Customer Reviews for

True Blue

Average Rating 3.5
( 571 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(175)

4 Star

(141)

3 Star

(133)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(57)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Master of the Genre is Back!

Mason "Mace" Perry has been fighting for her mental and physical survival her entire life. She suffered through an emotionally stagnant mother and the devastation of her father's murder when she was 12 years old. Her older sister Beth provided a stellar role model and...
Mason "Mace" Perry has been fighting for her mental and physical survival her entire life. She suffered through an emotionally stagnant mother and the devastation of her father's murder when she was 12 years old. Her older sister Beth provided a stellar role model and her star catapulted her all the way to rise through the ranks to top cop in Washington, DC. Mace followed in her sister's footsteps and became a police officer as well. Beth provided stability and it gave Mace guidance but even this was not enough when the walls came down upon her and she fell so far from grace she found herself looking through the bars in prison.

Mace had been framed for a heinous crime she did not commit and after two years in prison she is now free and seeking retribution and reinstatement to the force two things that will most likely not happen but something she will fight for. Like rats in hiding those that set Mace up are going to be difficult to find even for a woman who not only defined her existence via the uniform and losing the badge took away everything. Beth is still taking care to watch over Mace and finds her gainful employment on the outside but before she can unpack her bag and get started Mace finds herself following Beth to a crime scene and getting involved in finding the killer against Beth's protests. There are a too few suspects but one great witness in Roy Kingman and he proves to be an invaluable resource for both sisters.

Roy is a fast-tracking lawyer who five years ago had been a great college player that didn't have the tools to take his career to the professional ranks. Becoming a lawyer had somehow made sense but did not define his soul - the chase on the court did and he will never forget being that close to having it all. But when he finds a co-worker and friend murdered in the officer refrigerator the last place he thought he would be is with a crazy woman chasing down leads and interrogating suspects. But Mace has him strapped behind her on the Ducati she treasures and Roy is literally playing the game of his life with thugs and trying to figure out what he has gotten himself into and stay alive and keep the one man he knows did not commit the crime from being convicted.

With too many people working against her Mace is fighting an uphill battle and one politically motivated woman is determined to take both sisters down in one fell swoop. Mace is not going to let that happen nor is she giving up on any of her goals no matter what sets itself in the path.

David Baldacci is the master of this genre and in this book he shows why. The twists and turns are enough to make you car sick but you can't stop reading long enough to lose your lunch you might miss something. The crime is heinous, the details intricate and every one of these characters is strong and stands up to every conceivable test of strength. You are kept guessing, assuming and concluding who the bad person is and when the facts are revealed you are still scratching your head wondering - did I just read that right? Perfection! This book is recommended highly to anyone with a desire to see who really runs this country.

Mary Gramlich ("The Reading Reviewer") www.marygramlich.com

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Buying this is "Cash for Clunkers"

Very disappointing -- I agree with another reviewer -- I paid for the hardcover so I was invested --- I too wanted it to be over. Characters that I could not care about and a silly plot. But that was not the worse the dialogue was simply terrible -- who was David Bald...
Very disappointing -- I agree with another reviewer -- I paid for the hardcover so I was invested --- I too wanted it to be over. Characters that I could not care about and a silly plot. But that was not the worse the dialogue was simply terrible -- who was David Baldacci's target audience for this terrible book? Just a waste of hard earned money. Unless you have the mind of a fourteen year old -- you will be disappointed. That's it for me Mr. Baldacci -- I'm out.

posted by MLV on November 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Excellent Baldacci

    Right now Baldacci is my favorite author. He keeps you guessing, while still giving you some idea where the book is going. His character's are real, in that the things they do and the way they react in the book is very much how you would expect real people to act.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy Reading

    This book was an easy reading book and entertaining. It kept the reader on the edge trying to figure out where it is going ahead of itself. A great escape book when your daily llife is hitting a swing. But is seems that this book was written just because the publisher wanted a book. Not really one of his best. Still, I cuold not put it down once I picked it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Another good Baldacci read

    I liked the characters in this book and suspect they will turn up in a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    First Time I've Given Baldacci less than Five Stars

    This was a very good read and for some other authors I would've been very impressed with the effort. For David Balcacci this was not his best effort. He is one of the best, if not the best, authors in this genre and he didn't come to the level of some of his previous books. The characters were not as strong as the cast in the Oliver Stone series. It comes nowhere near some of his great books - Absolute Power being one that comes to mind. I would still highly recommend it although it is not what readers have come to expect from this author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great read by David Baldacci!

    David Baldacci's True Blue takes us down a different path from where we normally go. The opening chapters set the stage for the interesting story to follow. The main characters of this book were described in a way that enabled me as the reader to identify and appreciate their situations and circumstances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must for any David Baldacci Fan

    This books plot and characters are typical Baldacci, and that's a good thing. If you live in the Washington DC area, it's an added bonus. If you think Kathy Lanier is a good police chief (I do) you'll enjoy it even more. Baldacci always rewards the reader with clear, crisp and focussed writing. The plotline moves well to its conclusion giving me that sense of satisfaction I always get reading his works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An entertaining listen

    I had read many of David Baldacci's early novels but kind of got away from him for a bit. I rediscovered him reading Divine Justice and listening to First Family.

    I chose to listen to True Blue.

    Mace Perry was a cop's cop on the DC force. Until she was kidnapped and forced to participate in robberies. She went down for two years. Newly released from prison, she returns to DC, determined to clear her name. Her sister Beth is the chief of police. In her first few days out, she becomes involved with a young lawyer, Roy, who discovers a female attorney's body at his office. Mace can't help herself - she was born to be a cop. She dives in, working outside the law with Roy to solve the case. She hopes it will get her reinstated. Others are hoping she fails and are willing to make sure that happens.

    A mystery, legal and action thriller all rolled into one with lots of action. Yes, the characters of Mace and her sister Beth are a little over the top, but if you're looking for an entertaining read or listen, this is a good bet.

    I was thrilled that Ron McLarty was the reader again. His voice is slightly gravelly and rich. He easily portrays the female Mace character and male roles with enough difference that you know who is 'talking'. His inflection is excellent and his voice effortlessly describes action and emotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    Good Baldacci but a downer ending.

    Good until the end, which is a downer and looks like he is setting us up for more with the same character with the same problem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Definitely worth reading!

    First of all this book made me now go read David Baldacci's other books. I looked them up on his web site and saw he was offering a "distance book signing" for those not in the Va. area.
    I filled out the information on-line & received in the mail a signed bookplate & a list of his books. A VERY nice thing for him to do! THANK YOU!
    I do like thrillers, adventure but dislike too much horror/scariness in my escapism books. This was a well written book that left me wanting more about the main character. I will not comment on any of the plot because I really dislike getting ym reading spoiled by knowing in advance what will happen.
    You are not wasting your money on this book!!!
    Bernadette

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    How far will Mace Perry go to clear her name and win back her badge?

    Mason "Mace" Perry had been an outstanding cop in Washington D.C. - until her public arrest for armed robbery and drug use. Mace knows that she was kidnapped and framed for the crime, but she's lost her badge, her apartment, the life that she knew. Two years have passed and Mace has been released from prison. Now Mace's one goal is to clear her name and win back her badge. It helps that her sister, Police Chief Beth Perry, believes in her and will not be deterred from hunting down the truth of what had happened two years ago. Mace tries to recreate what had happened and to solve the mystery of who had set her up and why.

    Mace accompanies Beth Perry at the her latest crime scene at a lucrative corporate law firm where a partner was discovered dead. Mace connects with Roy Kingman, the associate who discovered the body, and somehow Mace enlists Roy's aid in investigating the death and uncovering secrets. The routine homicide soon proves to be part of a complex crime. While Beth, Mace, and Roy must work together, Mace curb her reactions and instincts and learn to play by the rules.

    The Perry sisters face an additional danger. U.S. attorney Mona Danforth is dead set against the Perry sisters. Danforth had sent Mace to jail the first time and is looking forward to sending Mace back to jail - and removing Beth from office.

    Review:
    Fast-paced, action packed, and full of plot twists, True Blue is a fun escape. Beth and Mace Perry are strong woman lead characters - which makes the book even more enjoyable. The relationship between the sisters gives True Blue an additional layer of complexity. True Blue was my first exposure to David Baldacci's writing and I am looking forward to the next Baldacci novel!

    Publisher: Grand Central Publishing; First Edition edition (October 27, 2009), 464 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read!!

    David Baldacci is a wicked story teller. "True Blue" is no exception. It has intrigue, mystery and a good story. I could not put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not the best, but still a good read

    David Baldacci has become one of my favorite Autors. This book is a stand alone having no characters or story lines from his previous books. I was a little disapointed in the carry over of Michelle Maxwell character type. The ending lacked creativity. The plot was over the top. Maybe in D.C. this type of story could happen, but for us in fly-over country, it is far fetched. One theme that does come out of it for me is the bond that families share in the midst of life happening. On those cold evenings when sleep will not present itself, the worries of the day keep running throughout your head and home, when in need of a pleasant story that you know will end well, pick up True Blue and at least make the time more endurable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    True Blue

    This was a good book. Quick and easy read. The plot could be realistic, but it is a little unbelievable in how much trouble Mace was able to get into, and always got away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8