Customer Reviews for

True Believer (Make Lemonade Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    what a GREAT book!!

    Hey! i would love to share this book with you guys, you should totally read it!! It's a GREAT book! You will enjoy it, it's worth sharing! It REALLY is WORTH the price you pay!! No need to look for books and bore out of them, when you have this one to read, so what are you waiting for? Don't just sit there, go to a local book store near you and get the book!! Have a GREAT day!! Thanks (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    True Believer

    ¿When a little kid draws a picture It is all a big face And some arms stuck on it. That¿s their life.¿ LaVaughn is a fifteen year old girl growing up in a bad neighborhood. Schools have metal detectors and security guards and the sound of a gun is not unusual. That¿s how LaVaughn lost her father. Virginia Euwer Wolff¿s award winning True Believer the sequel to Make Lemonade is about LaVaughn¿s struggle with Life, Love, and Friendship. Her childhood best friend Jody moves back into town and LaVaughn cannot believe how gorgeous he is. Her friends Myrtle and Annie are becoming closer together and LaVaughn feels like a third wheel, it doesn¿t help that Annie doesn¿t like Jody at all. Her chemistry partner Patrick has a crush on LaVaughn but she doesn¿t like him back. Her mother is becoming closer to a new man. It feels like her whole life is falling apart. I recommend this book for young adults and teenagers. The meaning of this book is that even when bad things happen life will still go on even when it feels like it won¿t. LaVaughn learns this at the end of the book. If you like poetic novels you will love this book. Readers will want to read the final book in the trilogy Virginia Euwer Wolff is working on as soon as it comes out. ¿This is the way it has turned out. I feast my eyes on this amazing birthday And I think I can live with the way life is¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2006

    Never would have seen it coming!!

    Wow, I really enjoyed reading this book, altough I thought the style it was written in took away from the books beauty. I loved how it was sooo shocking to see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    This book was unique, spontanious, and indulging.

    I loved this book the first time I read it, so much that I had to buy it. It's just...awesome. True Believer took my breathe away...big time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2005

    Extremley good book!!!

    I love this book! i read this before i read Make Lemonade. once i read make lemonade, true believer made much more sense. Even though i didn't really know what was going on, i still could not put the book down! it is such a fantastic book and i hope to read it again soon. this book i could read a thousand times and not get bored with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    the best book

    This story makes me impressed because it seems it¿s written to me. La Vaughn¿s mother wants her learn in the high level because she wants to move to the better house. She doesn¿t want to live there anymore. It¿s similar to my life. My mother always says ¿you have to learn to get a good job and find something better in your life¿. I think La Vaughn is very clever because she can separate that something good or bad such as about the club of Myrtle and Annie. I impress that she can understand the life at the end. She can understand that she should live with the way life is. When she can do like this, she can live happily and maintain the relationship with her friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2004

    has me waiting for the third instalment

    I absolutly loved the book. I resived it at the age of 12, by a loved one who passed away shortly after giving it to me,along with make leomnade.Ever since reading both books, I've been anxiously awaiting the third one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    This is an admirable children novel that is worthy of praise and awards.

    This is an admirable children novel that is worthy of praise and awards. La Vaughn is a very interesting character. From the beginning to the end, her character develops. That makes this story exists. It can capture even in her grammar skill that she has been learning from Grammar Building. She has a strong mind. She also has a strong will to study in university level although her hope is shining dimly. Her point of view shows something interesting. Especially on chapter 50 (p. 157), she talks about the growing of a pink jellyfish. ¿This is a pink jellyfish, so beautiful, no human could make anything so filmy and graceful and alive, floating along in a hidden lake thousands of miles away from this ugly place¿ ¿ It means that no matter where you grow up in, you can be successful. Everything depends on you, how to deal with it successfully. Actually, I like every scene, but there is a scene that can relate to my experience even though it is not the main theme of this story. It is about education environment in school. The most necessity thing of children to grow up with is knowledge. Education is very important for children. This aspect can relate to a case of the burnt schools in three provinces in the Southern of Thailand as well. In that circumstance, how children can study? How many children will be successful in education? When you go to school you have to think of the security first. School is not like school anymore. It is so brutal and cruel. Virginia Euwer wolff¿s writing style is also fascinating and attractive. She writes like poem. That is her genius to create a wonderful writing so I give this novel five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    A book that you have to read.

    Virginai Euwer Wolff is very clever to make all characters being alive, especially La Vaughn. This character is very interesting that the writter makes her as a rounded character. She loves her friends and hates them also. She can act as a good child and can be a son who is her mom hate as never before. I'm impressed La Vaughn too much because we are quite the same; she acts like a scientific way. She likes to prove everything including the club of god, however, she does not want to prove the truth that Jody is a gay or not because she is afraid of the result. There are a lot of teachings that are very useful for not only children but also adults. One teaching that I learn from this book is that 'In the Great Depression when nobody had any money in all America, they had their childhood i that awful time. But it wasn't like this. You could walk the streets. People waved, said hello. Now they knock you down, rob you. The criminal element' said Aunt La Vaughn. It makes me realize that no matter where you are, no matter how rich you are, it doesn't matter than how good you are. I do fall in love with this book. I can enjoy it every time I want without borring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    Excellent!

    This book really tells how some friends fade and come back and then it leads to some shocks on crushes. It is down to Earth as some people call it but it was one of the best books I have ever read. I read it at my school library and wanted to buy it within an instant. Everyone should at least read this book before they follow ratings because we all have different tastes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2004

    1 word to describe this book: WOW!

    This book exceeded my expectations by a lot. The first book Make Lemonade was a bit of a dissapointment. This book captured the feelings of a teenage girl living in a bad life perfectly. Including how a girl has her first love and works to achieve in a harsh world with hard work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    The book any girl can relate to

    I read this book as a book report. I picked out randomly from a shelf of books, and little did I know that it would become my favorite book that I feel I can relate to. Any girl should be able to relate to LaVaughn very well. I thought it would be horrible, but I absoultly loved it to death!!!!!!! I have to read the first book, Make Lemonade, but I want to read all the books. It was a book that as a teen, I felt that I could well relate to LaVaughn's problems. Overall, this is the best book that I had ever read! I would reccomend this book for every woman/girl to read!!!!!!!! I love it soooo much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2003

    LEO's Review For True Believer

    This book is one of the best books I have ever read. What makes it so interesting is that it is about real life things going on in every teenager's life. That is how I got so interested in this book. I could relate my life to the book, as I am reading it, and feel as if it was really happening to me. I thought that the best part of the book was when Verna walked in on Jody kissing that other guy. That was a great moment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2003

    'On the edge of you're seat' good

    This book is very good and I recommend this to anyone. LaVaungh is such an insparation and strong woman but rather weak in romance. This is a very shocking story but she definitly prooves she is a 'True Believer'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2003

    read it

    i really like true believer it have la vagen who i like a lot . try find out hat she what like a lot of teen and have friends that are different from her i hope you read if like back of the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2003

    Great Book

    It is the best book I ever read.How she finds about Jody how her friends take a different path.Everything was great!It was about romance and more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2003

    true believer

    this book was amazing powerful and gripping.. LaVaughn is a character i think most girls can relate too.. definately one of the best books i've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    This is one of my favorite books

    This book brought me through a girl's life and how it was twisted and turned. Her life was all turned around but she was strong enough to pull through. She actually seems real. She wasn't perfect but she wasn't unrealistically messed up. I don't even like to read and I've read this twice. It's truly a captivating book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2002

    Amazing

    This book was amazing. Very suprising, easy to understan and follow, and also very educational. We Will Rise To The Occasion Which Is Life, printed on the back of the book is a very inspirational quote that I will remember always. I can`t wait to read the next in the make lemonade trilogy. I enjoyed this book so much that am am using it for my english assignment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2002

    Awesome

    I borrowed this book from a friend, and it was so good I returned it to her the next day! I really liked it because it was funny and a lot different from what I normally read. It was a great book and I plan on reading more books by Virginia Euwer Wolff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2