Customer Reviews for

True Believer (Make Lemonade Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    This book surprised me. I was not expecting it to retain my atte

    This book surprised me. I was not expecting it to retain my attention so easily. I knew that Virginia Wolff was an excellent author, but this particular story didn't outwardly appeal to me. Overall, I enjoyed the simplicity of the book, and the way it is separated into verses. It's easy on the eyes and makes for fast comprehension of the plot. Only once did I need to go back and re-read a character's dialogue to make sense of something farther in the book.
    Going along with the simplicity, it's amazing how much Wolff can say while using a minimal amount of words. That is the essence of a good writer--condensing without losing substance. Wolff doesn't waste words with details like most authors do nowadays. LaVaughn's life moves quickly but steadily. It never slows down, yet it never gets ahead of you.
    I can't personally relate to a lot of what happens to LaVaugn. I grew up just outside of Milwaukee, but not in it. The danger and harsh conditions LaVaughn faces are things I can't imagine. But it still feels real. Wolff doesn't dramatize or linger on any of those details. She simply reminds the reader what that city life is like.
    Overall, I definitely enjoyed this book and would recommend it to any young adult, and especially any teenager. No matter what your race, culture, or background, something in LaVaughn's life can relate to you. It's a quick, refreshing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    what a GREAT book!!

    Hey! i would love to share this book with you guys, you should totally read it!! It's a GREAT book! You will enjoy it, it's worth sharing! It REALLY is WORTH the price you pay!! No need to look for books and bore out of them, when you have this one to read, so what are you waiting for? Don't just sit there, go to a local book store near you and get the book!! Have a GREAT day!! Thanks (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    not something I would read again

    The book started off slow and dragged on. There were some interesting parts about teenage adolescence and young love but besides that there was nothing here to really capture me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    True Believer

    ¿When a little kid draws a picture It is all a big face And some arms stuck on it. That¿s their life.¿ LaVaughn is a fifteen year old girl growing up in a bad neighborhood. Schools have metal detectors and security guards and the sound of a gun is not unusual. That¿s how LaVaughn lost her father. Virginia Euwer Wolff¿s award winning True Believer the sequel to Make Lemonade is about LaVaughn¿s struggle with Life, Love, and Friendship. Her childhood best friend Jody moves back into town and LaVaughn cannot believe how gorgeous he is. Her friends Myrtle and Annie are becoming closer together and LaVaughn feels like a third wheel, it doesn¿t help that Annie doesn¿t like Jody at all. Her chemistry partner Patrick has a crush on LaVaughn but she doesn¿t like him back. Her mother is becoming closer to a new man. It feels like her whole life is falling apart. I recommend this book for young adults and teenagers. The meaning of this book is that even when bad things happen life will still go on even when it feels like it won¿t. LaVaughn learns this at the end of the book. If you like poetic novels you will love this book. Readers will want to read the final book in the trilogy Virginia Euwer Wolff is working on as soon as it comes out. ¿This is the way it has turned out. I feast my eyes on this amazing birthday And I think I can live with the way life is¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    Yea i guess you should....

    it was an ok book. It was extremely long. The feeling had me connected. It was an enjoyable book and i would recommend it but i wouldnt read this book again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    Awsome

    I loved it and want to read the third one keep up the good work wolf!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    What I Believe

    Wolff did a great job of portraying the struggles of a teen-aged girl, but race is not mentioned at all in this book. Knowing the race of the characters adds to the connection that the reader may have with him or her. Overall it was a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2007

    Very disappointing

    There was no mentoin of race, there was no feeling, it was dull and overall very poor. The storyline was somewhat typical and very LONG! The one thing I did like about it was that it left you hanging. Do not waste your time reading this book. PLEASE you'll save time and hopefully sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2006

    Never would have seen it coming!!

    Wow, I really enjoyed reading this book, altough I thought the style it was written in took away from the books beauty. I loved how it was sooo shocking to see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2005

    surprising book

    the novel True Believer by Virgina Euwer Wolff is a novel worth reading. It tells of a young girl, LaVaughn, and how she gets through life, when troubles and problems keep coming to her. This novel is full of surprises and keeps you wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    This book was unique, spontanious, and indulging.

    I loved this book the first time I read it, so much that I had to buy it. It's just...awesome. True Believer took my breathe away...big time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2005

    Extremley good book!!!

    I love this book! i read this before i read Make Lemonade. once i read make lemonade, true believer made much more sense. Even though i didn't really know what was going on, i still could not put the book down! it is such a fantastic book and i hope to read it again soon. this book i could read a thousand times and not get bored with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2005

    didn't like it much

    I didn't really like it too much at all but i did like that the author left you hanging on. There wasn't much feeling in it, nothing was to intense or blood rushing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    the best book

    This story makes me impressed because it seems it¿s written to me. La Vaughn¿s mother wants her learn in the high level because she wants to move to the better house. She doesn¿t want to live there anymore. It¿s similar to my life. My mother always says ¿you have to learn to get a good job and find something better in your life¿. I think La Vaughn is very clever because she can separate that something good or bad such as about the club of Myrtle and Annie. I impress that she can understand the life at the end. She can understand that she should live with the way life is. When she can do like this, she can live happily and maintain the relationship with her friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2004

    has me waiting for the third instalment

    I absolutly loved the book. I resived it at the age of 12, by a loved one who passed away shortly after giving it to me,along with make leomnade.Ever since reading both books, I've been anxiously awaiting the third one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    It is kind of good book.

    It is noticeable that there is parallelism in the story between Jolly and mom of La Vaughn. Both women must be double parent for their child/children. They have daughter(s). However, a difference is that Jolly is lucky in which she has Ricky who truly loves her, but La Vaughn¿s mom disappoints in Lester. I appreciate La Vaughn and her friends. Most of them has goal of life to reach. As a result, all of them have the same purpose which is trying to improve their life. Therefore, they must make their dreams to be true by paying attention to study. La Vaughn studies hard in order to go to collage and being a nurse, Jolly swims hard to get the scholarship, Pattrick studies hard to get high score in the city, and Arthille tries to be a doctor. All of these, the story can teach the readers not to give up, but try to achieve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    This is an admirable children novel that is worthy of praise and awards.

    This is an admirable children novel that is worthy of praise and awards. La Vaughn is a very interesting character. From the beginning to the end, her character develops. That makes this story exists. It can capture even in her grammar skill that she has been learning from Grammar Building. She has a strong mind. She also has a strong will to study in university level although her hope is shining dimly. Her point of view shows something interesting. Especially on chapter 50 (p. 157), she talks about the growing of a pink jellyfish. ¿This is a pink jellyfish, so beautiful, no human could make anything so filmy and graceful and alive, floating along in a hidden lake thousands of miles away from this ugly place¿ ¿ It means that no matter where you grow up in, you can be successful. Everything depends on you, how to deal with it successfully. Actually, I like every scene, but there is a scene that can relate to my experience even though it is not the main theme of this story. It is about education environment in school. The most necessity thing of children to grow up with is knowledge. Education is very important for children. This aspect can relate to a case of the burnt schools in three provinces in the Southern of Thailand as well. In that circumstance, how children can study? How many children will be successful in education? When you go to school you have to think of the security first. School is not like school anymore. It is so brutal and cruel. Virginia Euwer wolff¿s writing style is also fascinating and attractive. She writes like poem. That is her genius to create a wonderful writing so I give this novel five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    A book that you have to read.

    Virginai Euwer Wolff is very clever to make all characters being alive, especially La Vaughn. This character is very interesting that the writter makes her as a rounded character. She loves her friends and hates them also. She can act as a good child and can be a son who is her mom hate as never before. I'm impressed La Vaughn too much because we are quite the same; she acts like a scientific way. She likes to prove everything including the club of god, however, she does not want to prove the truth that Jody is a gay or not because she is afraid of the result. There are a lot of teachings that are very useful for not only children but also adults. One teaching that I learn from this book is that 'In the Great Depression when nobody had any money in all America, they had their childhood i that awful time. But it wasn't like this. You could walk the streets. People waved, said hello. Now they knock you down, rob you. The criminal element' said Aunt La Vaughn. It makes me realize that no matter where you are, no matter how rich you are, it doesn't matter than how good you are. I do fall in love with this book. I can enjoy it every time I want without borring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    Excellent!

    This book really tells how some friends fade and come back and then it leads to some shocks on crushes. It is down to Earth as some people call it but it was one of the best books I have ever read. I read it at my school library and wanted to buy it within an instant. Everyone should at least read this book before they follow ratings because we all have different tastes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2004

    1 word to describe this book: WOW!

    This book exceeded my expectations by a lot. The first book Make Lemonade was a bit of a dissapointment. This book captured the feelings of a teenage girl living in a bad life perfectly. Including how a girl has her first love and works to achieve in a harsh world with hard work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2