local psychic Doris Marsh.
    Throughout the lackadaisical progression of his research, Jeremy becomes more aware of lexie. He begins to get to know her and begins to notice the person she is, even the cute way that she compelled him by how forward she was, unlike most city girls. This book quickly becomes yet another famous Nicholas Sparks romances, but with a twist.
    Throughout their relationship Jeremy learns of the presence of deputy hopper. Deputy hopper had long time had strong feelings for lexie, in which she played a part In keeping the fire going, but never saw it going anywhere. Jeremy quickly swoops in and they fall madly in love leaving deputy hoppers in the dust.
    Throughout their love affair Jeremy discovers how related lexie really is to the strange light occurrences. Lexie felt responsible for the mysterious light appearing because after her parents misfortunate accident the lights began to appear. Jeremy quickly discovers in order to keep the girl an keep his happiness, that he must put the matters of the heart first and science behind him, not to mention his previous life. In the end Jeremy discovers the Mayor's father revealed exactly what he thought. The reflection of an incoming train on the local factory, coupled with the extremely thick fog caused by the slow sinking of the soggy graveyard results in the lights appearing on the tombstones. Doris also knows there is a hoax, having her six sense that it was all misunderstood and not ghost’s after all. Jeremy decides to stay with lexie in Boone creek in the end they discover she’s pregnant with a baby girl. They end the book embracing her stomach together.
    Overall Nicholas Sparks’ #1 New York Times Best Seller, True Believer is a highly recommended book along with many other of his work such as, The Last Son

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Still enjoying

    I always love a nicholas sparks book, & he's done it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Omg

    Nicholas Sparks is AMAZING one day i WILL meet him!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    I love Nicholas Sparks!

    He is the best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Y

    Y would u hate itiloveit

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Loved it

    This was a great book...definately a must read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    True beliver

    Great Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    EXCELLENT

    What I thought was going to be one of Sparks less popular books ended up being fantastic! I had to read a few chapters before it got really interesting, but it was well worth my time. Excellent book and the follow up book, At First Sight, is excellent as well. Highly recommend this read and all of Spark's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Loved

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Great love story

    Sparkxsdoes itagain

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Awesome

    Another great book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    love it!

    love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    I love true bilevere

    I love the love a ghost story with no horror in this is one of his good ones

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    YES !!

    Wonderful story on finding true love when you least expect it and believing in miracles. Loved it ! ~ classic Nicholas Sparks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Will start reading soon

    A Walk To Remember was the first book i read by Nicholas Sparks. The 2nd was The Notebook. I feel in love with his style of writing. I've had this book for sometime now - i am looking forward to reading it. I look forward to reading more of his books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Great book...wonderful uplifting ending. A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Good read

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Emergency

    Hey guys download goodreads off the app store

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15