Customer Reviews for

True To Form

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Engaging

This+is+my+favorite+book+of+Ms.+Berg%27s.+Great+characters+and+a+story+well+told.+

posted by 7427284 on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Harriet klausner

As usual harriet has to come along with her cliff note book report and ruin another book. Please bn, when are you going to do something about this obnoxious plot spoiling poster? She needs to be banned and her plot spoiling posts deleted.

posted by 8888649 on February 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Engaging

    This+is+my+favorite+book+of+Ms.+Berg%27s.+Great+characters+and+a+story+well+told.+

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Easy read!

    Mrs. Bergs books are easy reads there are no hidden meaning behind the words or codes you have to decipher. I like how you can see yourself in some of the situations Katie is in and have the same thoughts. I remember myself thinking "Oh I felt that way before". I would give this book a second read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. True to Form is the third in the Katie Nash series. You don't have to read the first two to follow along with the story, though. Berg does an excellent job of filling in Katie's background for those who haven't followed the series. Katie is a realistic, relatable character. You get pulled into the story by her humor and charm, and miss her when the story ends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2003

    NEW FAN - I'M HOOKED NOW!

    I read this book last weekend, when I thought I would be depressed being stuck inside the house because of a snow storm. This is the first book I've read by Elizabeth Berg and I have to get another one. Katie is such a bright, interesting young girl. Elizabeth Berg knows just how to make you feel exactly what Katie is feeling. She is so honest about her feelings, it seems that she took some parts of my childhood and wrote them down. Strongly recommended!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    A Fun Summer Read!

    Like the others here, I have thoroughly enjoyed every Elizabeth Berg book I have read, and the Katie trillogy has been entertaining! I love the way she talks (and thinks)...reminds me of my own 'self-talk' as a kid!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Spoiler

    Review, don't rewrite the book, don' t have to buy it now!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Harriet klausner

    As usual harriet has to come along with her cliff note book report and ruin another book. Please bn, when are you going to do something about this obnoxious plot spoiling poster? She needs to be banned and her plot spoiling posts deleted.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    Love Ms. Berg's books

    Read this one in 2 nites!!! Love her writing and hope to 'see' Katie again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    The Katie Trilogy

    I have yet to read an Elizabeth Berg book I did not like. Do yourself a favor and read these books in order:'Durable Goods', 'Joy School' and 'True to Form'. I could not put these books down. 'True to Form' is just perfection. I certainly hope Ms. Berg honors us with another book about Katie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    Warm-fuzzy, poignant, funny, beautiful!

    Words cannot express, especially having just finished _True to Form_. I feel like anything I tried to say would just seem trite compared to the absolutely *true* voice Ms. Berg has given to Katie in this remarkable book. (See, what did I tell you? So trite, but still true! (My review, not the book. (which is true, but not trite.)))<br><br> Anyway. I stayed up until 5am finishing _True to Form_, and had to jump out of bed to submit this review, hence my rambling. I will just have to be satisfied with saying this: <br><br> If you have ever been any of the following: a young girl; a person who notices beauty in nature and in human behavior; a person who has done something for which you end up being ashamed; or a person who has learned from your mistakes, you will feel a deep connection with this book. If you have somehow escaped being any of the above, you will still deeply enjoy _True to Form_, simply for Ms. Berg's disarming observational style. <br><br> Thank you Ms. Berg! This is the first book of yours that I have read, and I am looking forward devouring the rest of your work!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2002

    The Best of Katie Nash

    This is the best book of the three books. I hate the thought that this is the last book about Katie. Surely, it can't be. This is Elizabeth Berg at her finest. Please, more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Lovely story

    I have always enjoyed this author's writing and this book is a sweet, poignant story. It took me back down memory lane to my early teenage years even though my growing up years were later than the time period this story is set in. This is a fast read and a great story about growing up, friendships and family. It would make a good book club discussion book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    The book brought back memories of my youth. I laughed; I cried;

    The book brought back memories of my youth. I laughed; I cried; I enjoyed. It was a relaxed read that is intended for pre-teens. It moved fast and covered so many of the trials and feelings that the young experience. Being set in the 60's, I could relate the character and events to my own youth. I enjoyed Elizabeth Berg's style of writing very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    Finally a heartfelt message to young teens

    This book takes you back in time to when things seemed so confussing and complicated, a time when u had a lot of self discorvery to do. E. Berg sets the story up with true to life events and memories that are easy to relate too. Great book for all ages!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    engaging coming of age character study

    In 1961, her military rigid father informs thirteen-year-old Katie Nash that since she is now grown up she needs employment during the summer. Katie thinks of obtaining a job at a nearby concession stand, but her dad must not believe she is that grown up because he arranges her work. She is to help the elderly Randolphs and to baby sit the Wexler males spawned in hell. Katie¿s opinion is interpreted as sassy talking back further proving how grown up her father feels his daughter is. <P>A trip to Texas to visit her former best friend turns into a disaster as both have moved on different paths since they last saw one another. Back home, the mother of her friend Cynthia, forces Katie to join the local scouts. Katie believes she is now a member of a the loser¿s club. As the summer of her discontent moves towards the beginning of the school year, Katie learns the meaning of friendship at a high cost with only her stepmother as her ally. <P>TRUE TO FORM is an engaging coming of age character study that focuses on an adolescent¿s struggle with changes in her life forces her to look inside herself. The story line is breezy yet poignant, not an easy feat but accomplished by talented Elizabeth Berg. The author keeps life¿s lessons lighthearted for the reader, but deep and angst-laden for the lead protagonist, who is the puissant key to an effective, entertaining elucidation on maturing. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2