Customer Reviews for

True Blue

Average Rating 3.5
( 569 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(133)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(57)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Master of the Genre is Back!

Mason "Mace" Perry has been fighting for her mental and physical survival her entire life. She suffered through an emotionally stagnant mother and the devastation of her father's murder when she was 12 years old. Her older sister Beth provided a stellar role model and...
Mason "Mace" Perry has been fighting for her mental and physical survival her entire life. She suffered through an emotionally stagnant mother and the devastation of her father's murder when she was 12 years old. Her older sister Beth provided a stellar role model and her star catapulted her all the way to rise through the ranks to top cop in Washington, DC. Mace followed in her sister's footsteps and became a police officer as well. Beth provided stability and it gave Mace guidance but even this was not enough when the walls came down upon her and she fell so far from grace she found herself looking through the bars in prison.

Mace had been framed for a heinous crime she did not commit and after two years in prison she is now free and seeking retribution and reinstatement to the force two things that will most likely not happen but something she will fight for. Like rats in hiding those that set Mace up are going to be difficult to find even for a woman who not only defined her existence via the uniform and losing the badge took away everything. Beth is still taking care to watch over Mace and finds her gainful employment on the outside but before she can unpack her bag and get started Mace finds herself following Beth to a crime scene and getting involved in finding the killer against Beth's protests. There are a too few suspects but one great witness in Roy Kingman and he proves to be an invaluable resource for both sisters.

Roy is a fast-tracking lawyer who five years ago had been a great college player that didn't have the tools to take his career to the professional ranks. Becoming a lawyer had somehow made sense but did not define his soul - the chase on the court did and he will never forget being that close to having it all. But when he finds a co-worker and friend murdered in the officer refrigerator the last place he thought he would be is with a crazy woman chasing down leads and interrogating suspects. But Mace has him strapped behind her on the Ducati she treasures and Roy is literally playing the game of his life with thugs and trying to figure out what he has gotten himself into and stay alive and keep the one man he knows did not commit the crime from being convicted.

With too many people working against her Mace is fighting an uphill battle and one politically motivated woman is determined to take both sisters down in one fell swoop. Mace is not going to let that happen nor is she giving up on any of her goals no matter what sets itself in the path.

David Baldacci is the master of this genre and in this book he shows why. The twists and turns are enough to make you car sick but you can't stop reading long enough to lose your lunch you might miss something. The crime is heinous, the details intricate and every one of these characters is strong and stands up to every conceivable test of strength. You are kept guessing, assuming and concluding who the bad person is and when the facts are revealed you are still scratching your head wondering - did I just read that right? Perfection! This book is recommended highly to anyone with a desire to see who really runs this country.

Mary Gramlich ("The Reading Reviewer") www.marygramlich.com

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Buying this is "Cash for Clunkers"

Very disappointing -- I agree with another reviewer -- I paid for the hardcover so I was invested --- I too wanted it to be over. Characters that I could not care about and a silly plot. But that was not the worse the dialogue was simply terrible -- who was David Bald...
Very disappointing -- I agree with another reviewer -- I paid for the hardcover so I was invested --- I too wanted it to be over. Characters that I could not care about and a silly plot. But that was not the worse the dialogue was simply terrible -- who was David Baldacci's target audience for this terrible book? Just a waste of hard earned money. Unless you have the mind of a fourteen year old -- you will be disappointed. That's it for me Mr. Baldacci -- I'm out.

posted by MLV on November 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 572 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted November 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Buying this is "Cash for Clunkers"

    Very disappointing -- I agree with another reviewer -- I paid for the hardcover so I was invested --- I too wanted it to be over. Characters that I could not care about and a silly plot. But that was not the worse the dialogue was simply terrible -- who was David Baldacci's target audience for this terrible book? Just a waste of hard earned money. Unless you have the mind of a fourteen year old -- you will be disappointed. That's it for me Mr. Baldacci -- I'm out.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    Not as good as I thought it would be.

    The story starts out slowly as Mr. Baldacci introduces new characters. It then becomes interesting and while one can believe the premise of how the agencies entrusted with the security of the United States operate, it's hard to imagine this is reality. The story ends quickly in the last two chapters with the bad guys being exposed, however what happens to them may be reality, but it is hard to accept. A fair David Baldacci book, that might be ok as a paper back purchase, but at $25 it is not a good value.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    Disappointing at best

    Baldacci has been such a badas for the his last few novels, and I guess they were too good and successful that he decided to go completely away from his previous story lines. This book is about two women that with every turn of the page are set on proving they can compete in a man's world. The main character is laughable - an ex con/ex cop who rides around on a Ducati as a "rogue investigator". I have read every book that Baldacci has published, and I picked this up without even reading the plot summary. I will never do that with any of his books again. Plain and simple, for any true Baldacci fans, this book will leave you wondering what he was thinking... maybe his wife made him write it... dont waste your time.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Master of the Genre is Back!

    Mason "Mace" Perry has been fighting for her mental and physical survival her entire life. She suffered through an emotionally stagnant mother and the devastation of her father's murder when she was 12 years old. Her older sister Beth provided a stellar role model and her star catapulted her all the way to rise through the ranks to top cop in Washington, DC. Mace followed in her sister's footsteps and became a police officer as well. Beth provided stability and it gave Mace guidance but even this was not enough when the walls came down upon her and she fell so far from grace she found herself looking through the bars in prison.

    Mace had been framed for a heinous crime she did not commit and after two years in prison she is now free and seeking retribution and reinstatement to the force two things that will most likely not happen but something she will fight for. Like rats in hiding those that set Mace up are going to be difficult to find even for a woman who not only defined her existence via the uniform and losing the badge took away everything. Beth is still taking care to watch over Mace and finds her gainful employment on the outside but before she can unpack her bag and get started Mace finds herself following Beth to a crime scene and getting involved in finding the killer against Beth's protests. There are a too few suspects but one great witness in Roy Kingman and he proves to be an invaluable resource for both sisters.

    Roy is a fast-tracking lawyer who five years ago had been a great college player that didn't have the tools to take his career to the professional ranks. Becoming a lawyer had somehow made sense but did not define his soul - the chase on the court did and he will never forget being that close to having it all. But when he finds a co-worker and friend murdered in the officer refrigerator the last place he thought he would be is with a crazy woman chasing down leads and interrogating suspects. But Mace has him strapped behind her on the Ducati she treasures and Roy is literally playing the game of his life with thugs and trying to figure out what he has gotten himself into and stay alive and keep the one man he knows did not commit the crime from being convicted.

    With too many people working against her Mace is fighting an uphill battle and one politically motivated woman is determined to take both sisters down in one fell swoop. Mace is not going to let that happen nor is she giving up on any of her goals no matter what sets itself in the path.

    David Baldacci is the master of this genre and in this book he shows why. The twists and turns are enough to make you car sick but you can't stop reading long enough to lose your lunch you might miss something. The crime is heinous, the details intricate and every one of these characters is strong and stands up to every conceivable test of strength. You are kept guessing, assuming and concluding who the bad person is and when the facts are revealed you are still scratching your head wondering - did I just read that right? Perfection! This book is recommended highly to anyone with a desire to see who really runs this country.

    Mary Gramlich ("The Reading Reviewer") www.marygramlich.com

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    Not worth your time or money

    I received True Blue in abridged audiobook format as a gift. I normally would never buy an abridged audiobook (instead preferring the unabridged version).

    The abridgement provided a benefit since it allowed me to get through this horrible book more quickly. This is one of the worst books I've read (heard) in a long time. The writing is lazy, cliched, and the plot is entirely unbelievable. The dialogue is clearly written by someone who is not familiar with how people converse in real life. More than once I laughed out loud -- not at the content -- but at the silliness of the dialogue itself.

    I know that pop fiction isn't literature, but this book is sub-par -- even for the genre.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Fair

    Fair. Would love to see the Camel Club return.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    Trite

    Every plot cliche was in this book. Listening to it on audio books made it even worse. Don't waste your time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Great book, love the new characters.

    I really enjoyed this book. I love all the Baldacci books and this was just as good as the rest. Entirely new characters were the basis of this one and I hope that it becomes a series so I can follow the sisters. The story was original and kept me on the edge of my seat as I tried to determine who the villain was. I thought this was a great book! The plot with the guy in the mansion needs a little more development but I hope that their will be a next book and it will possibly build on that plot line.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Surprising Characters

    This book took me by surprise. I didn't expect to find a woman as the lead. The book held my interest, so much so that I finished it in two days. The plot was different, but also similar in that it involved national security issues.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Now I Remember Why I Love Baldacci's Books

    I Think Baldacci is back! I have read his last books Stone Cold, Divine Justice, The Whole Truth, but this book made me know why I am Baldacci fan. He has created exciting new characters in Mace and Roy. These two make an interesting team. The story in this book has just enough twists and turns to keep you engaged. It certainly made me forget about the two hard days I had a work this week. Thank you Mr. Baldacci for a great read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    action-packed investigative thriller

    Sisters Beth and Mace Perry have always had each other's back as kids and adults with both becoming cops. Temperamentally opposites they love each other, but their police careers go also in different directions. Beth has become police chief of Washington DC while Mace was kicked off the force spending two years in prison after being kidnapped and framed.

    Mace wants vindication affirmed only by regaining her badge. Beth at the risk of her career will do what she can to support her younger sister because she is perhaps the only person in blue who believes Mace's story. Attorney Roy Kingman is in the middle of a gigantic case involving the murder of a US Attorney and the rape-killing of another lawyer. He is attracted to feisty Mace who sees solving the spectacular case as redemption. With her sister's support and a need to work in the shadows as another US Attorney wants to return her to jail, Mace investigates only to find roadblocks from the affluent who prefer the case go cold.

    This is an action-packed fast-paced over the top of the Washington Monument investigative thriller that grips fans throughout as long as the reader ignores credibility. The sisters make the tale with their support of one another as they seek a killer and redemption for Mace. David Baldacci provides his fans with a very entertaining whodunit with hopefully more appearances from the TRUE BLUE blood siblings.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    Good Book

    The female characters are alpha-females so if you don't like women who are in touch with their "male-side", then this isn't for you. The characters are strong and strong-willed. The plot is written with an old detective style flair but it really does keep you on the edge of your seat. There were times I didn't put it down until I just absolutely had to. It has mystery and intrigue so if you like that type book, I highly recommend this read. I enjoyed it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Truly Disappointing

    Don't bother with this until it comes out in paperback and you are stranded in an airport with this as your only choice in English. As many other reviewers have said, nothing about this novel is up to usual Baldacci standards. It is plodding in plot and dialogue and the characters are shallow and annoying. Mr. Baldacci usually produces much better work and his readers deserve far better than this. I certainly will hesitate before buying his next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    Below expectaations

    Did not measure up to Baldachi best

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2009

    So-So

    This was not one of my favorite books. I have read all of his books before this one, but this did not make it for me. The ending was not good at all. Just not a very good book. I read a lot - usually a couple books a week. But this one just did not hold my interest, it took me a while to finish it. Sorry Mr. Baldacci.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointment!

    I am a real fan of Baldacci, but this book was disappointing! I felt like I was totally left hanging in the end. The only thing that will redeem this book will be if there are other books coming with Mace and Beth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    Not One of David Baldacci's Better Books

    True Blue starts off and gets your attention with the drama that Mace is experiencing in prison and the death of the Federal prosecutor by people that are somehow connected to the White House. From there it goes down hill and becomes a slow rambling story. The introduction of the social engineering sub-plot has no effect on the story except to bring in more characters, dialogue and words that slow the major story lines down and drag the story out. The use of an old Viet Nam vet as the prime murder suspect was shallow and did not contribute to strengthening either the lead characters ot the main plot. The bottom line is that this is not one of the author's better paices of work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Terrorists as bad guys again

    I liked the main characters and some of the dialogue in the story, but I was disappointed at the end. So many contemporary authors are using the "bad guy behind the bad guy is really a terrorist" device that it is becoming old news. Also the theme that the U.S. government is not lily-white is an old theme. All-in-all, I was disappointed in this novel, Mr. Baldacci.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Baldachi' poorest work

    The plot and writing style are almost childish. This book is a real good one to take a pass on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    TRUE BLUE by David Baldacci

    I have so enjoyed his previous books and order the next one coming because of it. HOWEVER, I found this book to be frustrating. Suspension of belief is a key when viewing and enjoying any of the arts and entertainments. But you just can't believe that the main character is that bull headed and makes such bad decisions that of course work out to her favor. It was a long book with the ending unfinished. The book could have been better with an ending that gave explanations to how Captain was tricked for his sperm, or why was Beth so concerned for her safety, or whatever happened to Chester. Not Baldacci's best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 572 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29