Customer Reviews for

The True Story of the Three Little Pigs

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Must read for kids (young and old)

    The only problem I find is that when I try to read it to children, all of the adults have to stop and listen, too. You never knew the real story of the Three Little Pigs until you hear the wolf's side of the story. Now you can decide just WHO is telling the truth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun for Kids and Adults

    This gives a definite new twist to the Three Little Pigs, and lets everyone know that there are always two sides to every story, regardless. It is all in the perception - and of course who is telling the story. Great for kids, and fun for adults to read to them. I have given this book as a gift on many occasions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    Cute story!

    This is a cute story and very interesting reading the other side of the story! My children loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Great Read!

    not only is the book funny, its also entertaining! Everyone loves it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    it was  told from the wolfs point of view and he was allowed to

    it was  told from the wolfs point of view and he was allowed to give his statment Al (the big bad wolf) shouldnt be sent to the pig pen for something he didn't do. Al is a wolf who went to norrow sugar and couldnt help what happend to the 1 and 2 nd pigs houses the built it out of twig and hay and if he sneezed of course it would blow away but the 3 pig shouldnt have said any thing about his granny because of course he would get offense thats his grand mother and Al got up set. and thats the stor.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    Love it!

    Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Nothing to Sneeze At! A book children AND adults will LOVE!

    The first time I read this books was to my best friends five year old son. He had read it before so he knew what to expect! I was simply expecting the original story of the Three Little Pigs, but was pleasantly surprised! Not only was I completely mistaken, I ended up feeling sorry for Wolf! This is a fun and easy book to read. I stated above that both children and adults will love this book! It is so true! I read a ton of children¿s literature and this is definitely at the top of my list! The dry sense of humor is wonderful for the adults who are reading to their children and the story plot is hilarious for children! The illustrations are beautiful and fun for the children and adults to look at. All the details are amazing! However, I still feel that the storyline is where the true genius lies. Who would have thought to retell this story from the Wolf¿s point of view? After all, isn¿t he the ¿bad guy?¿ Well, by the end of this book I have a feeling you will have a different outlook on Mr. Alexander T. Wolf. Enjoy this amazing book! I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did! (P.S) The story is MUCH better when you do all of the different voices!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    A definate must read and must buy!!!

    My mother used to read this story to me when I was little and I bought it for my daughter for this upcoming christmas. I enjoyed this book so much its one of 3 that I remember from childhood. I do hope my daughter will enjoy it as much as I did!! Its a cute story that adults and children alike will love and love to read over and over again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Hysterical

    For a kid with a good sense of humor, this is a great book. It puts a funny twist of the original story of the three little pigs as well as teaching children that theres more than one side of a story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    The True Story of the 3 Little Pigs

    Love love loved this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    A must-read book for children of all ages.

    Every time I try to read it to children, the adults gather.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Excellent and Fun

    Great to read aloud to children. It haves them laughing and enthralled

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You Will not want to miss this!!!

    This book as it might be for children is an amazing book for adults as well. It has great characteristics and feelings. This story makes me remember the golden rule. i know this for a fact. Jon Scieszka is an amazing narator as much as he is an amazing author. I hope when you read this book you will enjoy it as much as i did for the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    The True Story of the 3 Little Pigs

    A good book to lead in a discussion of others point of view.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    The True Story of the Three Little Pigs

    Wonderful, creative story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    Nice different point of view

    Creative and fun story. Definitely (and obviously) read the original 3 Little Pigs before reading this book to your kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2009

    a must have!

    I read this book as a little girl and loved it! now my 4 year old loves hearing the wolf's side of a classic 3 little pig story, she talks about it all the time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If Tony Soprano Had Been A Wolf...

    Hysterical version of the 3 little pigs. Best read with a Jersey accent to add to the amusement. Younger children might not grasp the irony, but love the story. Reminds me of the under-rated children's movie "Hoodwinked."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Cute Twist on Classic Fairy Tale!

    The twist on the classic tale is fun and entertaining. My first-grade son loves the book. The illustrations are well done as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    He didn't huff and puff, he sneezed!

    The story was reported all wrong. The press must have jumped to conclusions. The wolf was wrongly convicted on circumstantial evidence. Give the wolf a chance to tell his side of the story. Judge for yourself. This is a great picture book - fun for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3