Customer Reviews for

True Lies

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    This book was amazing...

    I enjoyed this book simply because It displayed real life dramas that us as african americans face on a daily basis. I made a connection with the characters and it was as if I was watching a Mini-movie in my head while I was reading the book. The author is so descriptive that I was able to picture the characters and everything that happened with vivid detail which allowed my imagination to wander. Me being 16 years old, I love reading and I hope to one day write my own novel and margaret johnson Hodge is one of the many authors that I look up to as a role model. Great job and keep up your amazing literary work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    It's the Truth

    I felt that the author knew my own life. This book is excellent reading, showing the dynamics of today's relationships and what most single, childless women cope with when dating men with a child/children. This story is neither black & white, it's people relational. It kept me on edge the entire time because I was hoping Rick wouldn't break Dajah's heart but there's a lesson to be learned in all circumstances & experiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2005

    Great and also disappointing

    I felt that the book was good when you got into it but when the end came I felt that it was too soon. I don't think that it should have ended that way. You really don't get an understanding of what is gonna happen to the characters in the future. The book ends just when you are getting into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2004

    True Lies ~ True to Life

    I enjoyed this book, but I too found it hard to get into. I'm glad I didn't just toss it to the side. Once you get pass the first couple of chapters - they meet, they're curious, etc. the book takes off and becomes a real page turner. The story tells how true love really conquers all - it was baby momma drama with a twist. From the story you can be reassured thatwhen you have a good man who is truly in it for the long hall you should count yourself blessed. Job well done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Best heard but rarely observed relationship book!

    Margaret did an absolutely, wonderful job on portraying this relationship. Although many people have this similiar relationship, I have yet to read a book that actually brings that aspect to life. I had a relationship that was quite similiar to this book and that kept me intrigued to see the outcome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2003

    Another Great Accomplishment

    I have fallen in love with every single book MJH has written since I randomly picked up 'Some Sunday' a year ago. True Lies was simply another one of Hodges great accomplishments. I have built an online relationship with her by emailing her everyday about the dramatic points I reach in her books, as if she doesn't know what it says already. All I can say is Rick was a man to die for. I could see Gina's point in wanting him back even after she messed up, but Dajah deserved him because of her undying sacrifice when Gina was acting a fool, as my mother would say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2003

    Nice Book

    I really enjoyed this book although It did take me some time to read. When a book Is really good I'm normally done with It within the 1st 5 hours I've bought It. I do reccommend that you do read It though. It just takes time for the book to really become a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2002

    For Women who date Guys with kids

    Very Good, This book tells both sides of the story pertaing to the thinking of the baby-mothers and single dads as well as women dating single dads.Women should read this book if they really want to know why they shouldnt get involved with baby-mama drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2003

    Excellent!!!

    When I started reading True Lies I couldn't put it down. The reality of this book was so uncanny to the ups and downs to everyday relationships it was unbelieveable. I could taste the pain, love, and envy of each character. MJH has painted such a clear picture of the dynamics of being in a relationship with a man who is trying to juggle a new relationship while maintaing a strong bond his daughter. Although his daughters mother is all out ghetto fabulous, its clear that once she gets her act together Rick has to deal with the feelings he buried so deep. On the the other hand Rick finds a refreshing newness with Dajah, the woman who has class and has her head on straight. At the end of this book I almost cried because it was over, it lef me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2003

    This is no lie, True Lies was great!!

    This book was not the classic romance tale. Hodge sets up a beautiful story, making one want the characters to come a live. This is definelty a book to read. It sets up a REAL story, that I wished would never end. As I approached the last pages I actually grew saddened because I did not want the book to end. I wished that I could continue to read about Rick, Gina, Kanisha, Dajah, and the others mentioned because I grew to love each of their characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    Disapointed is all I can say...

    Let me start off by saying that this book was very well written. All the characters were cute and I enjoyed them as if they were my own family. In my opinion, this book was long and drawn out. I was thinking, "can we get to the end already?" It was the same stuff over and over again..up and down, up and down...then it came..what I was waiting for the entire time...the end. It was awful. I was so mad I threw my book on the floor. Good girls always finish last is all I can say.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong character study

    When Corrections Officer Rick Trimmons and teenage drop out Gina Alexander meet, both think it is love. However, Rick never recovered from being dumped and remains in a rebound state of limbo while Gina desperately wants a baby. When Kanisha is born, Gina learns what an infant does to a lifestyle so in order to return to the streets, she begins dumping Kanisha on her grandmother, which angers Rick. Rick still fantasizes about a loving relationship between he, Gina, and their child, but he turns to showering all his love on his little girl. Hardworking Dajah Moore takes no risks in life even with her heart. Currently she is lonely having ended her last relationship about a year ago. When Dajah and Rick meet, perhaps it is the traits they share in common, but they begin to fall in love. However, Kanisha remains first in Rick¿s life, which means Gina is still a player and at night by himself he knows in his way he loves all three women in his life. Will Rick choose the dream that Gina will change; or select a relationship with Dajah that will limit his time with Kanisha; or opt for the status quo of a foot in two homes? TRUE LIES is a strong character study that shows the impact on people of life altering decisions to include the ripple effect on other individuals in a person¿s concentric world. The key cast seems authentic, as readers will recognize similar people especially when seemingly poor or selfish judgment is used. Fans of complex contemporary relationship dramas with strong characterizations will enjoy Margaret Johnson-Hodge¿s latest spotlight on life. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2002

    Another winner from MJH

    A favorite among readers, author Margaret Johnson-Hodge gets better and better. Her latest, True Lies (due in October) is one of the tightest novels she's ever written. The story revolves around a sincere, goal-oriented, but problem-plagued man named Rick who has fathered a child with an unstable drama queen named Gina. Although they are no longer a couple, Rick dotes on their daughter, four-year-old Kanisha, and dealing with Gina emotionally sends him to places he never wanted to go. Through it all Rick tries to develop a romance with Dajah, a woman who sometimes gets frustrated with the drama, a woman that Rick hopes will make his life complete. True Lies reads like a movie; it's very vivid, and the characters are so well drawn that when you read the dialogue, you can literally hear their voices. Margaret Johnson-Hodge shapes and sculpts her characters with amazing precision; she doesn't make all men look bad, or all baby mamas look trifling. She digs deep and helps the reader to understand the characters' motivations for the decisions they make. The novel takes surprising turns that may cause one to talk out loud to the book, grow disgusted with some of the characters' decisions, and make you feel as if this story could be anybody's. True Lies is just that authentic. This is a commanding and appealing novel, and it's highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1