Customer Reviews for

True Strength: My Journey from Hercules to Mere Mortal--and How Nearly Dying Saved My Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Truly Inspirational

What a treat this book is.  It is refreshing to read about the life of a celebrity that is inspirational and not just sensational. Sorbo is a normal guy.  He does not have inner demons, drug addictions a whacked-out ego or some superficial issue that is more important t...
What a treat this book is.  It is refreshing to read about the life of a celebrity that is inspirational and not just sensational. Sorbo is a normal guy.  He does not have inner demons, drug addictions a whacked-out ego or some superficial issue that is more important to himself than the rest of us.  What he does have is a blessed life.  He is blessed with the things that really matter in life; his inner strength, his ability to overcome in the face of calamity, his humor and above all else, his loving family.  His tragedy was not self-afflicted, it was real.  This is a real story about a real person.  Thankfully.  With the bookshelves packed with egotistical garbage or sensationalized stories, this book is a welcomed change.  It is witty, heartfelt, exciting and above all else, inspirational.  It hits home to those of us who have suffered losses or tragedies of our own.  It speaks to what is important in life.

I would, by all means, recommend this book.  Nothing beats a well told true story and for that this book is as good as it gets.

posted by LoudBlackCat on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Down to earth, lots of insight.

This is not a Hollywood drama. This is a down to earth story about a man who was brought down a level or two the hard way. Even though there are times when Kevin seems to whine about his situation, he needs the life lessons brought about by his illness to truely underst...
This is not a Hollywood drama. This is a down to earth story about a man who was brought down a level or two the hard way. Even though there are times when Kevin seems to whine about his situation, he needs the life lessons brought about by his illness to truely understand the real riches he has in life...a strong, good hearted wife and his three adoring children. Not many people are often given the gift of this insight with such a happy ending. It is a good quick read, only took me a day, but made me respect him much more than before.

posted by MN-MRS on November 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Truly Inspirational

    What a treat this book is.  It is refreshing to read about the life of a celebrity that is inspirational and not just sensational. Sorbo is a normal guy.  He does not have inner demons, drug addictions a whacked-out ego or some superficial issue that is more important to himself than the rest of us.  What he does have is a blessed life.  He is blessed with the things that really matter in life; his inner strength, his ability to overcome in the face of calamity, his humor and above all else, his loving family.  His tragedy was not self-afflicted, it was real.  This is a real story about a real person.  Thankfully.  With the bookshelves packed with egotistical garbage or sensationalized stories, this book is a welcomed change.  It is witty, heartfelt, exciting and above all else, inspirational.  It hits home to those of us who have suffered losses or tragedies of our own.  It speaks to what is important in life.

    I would, by all means, recommend this book.  Nothing beats a well told true story and for that this book is as good as it gets.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Definitely recommend this book!

    Heartwarming and Real A Good Read, October 19, 2011
    By LGR "Lynn" (Florida)
    This review is from: True Strength: My Journey from Hercules to Mere Mortal--and How Nearly Dying Saved My Life (Hardcover)
    I have always found it fascinating how each person dealing with a crisis in their lives deals with what is handed to them. As a rehabilitation professional for over 30 years I have worked with many individuals who were dealt difficult hands in the life of poker. Some folded, while others bluffed and hoped for the best and still others put on their game face, weighed the odds and decided to play out their hand with everything they had. I have also found that while 3 people can all have the exact same illness/condition, all three will cope with it differently, have varying degrees of ability due to it and will ultimately recover form it differently. Kevin gave us a look at the horrible hand he was dealt and how that hand effected him, his career, his love life, his future and how he ultimately won the pot in that game.

    I can't begin to imagine what it must have been like to be a 38 year old man, doing all the right things as far as health goes, (eating right, exercising, not smoking, limited to no drinking, etc), no previous health issues, no hereditary issues, at the top of his career and finally finding the love he had pretty much given up on to be hit suddenly with several strokes and an aneurysm. These are things that happen to unhealthy people, older people, people with high blood pressure, but they don't happen to healthy, young men. The psychological issues that came along with the physical issues certainly played a huge role in Kevin's illness, as is seen in the book and with good reason. The fear alone in wondering why, could it happen again, what caused it and can it kill me would be enough to sideline a large number of people. While Kevin had those fears, he found ways to keep moving through it, to keep playing the hand, even when it was overwhelming, beyond frustrating and excruciatingly difficult to face, he kept playing the hand.

    However, Kevin didn't play this hand alone and he makes it very clear in the book how much he depended on Sam, how much her strength and pragmatic manner helped him get passed each hurdle. He was very lucky to have her with him during this time, because without someone there to support, push, hold, cry with, talk too and love these life crisis can be almost impossible to manage.

    There are many people out there who have faced some very serious, unknown, health issue that has sidelined them as well. Kevin's book gives a look into what he and I am sure others in similar situations, must endure during the time they are trying to find answers in order to recover. I found the book enlightening as there was no way I would have ever imagined Kevin had been going through all of that for the length of time he did. I was amazed at the raw feelings Kevin put into the book, showing us his weaknesses, his fears, as well as his overall frustration, anger, physical and emotional pain. I also found it touching to see how much he allowed Sam to be a part of his recovery. While he didn't see himself as whole, as a 'man' Sam did and she saw more.The book was real, not whiney, it explored all the various emotions anyone going through this sort of thing is bound to experience, it completely exposed Kevin, I have no doubt this book was extremely difficult emotionally to write.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    True Inspiration

    For those of us who have ever suffered a disabling set-back, something beyond our control (and, heaven forbid, something outside the understanding of our doctors), this book is TRULY inspiring. But this memoir also provides its reader with a window into Kevin Sorbo's background, his values, and his family and friends; it's not just about how he got to be Hercules, but about how he came to be the person he is today. If you want to really KNOW Kevin Sorbo, read this book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Truly Enjoyable and Uplifting

    Having known Kevin and his family for over a decade I thought I truly knew everything about him. I knew he was a great friend, husband, father and son. I loved reading about his modeling days in Europe to his actor in Hercules and Andromeda plus many other movies. You will be filled will renewed hope, love and that dreams do come true. You'll laugh, cry and wonder what's going to happen next. You will learn and feel that Kevin is a kind, gentle down to earth guy that can be your best friend. You will be truly inspired that no matter what life challenges come before you, you can beat them, rise above and move to the next level. Thanks Kevin for taking the time to share this intimate part of your live!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I loved "Hercules: The Legendary Journeys" tv series and became a Sorbo fan for life. I knew of his medical crisis during the filming of the series but never knew the extent of it until I read his book. To know that he kept working despite what he was suffering through amazes me. He is truly an inspiration. He was, is, and always will be MY HERO.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Really amazing read

    Within the first few pages of this book, I forgot that I was reading a book and felt like I was sitting across from Kevin Sorbo hearing him tell the story in that honest voice that he is known to use. The book reads very easily and Sorbo doesn't hide anything.

    This book is about the hard journey of a man, but for me, what is interesting about it is the question it brings up: for an actor, what can you do when your life forces you to become the complete opposite of the character that you're playing? After reading this book I watched the last few seasons of Hercules again, and I did so with a completely new set of eyes. This guy did all of his stunts himself, worked so long and hard (when WE think actors have it easy) and all of that, for us viewers, for us to be entertained. And again with this book, he goes all out, tells EVERYTHING in the hope that his journey will inspire and help other people. That work ethic and generosity that few actors have nowadays make Kevin Sorbo a true Hollywood star and a great man.

    I strongly recommend this book. It will thrill, shock and inspire you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Good read!

    Knew Kevin got sick during the Hercules series,had no idea it was so bad. Happy he found his true worth as a man, and not some mythical being he portrayed on TV.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    I was hooked from the first page to the last.

    I was interested in this book for the fact I have a deep admiration for Kevin Sorbo the Actor and when I read about the struggles he faced to keep being that man I knew I had to read this book. I bought this book anticipating the basic this is what happened and what my struggles were to get back to my life and I got so much more Kevin and Sam gave so much information, the demands of the Hollywood life. How his T.V persona Hercules played into the treatment doctors gave him. After all he was the worlds strongest man. I now have more admiration for him for what he endured, over coming the medical conditions and hardships, i was inspired by how his strokes may have actually save his marriage. I applaud him in every way and wish him the best in the continued recovery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Inspirational.

    Easy read. Insightful, touching, and funny, all in parts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Fascinating

    I knew I liked Kevin Sorbo before, but after reading this I have even more respect for him and for his wife, Sam. He has gone thru a terrible ordeal, and she remained at his side thru it all. I devoured this book in two days and now can't stop thinking about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    Enjoyed reading - blessed to hear his testimony.

    Enjoyed reading - blessed to hear his testimony.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    A Very Worthwhile Read

    In the book True Strength, both Kevin Sorbo and his wife, Sam, exemplify appreciation for life and for all things that are the basic needs, wants and equalizers of all people. Positivity, commitment, forward - outward focus, faith, hope and true love prevail. I want to see the movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    The First Ebook for my Nook and a Great Read!

    You will find yourself cheering him on. Great descriptive ability.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Great book by a great actor who struggled in secret with a serio

    Great book by a great actor who struggled in secret with a serious health issue. I was always a Kevin Sorbo fan, from the time the first Hercules movies appeared in the action pack, to Hercules the series and Andromeda. It was really nice to read about his personal struggle and how he overcame it and made a comeback. Dealing with some similar family issues, this book really helped us out. Some really great stuff in this book for anyone in need of inspiration and strength to get through tough times, or just for a Sorbo fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    A Very Telling Story

    I watched Hercules every week. I sadly don't remember hearing Kevin was ill. It was a very busy and sad time of my life as I knew my marriage would have to end and once again I'd be a single Mom, 3 kids this time instead of just 1. I do remember, however, being annoyed that Hercules hadn't seem to start back on time and I also remember being really annoyed when it did return that Herc wasn't in the episodes much...of course all these years later I now know why I was so oddly disappointed in the majority of that last season. This was a telling story and although slightly jumpy in the way it was put together I found a new respect for Kevin. I also had never known that Kevin Smith, who played Hades had died so nowm was is truly years after his death I find myself feeling great grief as Ihad a HUGE crush on him and loved every episode he was in. Kevin Sorbo, probably to his dismay, will always be Hercules to me and as its the last days of Feb 2012, I still go to a certain online site and watch Hercules The Legendary Journeys whenever I need a pick me up....I'll always love the show & Kevin Sorbo. This was a story that needed telling and I'm so glad he had the courage to tell it!!!!!! Thanks and God graces to Kevin & his family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Down to earth, lots of insight.

    This is not a Hollywood drama. This is a down to earth story about a man who was brought down a level or two the hard way. Even though there are times when Kevin seems to whine about his situation, he needs the life lessons brought about by his illness to truely understand the real riches he has in life...a strong, good hearted wife and his three adoring children. Not many people are often given the gift of this insight with such a happy ending. It is a good quick read, only took me a day, but made me respect him much more than before.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Ok

    Re kirkis reviews. Ok. I just read thier review of kevins book and I have to say Bulls#$%. Everything they said was negative and demeaning. I'm glad I read the book first before I saw that crap review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Did not receive this book

    How can I review a book if I did not receive it.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    a

    good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2