Customer Reviews for

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle

Average Rating 4.5
( 246 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 246 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    Amazing

    I read this book for my Reading Olympics, and I loved it! I was really sad when Charlotte went home to her parents, it was just so different from the ship. But the end made me very pleased! Read this book, you won't regret it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Timeless!

    I first read "Charlotte Doyle" when I was ten. I still pick it up for a blissful afternoon of adventure on the high seas when I'm tired of applying to colleges! I think every girl who reads this book will identify with Avi's multifaceted heroine, Charlotte. She's quick, she's witty, and she's sure of herself! This is one of Avi's best books, by far. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    Truely Great!

    I loved this book because it had a lot of suspense. I read this book when I was in sixth grade because I didn't have any other choice, but if I knew it was this good, I would of chose to read it on my own. This book had amazing twists and turns on every chapter and I loved it. It kept you on the edge of your seat (or just possibly on the floor!) with your mouth hanging dead open! This book was incredible! You really should buy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Great Book!

    One of my favortie teachers read this story to my class back when I was in 5th grade and I loved the story. I recently read the story to my daughter and she loves it just as much as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    read it!!!

    this is 1 of the best books ever! it should be made into a movie!!!!! i swear u'll luv it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    One of my favorite childhood reads. Though I had forgotten the title but recalled what the cover looked like. This one was a really good read. Reminds me of the Bloody Jack book series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Remembered a bit of this and that cover too. One of my favorite

    Remembered a bit of this and that cover too. One of my favorite childhood reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    fantastic!

    Introduction: In the story, The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, Charlotte is sent to America to live with her family. Her father is the owner of the company that owns the Seahawk. On June 16, 1832, a young woman by the name of Charlotte Doyle steps on board the Seahawk for what will be the most life changing event of the young woman’s life.

    Description and summary of main points: While on board the month long voyage, Charlotte encounters twelve angrily working men and a captain that takes no non sense. Charlotte is found guilty for the murder of two crewmen threw a non fair trial. When Charlotte reaches America, she intends to expose Jaggery for his true self.

    Evaluation: After reading The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, the reader might feel lucky to be in the life they do have. Charlotte is just a young girl forced to take a journey with a crew of old, dirty men. The reader should receive the lesson to be happy with what you have, and I understood that.

    Conclusion: At the end of the story, the Seahawk finally reaches America. Charlotte wants to tell police and her father about the murderer and psychopath of the captain. She remembers what jaggery said about saying anything. The captain is in full control of the ship. He or she may do any actions he or she did or intends on doing. Once she reaches her home, she realizes she does not want to live the fancy life every wishes they had. At sun set, right after Charlotte is put to sleep, she sneaked out her window and went back to the Seahawk where she truly belonged

    Your final review: The story The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle is a very heart pounding, adrenaline pumping, fun story. The main character, Charlotte Doyle, is sent to live with her family in America. When she reaches the ship, she realizes the family she intended to travel with to America did not show up. She is forced to go on her own. On board the Seahawk, Captain Jaggery is kind and willing to take Charlotte under her wing and protect her from the vicious crewmen. The Captain takes control of Charlotte to receive information of the crew’s actions. She then turns against Jaggery and starts a rivalry she does not wish to participate in. Jaggery is spiteful of Charlotte actions. When there is a massive ocean storm, two crewmen are killed, and Jaggery blames Charlotte for the deaths.When the ship reaches America , Charlotte is not hesitant to exit the ship. When she arrives home, she realizes she wants to live her life on the ship. During the night she runs away from home, boards the Seahawk, and is never to return again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    good book

    cant wait for the movie.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    You must read!

    Not Every Thirteen year old girl is accused of murder, brought to trial, and found guilty. But I was such a girl, and my story is worth relating even if it did happen years ago. .

    This book, The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, Is a wonderful adventure with scandal and two faced stow a ways hiding from the real truth of who's who on Captain Jaggery's ship. But soon the scandal turns and Charlotte has to deal with the biggest threat of her whole life. Charlotte was a simple young woman pale and rich but when she is sent to this ship for many months she changes in ways she can't explain. She is accused for murder and sent to the brig and runs into an old friend but that's not the end of her frightening tale. She is faced with charges and no one can help her because all her friends on the busty ship have turned against her because the murder of their close friend. You have to read the book it will change you as well as it changed Charlotte Doyle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, My Opinion.

    "The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle" The main character is known to be Charlotte Doyle, an average British girl, was set to voyage on the Seahawk from the All Girls Academy, she was attending in Liverpool, England and to dock in Province, Rhode Island to meet her family. She faces many exciting complications along the way. Charlotte didn't expect to be sailing with a bunch of men, she was told by her care-taker, she would be sailing with two other families. Aboard the ship, Charlotte Doyle, made some friends, a black man named Zachariah, who gives her a dirk, a knife, to protect herself. She also becomes friends with Captin Jaggery. Each day was unique aboard the Seahawk, often, the wind was cold and the sky was gray, and on her good days the sun would shine a little through the gloomy clouds. Even though, the atmosphere wasn't the best, the author, Avi, always made Charlotte seem happy. True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, has twenty-two chapters, and in each chapter has thrilling moods. True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle is one of my favorite books of all time . I wouldn't mind reading it over and over. I would highly recommend this book to about anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    Bravo, anchor,excellent

    This book was out of the world. I can read that book over and over again!! I was just breath taking. I mean like the front cover, Charlotte's journey it all popped. Avi really put time into this book. He's written books before and there all great but, this has something special about it. If you want a show stopping breath taking book this it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    one of the few books i will read over and over again. makes me go into my own world and see things from a different point of view. helps me realize other things happen not just in your country, but in other countries.

    avi did an amazing job with this book and i can't wait to read more of his other books. i like the characteristics that he gave to Charlotte and the other characters. i don't like the character captain jaggery with him being so cruel to the crew members and lie to the authorities, and hit charlotte for something small like making them get off course for a couple of days. had an old crew member have his arm amputated, and killed only seconds after being shot in the chest. in the end i like that charlotte realized that her home was on the seahawk not in providence, rhode island. hope you love the book almost as much as i do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    great book!!

    this was one of the first books i ever read. my brother told me to read it and i never liked books but i read it and i was hooked. it was amazing to see the main character change from little white girl to tough sailor. the ending was awsome! i loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Was Not Looking Forward to Having To Read This Book...

    I was "forced" to read this book for Language Arts. As I first started reading it, I groaned internally. A book about a prissy, good two shoes girl? Not my type. But as young, 13-year-old Charlotte Doyle transformed during her voyage, I began to see myself in her character.

    When Charlotte makes a terrible mistake in trusting the reprobate Captain Jaggery, the crew betrays her trust, and the only way she can think of to earn back that trust is to join the crew herself.

    I became completely absorbed in the twists and turns of this novel. I could never imagine what would happen next. It has many thrilling parts, but a couple parts (especially the beginning) drag on a bit. There barely any funny parts, but this doesn't lower the book's overall rating at all. It's very challenging because most people aren't familiar with the different parts of the boat described in the book. In the edition our class had, there was a diagram of a brig in the back, thankfully.

    I ? the ending!!!

    I highly reccommend this book for anyone who loves mysteries, historic fiction, thrillers, and/or wants a book for a classroom/educational project.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    charlotte doyle

    My daughter could not put this book down. She said ist was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVEDDDD this book!

    I had to read this book for school and i didn't think i would like it, but i ended up LOVEING it! It has te best ending i ever read in a book too! Also, our teacher made us read 3 chapters and stop each day, but my whole class read ahead and finished it before we were supposed to, because we were so addicted to it. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cute!

    My daughter insisted I read this book once she was done and I thoroughly emjoyed it as did she. It's an endearing story about a very brave little girl. Read it with your kids ... everyone will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle

    I thought that The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle was a wonderful book and I think that it really like tells you what live is really like after you have murdered someone. Also as the book said not every thirteen year-old girl is found guilty for murder and I don't think that a thirteen year-old girl would want to be found guilty for murder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    I Still Read This Book

    I read this book many years ago and the story still stays with me as one of my favorite books. Avi's tale of adventure and treachery on the high seas is great for young readers who need some excitement to get them into a good story. Charlotte is a hero and has to make hard decisions when stuck on a ship with those who might wish her ill. The morality of the book is good for any child to learn how to make good, solid, and honest decisions. I would reccomend this to anyone, even adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 246 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13