BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

True You: A Journey to Finding and Loving Yourself

Average Rating 4
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

As soon as I got up at 5:30 this morning, I grabbed my NOOK and bought True You by Janet Jackson.(Oh the pleasures of owning a NOOK) I couldn't stop reading. I read it within a couple of hours. I can relate to Janet in many ways. There was times when I had to shed some ...
As soon as I got up at 5:30 this morning, I grabbed my NOOK and bought True You by Janet Jackson.(Oh the pleasures of owning a NOOK) I couldn't stop reading. I read it within a couple of hours. I can relate to Janet in many ways. There was times when I had to shed some tears myself. I can recall my mother telling me that I was fat.(And at 30yrs. old she still does to this day.) I had people pat my hips and raise their eyebrows because I was once 125 lbs. But that was when I was in high school. Now I'm a 30yr. old with an 8 yr. old son, 5'8 and 190 lbs struggling with my weight and yo yo dieting. Before reading this book I decided to take drastic measures of starvation but after reading True You, I decided to take drastic measures of finding and releasing the True Me.

posted by Gold-en_Girl on February 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great concept but poorly written.

I absolutely love Janet so I had to have this book. I have been anticipating it's release and thought the concept was absolutely wonderful. Her theory of finding the "true you" makes alot of sense but she never really outlines the process of HOW to do this. For example,...
I absolutely love Janet so I had to have this book. I have been anticipating it's release and thought the concept was absolutely wonderful. Her theory of finding the "true you" makes alot of sense but she never really outlines the process of HOW to do this. For example, when she lost the weight, what was different this time? Just when you think she is going to start opening up, she doesn't. I did like the commentary from fans but I would have heard more from Janet herself.

posted by liberty741 on March 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    As soon as I got up at 5:30 this morning, I grabbed my NOOK and bought True You by Janet Jackson.(Oh the pleasures of owning a NOOK) I couldn't stop reading. I read it within a couple of hours. I can relate to Janet in many ways. There was times when I had to shed some tears myself. I can recall my mother telling me that I was fat.(And at 30yrs. old she still does to this day.) I had people pat my hips and raise their eyebrows because I was once 125 lbs. But that was when I was in high school. Now I'm a 30yr. old with an 8 yr. old son, 5'8 and 190 lbs struggling with my weight and yo yo dieting. Before reading this book I decided to take drastic measures of starvation but after reading True You, I decided to take drastic measures of finding and releasing the True Me.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    All I can say is " Thank you, Janet."

    The write about yourself and the confusions, demons, and insecurities takes a very Wise person. Thank you Janet, for sharing your in sites. I truly enjoyed reading this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Great concept but poorly written.

    I absolutely love Janet so I had to have this book. I have been anticipating it's release and thought the concept was absolutely wonderful. Her theory of finding the "true you" makes alot of sense but she never really outlines the process of HOW to do this. For example, when she lost the weight, what was different this time? Just when you think she is going to start opening up, she doesn't. I did like the commentary from fans but I would have heard more from Janet herself.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Refresing,,,

    On the pages of this short book Janet is telling her story, her truth, her way. It was a quick and easy read. I was slightly disappointed by the spelling and grammatical errors. But overall i'm greatful for the information shared in this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Surprising Motivation

    Kudos to Janet for sharing such an emotional journey! I did expect the nutritional side towards the end of the book. It was a nice motivational piece for many that are on the same journey.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Inspiring

    This book is awesome and really touched my heart. I myself am self-conscience this helped me get through a lot of issues. Thank You JJ

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Okay book - easy read

    I did not think Janet really opened up in this book but I found some of the letters she got from fans the most interesting parts of the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    janet on the dl!

    janet telling whats on her mine !

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    the book is really good

    the book is really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Janetfan 4life _kyb 16

    Janet Jackson is the best. I like what she has done with her book, and the message to me is very powerful . I like that she wasn't afraid to tell her story because usually when you see celebrities everything with them seems find. Also her book has given me the courage to continue to be myself and to not let anyone try to tell me different.janet Jackson is definitely one of my favorite artist no matter what is said about her she is always able to stand strong and I respect that a lot :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    I love her

    I love this book i cant wait to buy the full book:))))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    To leela

    College if thats how its spelled

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Leela

    Hi,My guardian is kicking me out in 2 years and i dont have anywhere to go so please give me some advice. It would be appreciated.All's well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    On the fence

    I truely do love me some Janet. That is why it took me so long to write a review about this book. My partner got me this book, knowing that I am a huge Janet fan. I read the book at home and a few chapters while at work. While at work I was asked by someone if they could look at the book, to my dismay it was only so they could oggle at the pictures scattered throughout the book. The concept is spot on, I actually picked up a little insight into why I let certain things tear me apart when I was in highschool. I also couldn't help but notice that ALOT of it was more about others rather than Janet herself.

    Like I said though, I love me some Janet, so it amazed me at what she did speak of herself was so mind altering. I truely do understand the pain one feels about fitting a certain mold and standards thrust upon us in our earliest years. This book was a wonderful read but I think I can cope with my unmended pains without reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Giannna

    You lear thinggs you realy never realy knew about her very inspring bok though

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    liked it alot

    liked it alot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    long time fan

    it was nice to read but did not reveal any information that was not told by press. i was hoping this book would let me in on her life and i didnt get that from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Just ok

    I was a little disapointed in the book. Not enough janet growing up stories. Too many stories of how her songs affected others and their stories. I would have rather read more about janet then others. Didnt realize the last part of the book was recipes. She raved about her nutritionist and his program, but yet she is now a spokesman for nutrisystem? The book kept my attention, but for the money i dont think i would pay for it again.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    TH The This book

    This is a great book to read if your self conscious because she lets you know that your not the only one


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    My favorite book

    This is one of my favorite book and it helped me a lot it made my life a lot better i rlly dug deep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7