Customer Reviews for

The True and Outstanding Adventures of the Hunt Sisters: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic satisfying book

    Written entirely in letter format, its a refreshing and satisfying book. I found it grabbed my attention early and kept it. If you are in the mood for a solid easy read this would be the one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Imaginative prose form, but not recommended

    I thought the start of the book was good. I could not finish this book though. I usually finish books that I start reading. It became redundant and for me, at least, unreadable. I got through one-third of the book and thought....there are better ways to spend my time. I read about 2-3 books per week. This is not my usual thought pattern. So, I do not recommend this book....Sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    This book was so good, I couldn't put it down. Loved it and wish she would write another book soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unique Style

    I recently finished this book, and was so amazed that the author could convey so much in her book just by having her main character, Olivia, writing letters. I thought you really got a sense of all the characters and their lives through the letters. It was a really touching story, and I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Fun Book!

    This was a fun easy read! The entire book is letters that Olivia writes to several people. The time period covers a little over a year...and the changes that occur with her love life, career and family. It doesn't have a very deep or complicated plot....which sometimes is just what I want. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    Share this with your sister

    After I finished reading this book I sent it to my sister. Letter writing is a lost art and the author does it so well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    Amazing Story telling

    It has been a very long time since I have been so captivated by a book that I lost sleep. Thought I had a little trouble getting into the first ten pages or so, by the time I'd hit page 15 I was hooked. By the time I got to page 50 I was staying up nights and running late for appointments to read it. (Yes, I'm slow) The True and Outstanding... is very fine rendering of a novel of passing in a unique format - all told in letters to other people from Olivia, a young woman possessing at the same time keen insights and stubborn blindness. The layering of Don Quixote serves as a map for the novel as well as a metaphore of Olivia's struggle to deal with her sister's cancer and her own baffling love life. It is not all a joust with a windmill, and so much of it is lived through Olivia's eyes I never wanted it to end. Yet, even though I saw that ending coming, and knew it was happening, even wished it would hurry up and get it over with, I wanted this book to go on, and wished somewhere deep inside that Olivia would write me a letter, too. I borrowed this book but tomorrow will buy myself a copy and several more for friends. Really wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    Great Read

    The thing I loved most about this book was the fact that I would forget that she was even writing letters to people and it felt like she was actually just telling a story. I thought that the format was great. I felt like I was getting to know these people she wrote to even though you never got to read a response letter from them. I recomend this book to anyone, oliva is a great character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2006

    An excellent book, but sometimes frustrating

    All in all, I loved this book and couldnt put it down. The format was refreshingly different, and the writing was excellent. However, there were spots that were frustrating because I would find myself trying to figure out (for the 20th time) who some of these people were, and what relation they were to the character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    Terrific and entertaining book

    This book is really worth the read. With each page the story becomes more engrossing and the characters more intriguing, especially Olivia. In the end you will be delighted that you were given the opportunity to know these characters and share in their story. Elizabeth Robinson combines just the right amount of cynical humor with realistic poignancy. The reading of this touching tale is an adventure for the reader. The story tugs at your heart strings on one page, then has you chuckling out loud on the next. I highly recommend this book and suspect that you too will be glad you met and spent time with Mad Maddie and Livvie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    Loved it

    This was a great book. It effected me within the first 20 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    Great Novel

    This book will make you laugh & cry. If you or anyone close to you has ever been diagnosed with Cancer you be able to identify with the characters in the book. Overall, it's a very entertaining & funny book & definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2005

    I love this novel!

    This book was not recommended to me, but something drew it to me, so I picked it up. I was immediately impressed, but was somewhat disheartened to discover the style of writing was what it was, but I continued reading, and about 5 pages later I was hooked. This story has it all, it captured me from beginning to end, and I couldn't put it down, I finished it in one week-end. Thank you Thank you Thank you for writing it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    Parts dragged...

    I just finished this. It was all written in letter format which I love. I'd been wanting to read it for quite awhile and was happy to finally get my hands on it but I was a bit disappointed, it dragged badly for me in places and I finally ended up skimming a lot of her letters dealing with the movie she was working on. It had an abrubt but expected ending that made me want to cry for the last few pages, epsecially the final letter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    Wonderful Book

    I really loved this book. I finished it in 2 days I couldn't wait to see what was going to happen next. I couldn't stop thinking of my own sisters through the entire book. I love to read a ton of different styles of books and its nice to read a letter form book. I was always wondering what olivia's friends and family really thought of her and you never really know it leaves alot up to the imagination. It was a nice change! A great bookclub book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Wonderfully original

    I don't have any sisters but can still relate to the closeness of siblings and all the feelings (good and bad) that entails. I loved this book. A sister who, even with her world crumbling around her ears, has her priorities straight and realizes just was is most important in life. Kudos to the author for putting family first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    Love this book!!

    What a great book!! I have 3 sisters and I will be giving this to them on their birthdays this year. It touched my heart and made me laugh. I will be watching for this author's next book with anticipation. RECOMMEND!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    An Outstanding Read

    A very unique read! The letters capture you from the beginning and draw you into Olivia's life. It is an intimate look at the life of two sisters and reminded me of my relationship with mine! Take the time to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    Life is hard... get over it!

    The True and Outstanding Adventures of the Hunt Sisters, by Elisabeth Robinson is written in letterform. The main character, Olivia Hunt, writes touching, witty letters to all her friends and family. As a reader, you never get to read how people respond to her, but she always lets us know in her next letter. Her letters are filled with her personal thoughts that she would never be able to share with people in person. That is why she writes letters. She writes about how her job is going, and how she feels about stuff going on in her life. The book takes place in many different cities all over the world. A few are Shawnee Falls, Ohio; Las Angeles, California; Hollywood Hills, California; and Rome. Olivia travels a lot for her job as a movie producer. Sometimes while your reading you will forget where the characters are and it can get confusing. Olivia¿s Sister Madeline is diagnosed with cancer. Her family struggles a lot with knowing how to deal with it. It¿s sad but exciting at the same time to turn to the next page and see if Madeline can make it through this horrible sickness. It is funny to read letters Olivia writes to her sister¿s doctors when they aren¿t satisfying her with answers to many questions they all have. Olivia is a sassy character who isn¿t afraid to say what¿s on her mind. An example of her outgoingness is shown in this letter to her sister¿s doctor. ¿Dear Dr. Smith, My sister, Madeline Hunt Connor, has been treated by a lot of doctors, but no one as arrogant AND incompetent as the above-mentioned boob. What is it with you people? I¿ve never encountered such a bunch of self-impressed, ignorant idiots under one roof- and I¿ve worked in Hollywood.¿ Olivia is trying to produce a movie based on the book Don Quixote. Which in real life was made into a musical called ¿Man of La Mancha.¿ All throughout the book she talks about the struggles she is having, and also about the positive things that happen; which isn¿t very often. She writes letters to big movie stars like Mel Gibson, and works with the actor Robin Williams. Her work is like a roller coaster. There¿s ups, there¿s downs, and there are many plateaus. It¿s the hardest parts of the book to read because most people don¿t think about actually working with or being with famous people. The easier parts to read are when Olivia talks about her relationships and her family. It¿s easy to relate to and to laugh along with all her boyfriend problems. Her long-term boyfriend, Michael, left her in the beginning of the book. She misses him a lot, and writes letters to him a lot, even though he never responds. Eventually he does respond though, and you¿ll have to read the book yourself to find out if they get back together, or if Olivia moves on and finds new love, or any love at all. Even though the book seems unrealistic because of the people Olivia works with, it¿s still worth it to find out what happens to her sister, to her job as a producer, and to her love life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    Simply Wonderful

    This book instantly pulls you into the life of Olivia Hunt, and those she loves. It's heart-breaking, funny, and so true at times. It's definately not a book I'll forget in 6 months. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2