Customer Reviews for

True to the Game

Average Rating 4.5
( 725 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(622)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Classic Urban Read

This book was initially published in 1999 so to all of you young heads talking about this book was boring, you know nothing. 1999 was a time a little different than today so be patient read it and then read parts 2 and 3. I guarentee you will love them.

posted by Sheena-Baby on October 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

What's the hype about? Never a 'classic' in my book!

How can anyone say this book was entertaining? This book was terribly boring and pointless. There was no climax to this so called 'classic novel' so the book never took off. When did the plot thickened? NEVER! The whole book was flat, dull, and and definitley boring. Th...
How can anyone say this book was entertaining? This book was terribly boring and pointless. There was no climax to this so called 'classic novel' so the book never took off. When did the plot thickened? NEVER! The whole book was flat, dull, and and definitley boring. This book didn't bring me up or down-It took and left me no where! It was a steady slow-paced plot. How disappointing. What's confusing is the fact that everyone is raving about this 'great book.' If you want to read a real urban-lit tale that doesn't disappoint try finding something else. The attention and praise this book has recieved is ridiculous. As an avid urban-fiction book reader for many years I can definitley say this one is way over-rated. Don't waste your time getting this,because it's a YAWN!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Very Shallow

    I wont be reading part 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    A Must Read

    Off the hook is all I can say. I read all three books within 2 weeks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    how true is the message derived from this book

    In my opinion, this book is leading people and young people in gerneral to believe that they can live thier lives any kind of way they want and still go to heaven. Teri Woods is leading people astray and she will have to pay for the stumbling blocks she is putting before God's people, especially those that are lost. They need to know the truth that what the bible says is the wages of sin is death and that people who die and have not repented of their sins will go to hell. When Sahira dies, the author states that she sees a white light and that God comes to get her and takes her to heaven. My bible tells me that prostitutes go to hell. a prostitute is someone who goes with men for money. Isn't that what Sahira's lifestyle was all about, the highest bidder to pay her for her favors and keep her in the lap of luxury, not to mention that the type of men she went after were men whose job day in and day out was to sell poison to our black brothers and sisters. Poison that caused people to steal, lie, and deprive their children of food, love and shelter just for another hit. To me Sahira was in double jeopardy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    Readers over 18 Beware!

    This book is definately for young teen-agers because they are the only ones who wouldn't catch the obvious spelling and grammatical errors. I am shocked the publisher let it go to the printer without spell check. Very bland and non-descript the only one who can really understand what is going on in this story is the writer. She forgot she wasn't the only one reading it and sometimes loses you as if she is in her own world and not letting us in the share the scenery. It does use very real situations and terms for anybody who knows anything about 'the game'. But for anyone over 17 and a serious reader go get The Coldest Winter Ever. This book is book isn't worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2003

    Don't waste your time

    If you are looking for a book that using ancient slang and is highly predictable, this book is for you. I thought the book was accurate in potraying superficial characters, however I found the style of the author to be insulting to anyone with the least bit of intelligence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2003

    Just Average...

    I bought this book two weeks ago thinking it was gonna be the bomb like I had heard from others. What a disappointment. Now it wasn't a bad book, but it just wasn't something I could get into and lose myself in. It was confusing with the over abundance of characters and the grammar was awful. Even if it was a self published book, more time should've been taken in to correct the repeated mispellings. I read a book by Omar Tyree back in the summer that was self published called 'Capital City' and that book was OFF THE HOOK! More time was spent with it. It was detailed and the characters were funny, but it also told the truths about the reality of living the fast life. True to the Game took me two weeks to read. Usually when I read a real good book, I'm done with it in about three days. I expected more from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    Even two stars are generous!

    Hate to burst everyone's bubble, but this book was far from good. I first got this book because I read the reviews of the Sister Souljah (spelling) book "The Coldest Winter Ever" (which I absolutely loved by the way)on this very same B&N site. Someone had typed in one of the rewiews that this Terri Woods novel was better. So I had to check it out for myself. Because I loved Sister's book I thought I would love this one as well since it had the same premise. Not only was I disappointed I couldn't believe that this book cost some $15.00 and Sister's book cost a mere $8. Doesn't make sense to me since Sister's book put this piece of work to shame. Not only was this book childishly written, example: "he said. "she said. "Gena said. "Quadir said. Ending each sentence like this made me feel like I was reading a kindergarden homework assignment. Can you give me more detail please!!!! Let me feel the book. Please?!! I wasn't feeling that. As well as the grammatical errors. Who edited this book? Ray Charles? I even cirled some mistakes(ex:check page 92 "Don't <where> nothing bright yellow or orange."). After reading my third or fourth mistake I put down the book for a month. I didnt pick it up again until yesterday. I finished it today not cause I wanted to I just hate wasting money. If I buy it, I will read it. Also, I didn't like that the book was mainly dialogue. Everyone had something to say. There was no detail just talking. I couldn't even get a clear picture in my head of what the characters looked like! Every page a new character was introduced. I came to the conclusion the author just liked to make up names. What killed me was the ending. I'm not going to give it away but basically the main character got what she wanted. How is that realistic??!!With all the stuff that went down it this book----I really dont know. A happily ever after ending is not realistic in the real life game. Plus at the end of this novel there was a little "note of wisdom" I guess you can say. Basically stating that a life of crime, greed, and materialism will lead you to a destruction of yourself and your community. That is all true, but how does it go with the story that was just told. Hello!!!!!!!!! The main character just got everything she wanted. Hard life? I don't think so. To sum up, those who are thinking of getting this book......DON'T!! Save your money!!! This book is not worth it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    It wasn't all that!!

    I had my hopes up for this book because I've heard so much about it. I only got half way through it and had to stop reading. I just couldn't get into it. Like others have said, this book is no where near as good as B-More Careful. I love gritty fictional books that take place on the inner city streets but this book just jumped around too much. I got confused because so many character were thrown in. I'm not a writer, but I'm sure I could have done a much better job at writing this story. I was truly disappointed! And Teri Woods definetly need to brush up on her english skills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1