Customer Reviews for

True Colors

Average Rating 4
( 943 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(498)

4 Star

(245)

3 Star

(102)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

Kristin Hannah has another hit!

In this intensely emotional story Ms. Hannah gives us everything lovers of great literature crave, a timeless story, a great cast of characters and for you true romantics out there, everything you get out of bed in the morning for. This novel has all the bells and whist...
In this intensely emotional story Ms. Hannah gives us everything lovers of great literature crave, a timeless story, a great cast of characters and for you true romantics out there, everything you get out of bed in the morning for. This novel has all the bells and whistles, a family in turmoil, a love story worthy of a full box of tissues and some of the most memorable characters I've ever had the pleasure reading about.
I predict a number one on the bestseller list!

posted by dhaupt on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I bought this book after reading Firefly Lane - I loved that book and I wish I could say the same for this one. I only got about half way through this book. The character development was very surface and stereotypical - overweight smart girl versus beautiful cheerlead...
I bought this book after reading Firefly Lane - I loved that book and I wish I could say the same for this one. I only got about half way through this book. The character development was very surface and stereotypical - overweight smart girl versus beautiful cheerleader type, good looking jock type falls for cheerleader type, overweight sister jealous. There wasn't much depth to the book and it seemed like the writing was rushed.

posted by 3718698 on June 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 947 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kristin Hannah has another hit!

    In this intensely emotional story Ms. Hannah gives us everything lovers of great literature crave, a timeless story, a great cast of characters and for you true romantics out there, everything you get out of bed in the morning for. This novel has all the bells and whistles, a family in turmoil, a love story worthy of a full box of tissues and some of the most memorable characters I've ever had the pleasure reading about.<BR/>I predict a number one on the bestseller list!

    59 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I thought this book was great, it was hard to put down. I was able to finish it in only 3 days.

    55 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    True Colors....One of my best reads ever!

    A friend of my gave a copy of the book to read. I was unfamiliar with the author and it is not the sort of book I usually read. But since she highly recommended it I push it to the front of the stacks of books that I have waiting to be read. OMG! I couldn't put the book down, it was great! I suggested the book to my book club. It was almost unanimous! My fellow readers felt the same way I had. In fact three of us went out and bought "Firefly Lane" and two pickup "On Mystic Lake", also written by Kristin Hannah. The love and devotion between the characters was amazing!

    36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    True colors

    Awesome. A great weekend read with great plot & characters.

    25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wow...

    This book came to me by accident from a book club because I didn't send back the form in time to refuse the selection. I called to have my money reimbursed and to return it, and decided to check it out before I went through the hassle. After the first few pages I was absolutely hooked. The ending will leave you in a puddle of tears, and looking for more of Kristin Hannah. This is one of the best books I have read in a while.

    24 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ONE MOST EVERYONE CAN RELATE TO!

    The age old dilemma...fighting for parental approval, that in some families never comes but others significant moments can change your life. This is a beautiful ,moving family struggle, triumphs, tears, heart ache and love. I highly reccomend!....Others I LOVED...EXPLOSION IN PARIS, FIREFLY LANE, PERFECT.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    Disappointed

    I bought this book after reading Firefly Lane - I loved that book and I wish I could say the same for this one. I only got about half way through this book. The character development was very surface and stereotypical - overweight smart girl versus beautiful cheerleader type, good looking jock type falls for cheerleader type, overweight sister jealous. There wasn't much depth to the book and it seemed like the writing was rushed.

    15 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    Disappointing

    I am not a fan of this book, I felt like I was a reading Danielle Steele novel, which I don't do anymore, or watching a made for TV movie. The plot was very predictable and the characters had little to no depth. I found myself rolling my eyes at some of the dialog. There were also lots of grammatical errors throughout this book which I found irritating. This was the second Kirsten Hannah book I have read, I loved Fire Fly Lane so I was expecting to love True Colors, but now I am thinking she is part of the harlequin genre which I don't care for.

    13 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it !

    Kristin Hannah didn't fail at all. I loved her first book, and this one was just as riveting and enjoyable. I laughed, I cried, I hated to see it end, as much as I wanted to see how it ended.

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    GOOD READ!

    I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK! IN THE MIDDLE IT DRAGGED A BIT BUT OVERALL IT WAS A REALLY GOOD BOOK!!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Boring

    Boring...just plain old boring, couldn't wait for it to end..

    7 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you have a sister or sisters, ladies you will recognize these feelings

    The author, Kristin, took little time to grab your interest when writing this book. Right from the beginning, the story pulled you into the family, and into the various scenerios that took place. Kristin was able to put depth in every one of her characters....the mind pictures she created from their appearance to their facial expressions and reactions was amazing. A good summer read...and I will look at the other books she has writen to continue enjoying her writing style and completeness of each character.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Kristin Hannah brought all the character to life in "True Colors". The bond and traditions that held this family of sisters together was remarkably captured by Hannah to the point where you felt like you were right there with them.

    My sisters and I decided to start a book club, just the three of us. I was the first to choose a book and I decided on "True Colors" by Kristin Hannah. The three sisters Winona, Aurora and Vivi Ann are perfectly brought to life in this wonderfully written story about how a family is changed by the loss of a parent and how the sisters bond together to fill that void. Their father is not a loving man and cares more for the family reputation than his daughters feelings. The sisters, like most families, are the glue that keeps the family together. They continue all the family traditions no matter how difficult and do everything to win the approval of their father, until a stranger enters the picture then everything is turned upside down. We all gave this a great review and had a wonderful time discussing the characters and the story. The first book in our book club was a hit!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Cliche-Ridden, but not the worst book ever

    She could have cut about 100 pages and been just fine. Nothing amazing here, but a solidly common story type with the requisite ending. Probably wouldn't recomend it to a friend.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very true coloring

    Some have described this story as "chick-lit" but, in my opinion, it couldn't be further from that genre. It's not an easy story with simple, likable characters. You'll go back and forth about these sisters throughout the book, which I think is the strength of the writing. The beginning is sketchy about all of the characters but they become more vivid as the story unfolds. There's tragedy, resilience, romance and heartbreak but through it all, I felt like the characters were responding realistically to their personalities.

    I didn't always like the direction of the story but it felt authenticate. This isn't a feel-good romance but it is an intriguing story. I've never read anything by this author so I had no expectations. I highly recommend this book if you're looking for a well-written story with interesting, likable and flawed people.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    Amazing Book

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading the novel True Colors by Kristin Hannah. The plot had a lot going on and always kept me interested. There plot contained many different elements; romance, humor, family and self-realization. I felt that the main characters really grow and mature throughout the story. This is a very good read and I would reccommend it to anyone.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I really liked True colors-I read Firefly Lane just before this one and both are excellent stories.

    Kristin Hannah is very descriptive in her storytelling. You can imagine the settings and the feelings as if you were there. I read Firefly Lane just before True Colors and could not put it down. True Colors was very well written and the description of settings and characters was fabulous.
    I love Kristin Hannah's style because she puts you in the story with the characters. True Colors was original and especially interesting because she has a very true picture of how sisters talk to each other and how they feel about each other. She depicted a very close knit family with all the real things that can take place and be felt between family members.

    I would recommend this book and any Kristin Hannah books to anyone who wants a real story from start to finish from a very accomplished author.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    the most amazing book i've ever read...

    I just finished this book and words can not even describe how amazing it was. I could not put it down, i sat reading for hours...the writing is phenomenal, the characters are so believable and the emotion in it is amazing. I recommend this book for everyone. I think this is my new favorite book of all time...im not even kidding. Kristin Hannah did an outstanding job with this one. Its an extremely touching story that will stay in your hearts forever. I know I will be reading much more by her...
    (I also added 3 other books that are my favorites...two by Janet Fitch and another by Kristin Hannah)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love conquers all!

    I arrived at the first page of "True Colors" directly from Hannah's previous novel..."Firefly Lane". This gal can really spin a yarn! Through her three main characters...three apparently distinctly different sisters...she manages to tackle modern day social issues that are often on the pages of many a media magazine...giving the reader insight into the struggles involved in day-to-day survival of these complex characters...while emphasizing the importance of familial...as well as romantic...love and loyalty.

    An easy...thoroughly enjoyable...read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Kristin Hannah Does It Again!

    What a fabulous story.

    Kristen Hannah tells a wonderful story about 3 sisters that made me wish I had some of my own.

    I couldn't put this book down, and loved every second of it.

    Ms Hannah is a very giften writer, and I almost feel honored to be able to read her works.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 947 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48