Customer Reviews for

True Compass: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 358 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

An inspirational memoir...

I have always been interested and inspired by the Kennedy family. I was so looking forward to this memoir that I started reading it the day it came out and am now finished. This autobiography is a splendid read. The family stories are truly fascinating, and he wasn't af...
I have always been interested and inspired by the Kennedy family. I was so looking forward to this memoir that I started reading it the day it came out and am now finished. This autobiography is a splendid read. The family stories are truly fascinating, and he wasn't afraid to reveal his own tragic errors. This would be a great book for an adolescent, as it really shows how a young person can overcome problems and succeed. Ted Kennedy lived through so much tragedy and heartbreak. It is how he reacted and endured through these tough times that shows his true character. Those who disagreed with his political positions will likely trash this book. This book is not for them: it's for those who want to know a little bit more about the Kennedys, and a lot more about their youngest son. I'm already knee deep in another book that I recommend wholeheartedly--EMOTIONAL INTELLIGENCE 2.0--I'm learning so much from it!

posted by Sebastian_Booker on September 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

Whitewash

This man spent a lifetime in pursuit of the most extreme liberal causes and did much to destroy our Republic. This book is a whitewash of this Radical, Socialist icon. Don't waste your money

posted by AClarion on December 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 358 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Read

    I didn't know what to expect when I bought this book. I was pleasantly surprised to read so much detail about the early years. There has been so much written about the accident, the assassinations, but not much from the childhood years. I enjoyed his reflection on growing up the younger brother of Jack and Bobby. His memories of the time spent with them as a child and what they taught him was insightful. Equally interesting was his recollections of time spent with his grandfather and his father. I think if you are looking for a more personal story of Ted and his family you would enjoy this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Go Ted!

    I enjoyed reading Teddy Kennedy's autobiography very much. As an Australian, I have often found the US political system rather perplexing. But I have always noted the main players, and Teddy gives an account of the contemporary ones that most of my generation have live with (60's baby): Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Clinton, The Bushes, and now Obama. His insight into the Vietnam War is of great interest, but of greater effect is his telling of family. I wanted to read what Teddy thought of the assassinations of his brothers, and how he and his family dealt with the tragedy. His and his family's unwavering faith in the light of such terrible events is inspiring. Also, it was of great interest to read Teddy's account of Chappaquiddich (spelling?) No matter his sins, after reading his testimony you can't help but want to accept Teddy as a man who meant well and a man who tried very hard to improve the health and education services in his country. I highly recommend my friend Teddy's autobiography.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    A great window into history in the making

    Written for anyone to read and know that the events are verifiable. A wonderful insight into the dynamics of the Kennedy family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    If you liked Teddy Kennedy

    This book is a great read. If you admired Teddy Kennedy, you will love his autobiography. This book is very well-written, for an average reader. There are many things that he writes about that I did not know about him. I am a life-long Republican, but he crossed both sides of teh aisle.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    Great book!!!

    This was a page turning story of a great man. One of battles won and battles lost. A very inspiring book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Inside Insight

    This is a very touching portrait of Ted Kennedy's love for his family. In the interest of full disclosure let me say that, despite his personal failings (which we all have), I greatly admired Teddy, and in fact, the whole Kennedy family. No other family has given as much to this country. This book is an interesting look into the personal lives of the original Kennedy family from the point of view of the baby brother, as well as a record of Sen. Kennedy's Senate battles on behalf of the poor and voiceless. The only thing I would question is his assertion that not only he but also Bobby accepted the Warren Commission's report on the assasination of President Kennedy as valid. That contradicts every other book I have read lately on the subject. However, that aside, this is simply a great read about the most fascinating family in modern American political history.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    True Compass--helpful in finding direction in one's life even when there is disappointment and adverse affects along that journey.

    Easy read and good insight to his life and family. Personally inspiring to me.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Drowning in excuses

    Self-serving to a ludicrous degree! :(

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    True Compass: A Memoir by Ted Kennedy

    I thoroughly enjoyed the book by Ted Kennedy. It gave me insight into the makeup of the man whom I thought I knew a lot about, already. His early chldhood was particularly interesting as he strived for recognition within his own family. Hie educational experiences bordered on child abuse and neglect which astounded me.

    When he was able to find the love of his life with Vickie, he became the man I had hoped to see for a very long time. He truly found his "Compass."

    Even if one is not a Ted Kennedy fan, one should find this book enlightening. It gives one a better idea about "birth order" and its impact on the siblings in a very large family. The book provides a wide range of topics to be discussed in a "Book Club" setting.

    Makes a great gift.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    great present

    I bought this for my husband who isan avid reader. I purchased this in the larger print for him which I was very happy about. If you are looking for a book for someone who enjoys history, this is a definitepurchase. Arrived QUICKLY which is always great.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Edward Kennedy a surprising read.

    I was surprised how interesting and informative this book was. I wasn't always a fan of Mr Kennedy's but after reading his book I got to understand and admire him.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    Wonderful Read

    A truly inspiring book. Ted Kennedy was a great American. I was amazed to learn how close they were as a family, and especially the depth to which the remaining three sons leaned on each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME read!!!!

    This book is a walk through history through the eyes of Ted Kennedy. Senator Kennedy gives a thoughtful and honest narrative through the history of his family and the American family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    A Must Read!

    I highly recommend this memoir. I normally read only fiction and am a big fan of the Kennedy's and their contributions to our country and was excited to read this book. From the opening line until the end it was captivating, interesting, and gave real insight into the Kennedy family and their devotion to politics and their dedicaion to family first. Also, the choice of narrator for the audiobook was right on and kept the listener engaged. Finished it in 3 days and can't stop thinking about it and really enjoyed the history lesson and what goes on in the world of politics. Don't miss out on this inspiring book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Absorbing & well written.

    I would recommend this autobiography to anyone with an open mind regarding American politics. Even with all his human foibles this was a great man.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    GREAT BOOK!

    This book is an interesting view of the Kennedy family, but is so much more with a valuable review of history. There is also an interesting insight of the personality dynamics of several of the President and the Kennedys. Don't know when I have enjoyed a memoir as much!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Excellent read even if you're a Republican!

    The balance of personal and professional stories was excellent.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Read the whole book in three days.

    Great book......his parting gift to us from a man who already gave so much.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Read

    Senator Kennedy's "True Compass" is an excellent book, so much so that I found myself not wanting to put it down. In fact, I found myself wanting to know more about the inner workings of the Senate from his point of view. I always find it interesting to read about the behind the scenes workings of the U.S. Government, especially when I read about these workings from someone other than the media. Upon completion of this excellent book I held it close to my chest, wishing that Senator Kennedy were still alive.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    Great open door

    This book brings forth the life of an individual born to privilege but also shows that responsibility was a main part of the family life as well as serving their fellow man.

    Feel anyone interested in the Kennedys will not only enjoy this book but find an insight into the family.

    Would recommend to everyone as you give a better understanding of politics as well as a family wherein everyone is expected to be a part of society and to contribute.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 358 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18