Customer Reviews for

True Haunting

Average Rating 5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Truly Scary!

I grew up in a haunted house in a suburb of Chicago, and this book is the most authentic account of a haunting that I've ever read. I experienced many of the same things that the author and his wife did, and I've spent years trying to come terms with it. Knowing that ...
I grew up in a haunted house in a suburb of Chicago, and this book is the most authentic account of a haunting that I've ever read. I experienced many of the same things that the author and his wife did, and I've spent years trying to come terms with it. Knowing that someone else has gone through the same thing and understands has been a healing experience for me.

posted by 10557369 on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not Scary

I kept waiting for something scary to happen and nothing did. The author's present day notes are unnecessary. It was a short "okay" read. The itallic names represented people who didn't want their real names used is annoying.

posted by 10273698 on December 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Truly Scary!

    I grew up in a haunted house in a suburb of Chicago, and this book is the most authentic account of a haunting that I've ever read. I experienced many of the same things that the author and his wife did, and I've spent years trying to come terms with it. Knowing that someone else has gone through the same thing and understands has been a healing experience for me.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Chilling and refreshing!

    I first bought this on my kindle, then I bought the hardcover. It's a keeper! A true account of a young couple who bought a very haunted place located in Chicago, in the 70's. What comes next is a slew of events that begin to build over time. The author approaches the "problems" with a skeptic mind, before accepting the fact that ghosts exist. He then begins to tease the ghosts, which spark some interesting accounts. I'd love to see the NBC interview that aired on tv!!! A must read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Reality is the most frightening!

    This scared me. I now question the noises in the night and misplaced items that I used to take for granted. This is the most realistic accounting I have ever read, complete with the emotional aspects. Unfortunately, for those involved there was no happy ending. No doubt the people involved stamp this as a certified haunting. Televised at time long before the general public and media interest, I have no doubt the author held back and seemed to work at making this far removed from fantasy. This builds and becomes a page turner and the author puts you in his shoes in this first hand report. The copy of him literally giving this building away, puts an exclaimation point on their desperation. I WANT THE HARD COVER!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Must read true haunted house

    Excellent book and well written! Heard the author on Darkness Radio and wanted to read about his experience, wasnt let down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    What a read!

    I couldn't put this book down! If your looking for a creep facror in a book, this is it! If you've ever had experiences of the paranormal kind then this is a book you may be able to relate to in some aspects!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Great book!

    I lived in a haunted house for 10 years in Indiana and can relate to a lot of this story. Would absolutely recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    This book was fascinating, well-written and I liked it so much I

    This book was fascinating, well-written and I liked it so much I am rereading it and ordered additional copies to give to friends. Even more intriguing if you are from Chicago, but a damn good ghost story no matter what!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    SCARIEST TRUE STORY EVER! OUTSTANDING WRITING AND TERRIFYING ENDING!

    A REAL GHOST STORY THAT WILL HAUNT YOU! Ed and his wife purchase a two story home in 1971. It was so cold that during summer no AC was needed. The wood burning stove in the basement always smelled like wood. The cat and dogs would hiss and bark and things in the night in the hallway and finally ran off and never came back. Two prior tenants went insane including Ed's sister. Ouija board was found in closet. Objects moved in the air and crashed. The phone would keep coming off the hook. The bathtub stopper kept coming out and Ed's keys would disappear and be bent. There were four know deaths of the prior family in this house. One of the black demonic shadows was very evil and intent was to harm. I've read hundreds and hundreds of true ghost stories and this is the best of the best. I couldn't put it down and read it in two days. I'm reading it again. Also, go to youtube and see on the 1 minute and 48 second mark theres an entity behind the glass door and actually moves it! "This is the story of a true haunting. It was the first ever filmed and televised by NBC in 1971. A young couple purchases a building that was built and occupied by a single family that refused to relinquish their hold, even after death. Investigated and verified by experts, this residence brought chaos to the lives of those who chose to reside there. Unlike a horror novel, this chronicles what a real ghostly experience would resemble. Long before the laws of disclosure, a young couple winds up in the midst of strange occurrences prior to the term 'paranormal' becoming a common description. Searching for help at time when supernatural events were a taboo subject and being ignored by the Church, sent them into a desperate search for any assistance. Only a little known organization came to their aid. Author Tom Valentine, brought in a nationally known psychic, Joseph DeLouise, who then asked assistance of an exorcist from England, Reverend William Derl-Davis. Together, they gave their best effort at exorcising the multiple spirits inhabiting the building and disrupting the lives of the living. Events were filmed by NBC, who sent their most prominent Chicago journalist, Carole Simpson, to cover the event. Understand why ghosts cannot be exorcised and a true example of their strong sense of domain, even after death. Learn what experts and gifted people did in a failed attempt to assist this desperate couple. There is no happy ending, as the young couple suffers emotionally, are physically threatened, have their pets terrorized, and eventually suffer financially by actually "giving" their building away. What was intended as a financial answer to their prayers became, instead, a curse to be abolished. I give this book my higest recommendation ever!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    An extraordinary ghost story

    A true haunting. Excellent book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    A Great Honest Ghost Story!

    This is great book. I could not put it down. It was if the writer was speaking directly to me. So many of the things in this book I could relate to. I really felt for the fact that they had to stay there. I do believe that ghosts can not be exorcised. I hope his family recovered. Well done! I hope he writes a second one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    WOW! This book is awesome!!

    This is truely an amazing story. I don't think I was a true believer until I read this book. It's hard to imagine what Marsha must have gone thru day in and day out. She lived with this 7 days a week 24 hours a day! How did she manage to keep her sanity?? She must be a very strong woman and love her husband very much! Because I think I would've stayed with my Mother until he sold the place!! Excellent read and VERY highly recommended!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Hair Raising!!

    My head spun and I got goose bumps when I started reading of all the encounters Mr Becker and his family endured. You often hear about haunted places in one town or another, but when the writer brought his own story to life, I found myself realizing what a haunted world we live in. He took on an enormous job to try to convince my own skeptic mind that ghosts do exist. After reading this account, I believe they do. This book pretty much says it all--it's a small, haunted world! It's a keeper!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Recommended

    I liked the no nonsense style of writing. It was creepy because he told it like it was. It was also thoughtful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    I enjoyed this book and it is true to fact. But it is not too sc

    I enjoyed this book and it is true to fact. But it is not too scary. I may be jaded because nothing scares me anymore. But it is a nice and enjoyable read and I appreciate the fact that he told the story and did not embellish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Do ghosts make investigators of us all?

    This young couple invested in what they thought would take care of their problems...finding a bigger home and how to pay for it.

    If the hair stands up on the back of your neck, you get goosebumps or you get that sinking feeling in the pit of your stomach.....best to turn around and leave and find something else!

    I recommend this book. It is because of stories like this that there are real estates laws that require full disclosure on selling homes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Whoa!

    This is an amazing book. No drama, no crap, just an experience that I found truly interesting. It helped me understand some of the goings on in my own 109 year old home, things I did NOT believe in to say the least. Hard to put this down once you start it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Thank You, What a great book "True Haunting" is! Ther

    Thank You, What a great book "True Haunting" is!
    There was a article in the local paper here in Jacksonville, and to my surprise my wife brought your work to my attention.( She is not a fan of my obsessive reading, and the fact that I down load books so convieniently on my Nook)....
    I do hope you continue to write, I am always on the look-out for a great author, and am happy to add you to that list! "Banished" will be next, and then the rest.
    Will definitly post on FB a recommendation. Oh, and I am definitly going to watch the old footage on youtube! Will look forward to possible correspondance, have a couple of oddities myself that happened in my youth.
    Thank You Again,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    True haunting is a very good book

    I love the part where he thought...tap tap no take backs! I would love to see the NBC footage on this. Oh and to the person that said this wasnt scary in their review, this is a REAL story not a fictitious one that an author wrote and isnt one that is suppose to entertain you, this was real events thst happened to this family and that alone is scary!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Excellent

    I would recommend this book to anyone interested in true hauntings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Finally a Believable Ghost Story

    This is a great accounting of how people would react to forces they can't control. I would hate to think of being in their place. Well written as I could hardly put it down. Very honest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3