Customer Reviews for

True Love and Other Disasters

Average Rating 4.5
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

True Love and Other Disasters

What a sweet story. Ty and Faith are such a cute couple. This book actually has substance because it works on the relationship before they hop into bed together. I loved the story revolving around Faiths commitment and love for her husband who died. I simply could not p...
What a sweet story. Ty and Faith are such a cute couple. This book actually has substance because it works on the relationship before they hop into bed together. I loved the story revolving around Faiths commitment and love for her husband who died. I simply could not put this book down. I thought it was as good as Rachel's other book "See Jane Score."
The only complaint I would give the book is the title. Rachel could have come up with something that matched the story a little better, but what the hey...
Highly recommend this book for romance junkies who like it light and sweet. Can't wait for Rachel's next one in the spring of 2010!!

posted by Jessi-21 on September 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Leo to is

You here? Alex is going to eat

posted by Anonymous on March 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked it!

    This is the first book from Rachel Gibson that I have read and it will not be my last! It had everything I enjoy in a great book: humor, romance, and good characters! A total keeper.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    love this series

    love this series my only thing is that I wish that the books were listed in order so I could have read them in order

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Thomas

    Good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Fun, easy reading

    This book is so much like Susan Elizabeth Phillips novel "It Had to Be You". Faith Duffy, former owner's trophy wife, inherits a hockey team. She knows nothing about hockey and clashes with the team captain, Ty Savage. Yet, even though I know the plot and have read a similar story, it is still a great story line and entertaining. I liked Faith and Ty. I was happy reading their story.

    Rachel Gibson books are fun, easy reading. But that is what I wanted and was not disappointed. It is nice to just kick back and have a good time in a novel. I have had a great time reading the Chinook Hockey team novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for a rainy day!

    I always look forward to reading Ms. Gibson and I was able to experience her humor, steam and hockey theme. The characters were likable, though some seemed undeveloped. I'd like to see a sequel to this book. While this is not one of her novels that will take a place in my permanent library, it made my rainy weekend delightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun and Funny

    I really enjoy most of Rachel Gibson's books. This one is cute, and a little steamier than some of her others. I really enjoyed it. Pro athletes are always good material for a romance. I can't wait to read more about the rest of the team!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME!

    I realy liked this book. I was a little off at first because it's about hockey but once you got a little ways in i was hooked. There was just the right amount of "juicy" parts and I love the main character Ty. I will definitely pass this book on to my book club buddies to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Though the plot is ice thin, fans will enjoy Rachel Gibson's fun tale of love

    "Bunny" beautiful Faith Duffy married a much older wealthy man, Virgil who took care of his trophy wife in life and in death. However, people disrespect Faith for everyone assumes she married a guy five decades older than her for his money. Though more like a grandfather-granddaughter relationship instead of a married couple, the stripper and the banker loved one another; she grieves his death as she is back all alone.----------------

    Besides money, Faith inherited the Seattle Chinooks hockey team; Captain Ty Savage is outraged that a brain dead model is taking over the team as he assumes she is unaware of the surface they play on and probably believes a crossbar is something to dance on. She disdains him as much as he does her because she thinks his disrespectful attitude towards her sucks and should land him a season's worth of misconduct penalties. However, as they become better acquainted their attraction could melt the ice in the Chinooks' rink.--------------

    This lighthearted contemporary frolic is an amusing entertaining sports romance in which two seemingly polar opposite worlds body check one another. The story line is ice speed-skating fast but filled with plenty of hip check humor. Though the plot is ice thin, fans will enjoy Rachel Gibson's fun tale of love between a couple, who brings differing meanings to a hat trick.------------

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3