Customer Reviews for

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle

Average Rating 4.5
( 246 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    One of my favorite childhood reads. Though I had forgotten the title but recalled what the cover looked like. This one was a really good read. Reminds me of the Bloody Jack book series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Remembered a bit of this and that cover too. One of my favorite

    Remembered a bit of this and that cover too. One of my favorite childhood reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    this book sucks its boring after a while but it gets better

    the book starts out realy boring but it gets beter after a long time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2006

    Not Bad

    The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle is an okay story. Some parts are exciting and you want more especially towards the end.I agree with most of the people on this page that the end was extremely good though. However I think the beginning drags on as she sobs most of the time. I have to admit though that I expected more. Would I recommend it? Sure if you can't find a good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    Avi books

    It is a good but there are some parts which do become boring and may lose readers attention. It did have a great ending and beginning. I would recommend it to a middle schooler

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2006

    OK, COULD BE BETTER

    I think this book is for older readers. It was worded confusing in some places, and It was kind of boring in the begining. But, the ending was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2006

    Great Book

    The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle was an amazing book! It eas nice to read a high seas adventure that wasn't boring. I love the details Avi used and how he added just enough detail to keep it interesting. I was skeptical about reading a book about the high seas, after all, books that completely take place on a ship don't appeal to all. After reading it, i know why it was recommended to me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    The True Confessions of Michael D.

    I have read many of Avi¿s books and this is actually one of my least favorites. I take that back, this is my least favorite! I don¿t really like sailor stories, they bore me to death. Not the entire story was boring, but the worst part was when, she gets home from the trip, and Charlotte and her father get in a huge fight. She does nothing except read newspapers for like the next 3 pages of the book! Was it really necessary to put that part in the story? Of course, if your into adventure stories (Mostly sailing) then this is the right story for you. Charlotte Doyle (the main character) travels all over the ocean, trying to get to her father waiting in America. Little does she know, the captain of the ship she is on is a bad man. She meets lots of sailors, and the crew on the ship. There is lots of stuff like killing and murders, and storms happened throughout the story. If I liked this kind of story, I would love this book! I wouldn¿t really recommend this story to anyone, because I don¿t really like it. It was an o.k. book but it didn¿t catch my attention, because like I said a million times before. I don¿t really enjoy this kind of story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2003

    boring at first

    we read this book in my class last year. i didnt like it at first but in the end it got a little better. i wouldnt want to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Ms. Mader made me read it!

    since I HAD to read this book... I guess it wasn't the best... because you know... no one likes to read books that are chosen for them! But the more I read the more I got into it! When finished with this book I really thought it was quite good! The only major part I didn't like was Charlotte! She is stupid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2001

    The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle Review

    In this book, Charlotte, a 13 year old girl, is sailing to America on the Sea Hawk. On the way she meets many obstacles. Along with her endless battle with Captain Jaggery. This book was pretty good. There was very little exciting parts and it got boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2000

    Pretty Good

    The book was pretty good but I thought her father was really mean and if my father was like that I would run away.I don't reccomend this book to anyone who doesn't understand how 'ladylike' girls had to be way back when.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1