Customer Reviews for

True Blue

Average Rating 3.5
( 573 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(175)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(133)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Master of the Genre is Back!

Mason "Mace" Perry has been fighting for her mental and physical survival her entire life. She suffered through an emotionally stagnant mother and the devastation of her father's murder when she was 12 years old. Her older sister Beth provided a stellar role model and...
Mason "Mace" Perry has been fighting for her mental and physical survival her entire life. She suffered through an emotionally stagnant mother and the devastation of her father's murder when she was 12 years old. Her older sister Beth provided a stellar role model and her star catapulted her all the way to rise through the ranks to top cop in Washington, DC. Mace followed in her sister's footsteps and became a police officer as well. Beth provided stability and it gave Mace guidance but even this was not enough when the walls came down upon her and she fell so far from grace she found herself looking through the bars in prison.

Mace had been framed for a heinous crime she did not commit and after two years in prison she is now free and seeking retribution and reinstatement to the force two things that will most likely not happen but something she will fight for. Like rats in hiding those that set Mace up are going to be difficult to find even for a woman who not only defined her existence via the uniform and losing the badge took away everything. Beth is still taking care to watch over Mace and finds her gainful employment on the outside but before she can unpack her bag and get started Mace finds herself following Beth to a crime scene and getting involved in finding the killer against Beth's protests. There are a too few suspects but one great witness in Roy Kingman and he proves to be an invaluable resource for both sisters.

Roy is a fast-tracking lawyer who five years ago had been a great college player that didn't have the tools to take his career to the professional ranks. Becoming a lawyer had somehow made sense but did not define his soul - the chase on the court did and he will never forget being that close to having it all. But when he finds a co-worker and friend murdered in the officer refrigerator the last place he thought he would be is with a crazy woman chasing down leads and interrogating suspects. But Mace has him strapped behind her on the Ducati she treasures and Roy is literally playing the game of his life with thugs and trying to figure out what he has gotten himself into and stay alive and keep the one man he knows did not commit the crime from being convicted.

With too many people working against her Mace is fighting an uphill battle and one politically motivated woman is determined to take both sisters down in one fell swoop. Mace is not going to let that happen nor is she giving up on any of her goals no matter what sets itself in the path.

David Baldacci is the master of this genre and in this book he shows why. The twists and turns are enough to make you car sick but you can't stop reading long enough to lose your lunch you might miss something. The crime is heinous, the details intricate and every one of these characters is strong and stands up to every conceivable test of strength. You are kept guessing, assuming and concluding who the bad person is and when the facts are revealed you are still scratching your head wondering - did I just read that right? Perfection! This book is recommended highly to anyone with a desire to see who really runs this country.

Mary Gramlich ("The Reading Reviewer") www.marygramlich.com

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Buying this is "Cash for Clunkers"

Very disappointing -- I agree with another reviewer -- I paid for the hardcover so I was invested --- I too wanted it to be over. Characters that I could not care about and a silly plot. But that was not the worse the dialogue was simply terrible -- who was David Bald...
Very disappointing -- I agree with another reviewer -- I paid for the hardcover so I was invested --- I too wanted it to be over. Characters that I could not care about and a silly plot. But that was not the worse the dialogue was simply terrible -- who was David Baldacci's target audience for this terrible book? Just a waste of hard earned money. Unless you have the mind of a fourteen year old -- you will be disappointed. That's it for me Mr. Baldacci -- I'm out.

posted by MLV on November 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Surprising Characters

    This book took me by surprise. I didn't expect to find a woman as the lead. The book held my interest, so much so that I finished it in two days. The plot was different, but also similar in that it involved national security issues.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    action-packed investigative thriller

    Sisters Beth and Mace Perry have always had each other's back as kids and adults with both becoming cops. Temperamentally opposites they love each other, but their police careers go also in different directions. Beth has become police chief of Washington DC while Mace was kicked off the force spending two years in prison after being kidnapped and framed.

    Mace wants vindication affirmed only by regaining her badge. Beth at the risk of her career will do what she can to support her younger sister because she is perhaps the only person in blue who believes Mace's story. Attorney Roy Kingman is in the middle of a gigantic case involving the murder of a US Attorney and the rape-killing of another lawyer. He is attracted to feisty Mace who sees solving the spectacular case as redemption. With her sister's support and a need to work in the shadows as another US Attorney wants to return her to jail, Mace investigates only to find roadblocks from the affluent who prefer the case go cold.

    This is an action-packed fast-paced over the top of the Washington Monument investigative thriller that grips fans throughout as long as the reader ignores credibility. The sisters make the tale with their support of one another as they seek a killer and redemption for Mace. David Baldacci provides his fans with a very entertaining whodunit with hopefully more appearances from the TRUE BLUE blood siblings.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    Good Book

    The female characters are alpha-females so if you don't like women who are in touch with their "male-side", then this isn't for you. The characters are strong and strong-willed. The plot is written with an old detective style flair but it really does keep you on the edge of your seat. There were times I didn't put it down until I just absolutely had to. It has mystery and intrigue so if you like that type book, I highly recommend this read. I enjoyed it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Baldacci Is Back

    After the last two Baldacci books, I wasn't sure that I would read him again, but I enjoyed True Blue. There were many implausible moments, but they seem to be necessary, or at least accepted, in books where one individual is going to save the day. That individual here, a former cop named Mace, is the sister of the chief of police, and they work together in some fashion with a male lawyer to do good, but Mace is clearly the main character. She wants to be a cop again, and goes to any lengths to obtain her goal. Unfortunately, she often comes across as selfish, obnoxious, and a lawbreaker herself. Beth is much more mainstream, and her main nemesis is Mona Danforth, the sinister interim US Attorney. I liked her much more than Mace, as at least she is forthright about who she is. None of these strong women seem to have any sexual interest in men, which does not necessarily speak well of Baldacci's image of strong women. Can't they go together? But, the book will probably be followed with a sequel, and surely a softening of the image will occur.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2014

    Loved it

    David Baldacci writes the best books! I love them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Good quick read.

    I liked the book and story. It is just a good easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I enjoyed this book more and was surprised how much I liked the story line. This is the first time I have read this author. I have purchase again book from him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Another hit by Baldacc

    I still prefer the Camel Club series the best but overall haven't been disappointed by Baldacci yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Action Packed Thriller with Humor!

    A very good drama and thriller demonstrating the dark side of national security! Loved the characters –Mace Perry, kidnapped and drugged and spent two years in prison, losing everything including her badge. She is determined to solve the case and find her way back on the force. Her sister Beth is the police chief which cannot help her, while others have their own agenda to send Mace back to prison.

    Loved Roy Kingman-- a young lawyer (past college basketball player), who aids the poor and discovers a dead body (one of the law partners-Diane) at his firm in the refrigerator. In addition, at the beginning Jamie Malden is also killed and they need to find the connection. Roy and Mace begin their secret investigation to uncover these secrets of the national capital. Along with way came colorful characters (the Captain-homeless vet and his Twinkies, Razor, and more) which gave the story some humor and some romance as well. Again, listened via audio and the sound effects and narrator were both excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Another good one from Baldacci

    Entertaining and like able characters. I found myself rooting for them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good reading

    Baldacci was recommended to me by a friend a few years ago. I decided to try one of his novels after purchasing my Nook. This was the first Baldacci novel that I have ever read and I must say that I though it was well written. He did not introduce too many characters and the story line was easy to follow. The main character was not introduced immediately which is the first time that I have come across an introduction like that. I do believe that he should have had at least one detailed sex scene to go along with his attention holding writing. I am currently reading another Baldacci novel and it is keeping me interested. I would recommend this book for club discussion.
    -Javascript-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    A bit predictable - but a thriller nonetheless!

    I enjoyed this book more for the suspense and what-happens-next than for the characters or plot. Some parts were pretty predictable and even slightly unbelievable, though I found myself wanting to get to the end to see what ultimately happens. The plot got a little too complicated in some places, but Baldacci does a good job introducing and developing the characters and wrapping things up at the end. There'd better be a sequel or this one will leave you hanging!! (I will definitely read the sequel.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    Another Hit

    I am a big Baldacci fan and this book does not disapoint. Great story, great characters. Another winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Working just outside acceptable limits

    I'm a big fan of Baldacci's books and TRUE BLUE was no exception. Like the vast majority of his novels, TRUE BLUE involves politics, police, and of course, lawyers. Baldacci is a master at creating believeable scenarios and readers will quickly become involved with the characters in TRUE BLUE. Baldacci doesn't just write from his personal knowledge and experience; he does his homework and uses "resources;" peolple that live the life he writes about. He incorporates just enough plausable facts to make it easy to forget that you're reading fiction. TRUE BLUE has enough political scandal to make us grit out teeth, enough intrigue to keep our interest, and last but not least, just a bit of a love interest.

    I really like the fact that Baldacci doesn't follow the current trend of some writers that use co-authors to develop the story line. In TRUE BLUE, there is a purose for each character and each one fits appropriately into the story. TRUE BLUE was easy to read; kept my interest and the ending gives you a sense of satisfaction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    David Baldacci has created a strong woman cop and mystery to solve that keeps you reading till the final page.

    A strong believable character mixed with action and conflict that keeps the plot moving. Enjoyed some of Baldacci's earlier novels better but still recommend this one. If you like fast paced police thillers read some of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    I liked it, plan to share it with others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    good read

    I found it to be an interesting book, possibly not his best, but a fine book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A True Baldacci

    One of those books that you hate to put down. Each short chapter is like a cliff hanger. Characters are likeable, yet tough and strange. Although some of it was predictable, there were enough surprises to hold your interest. It's a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    Baldacci Fan

    I enjoyed True Blue. I have enjoyed all of Baldacci's books. While some have been better than others, they have all been entertaining. Of course, my favorite is still his first "Absolute Power".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Cop Thriller!!!

    True Blue by David Baldacci

    In his newest thriller comes David Baldacci at his heart-stopping best with Mason "Mace" Perry. Mace is a cop ho was kidnapped and framed for a crime she did not commit, spending two years in prison. Since her older sister, Beth, is the Washington DC Police Chief behind her, Mace has to solve a new case on her own to prove her innocence and become a "True Blue" once more.

    When attorney Roy Kingman enters into Mace's life, the two join forces to solve two high ranking attorneys murders. They both find more than they bargain for when they mess with street gangs in DC and when they dig deep for evidence on the murders, they find that there might be terrorism involved and that the security of our country is at stake. When the two get too close to the answers, their lives are at stake. To help free an innocent VietNam Veteran from a conviction, Roy and Mace must fight some ruthless killers who will stop at nothing to kill them.

    Forever Friends Rating 4 Stars by Teri
    Until Next Time, See You Around The Book Nook

    Grand Central Publishing
    Date Published: Oct 2009
    ISBN: 978-0-446-19551-5
    456pp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8