Customer Reviews for

Truman

Average Rating 4
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Twice the man and president FDR ever was

This is a great biography of a great man and without question, one of the greatest presidents of all time, eclipsing even myth of FDR. The FDR myth will probably live for another 25 years, but Truman will outlast and outshine it because history eventually forgets polit...
This is a great biography of a great man and without question, one of the greatest presidents of all time, eclipsing even myth of FDR. The FDR myth will probably live for another 25 years, but Truman will outlast and outshine it because history eventually forgets political image and concentrates on facts. History confirms the humble nature of his beginnings and the fact that he never took himself too seriously. He inherited one of the most crisis driven periods in American history and essentially salvaged the mess that FDR had made of European Post War policies. Truman and a few other great Americans essentially saved Western Europe from going communist and prevented the enslavement of millions of people. This book tells the Truman story in great detail and includes Truman¿s mistakes as well as triumphs. It is wonderful to see someone tell the post WWII story truthfully. For people wanting to gain an understanding of the driving forces pushing America¿s involvement in world affairs after WWII, I would rate it an excellent source. One of the reasons why I rate this book so high is because the author went to the trouble to establish context for the decisions Truman made. We may not always agree with his choices, but we can understand the factors and/or the why that drove those choices. And, more often than not, he made the right ones under great pressure. The nation could certainly use a leader of his caliber at this juncture in history, but I doubt either party in this political climate would support such an individual.

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Less for the Paperback Than the eBook???!?

So, wait - it's $12.94 for the paperback version of this book, but $14.99 for the eBook version??????!???!!! I guess I'll enjoy my new Nook Color for Angry Birds and check the book out at the library. Tsk, tsk - Barnes & Noble.

posted by BadKittenOnARampage on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 93 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    I was drawn to the author as well as the subject. Anyone interes

    I was drawn to the author as well as the subject. Anyone interested in American history will be fascinated with the man who lead this nation through a period of time that was transforming. Some may feel the early history of the Truman ancestry to be tedious but having read it I realize this compilation of early influences is a large part of what shaped this great leader. When I look back on the negative aspects of the Truman presidency, it would seem trivial compared to some of the modern antics we have endured. This biography was detailed and extremely insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    I thought this was a wonderful book! I believe the author captur

    I thought this was a wonderful book! I believe the author captured what a gracious person H. Truman was and that he really tried to do what was right and good for the American people. It is truly astonishing that what happened politically inn his day IS STILL HAPPENING NOW and how one political party (the one that recently lost) has not changed one bit in regard to the attempt to divide America, to give to those who need little to nothing and to take from those who have little or nothing. I must read for those who wish to open their eyes to what is definitely wrong with "that" political party!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book.  Very enlightening!  It was fascin

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book.  Very enlightening!  It was fascinating learning about this extremely critical time in world history and the decisions the shaped our future.  This book opened my eyes to what really happened in Korea.  Thank you David McCullough for your scholarly work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Excellent Read

    David McCullough does an great job in telling this story of a President few seem to remember. A terrific history lesson and one that makes you feel you were there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Great book, but paper back is cheaper ? WHAT GIVES?

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Fantastic read!

    David McCullough has a gift for writing. There is a reason he is a Pulitzer Prize winner. 'Truman' is over 900 pages long and yet almost too short. It is one of the best biographies I can remember. The life of Harry Truman is treated with care, dignity and honestly. Having lived through this time, I still found some of the historical perspectives fresh and vibrant, and revealing of some of the 'back history' I had missed or overlooked.
    Loved this book! By the way, the Nook Book version made it sooooooo much easier to carry around with me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Great short read

    This is a great insight into a period of time most of us have not learned enough about. David McCullough is a great writer so this isn't boring or pedantic. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Great book

    Really good a little long for his accomplishments

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    You should know this.

    The life of one of the most important presidents of the USA. Truly fascinating and inforative. A must for all to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Bio of Truman

    I just finished this book. Its amazing how detailed it is while at the same time, its a very easy and enjoyable read. I didnt know a lot about Truman. Now I feel like I really knew him and what he was about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    A must read!

    After reading David McCullough's insightful portrait of this true American hero, I made the trip to Independence, MO, to visit the Truman Presidential Library. This is definitely a must for all who become fans of Harry Truman after reading this tremendous biography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    Great Book

    Enjoyed McCullough's Truman very much. The author does a great job describing the context around which Truman made many of his decisions, including the atomic bomb and the firing of MacArthur. I hated to read the end of the book because I didn't want Truman to die in the end! Great reading!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    More than you expected from a Presidential bio

    Truman was an extraordinary man. Like Luncoln, he taught himself everything. His accomplishments go far beyond and before his presidency. As you read it, you can the smell cigar smoke at the political meetings. How he got to be FDR's 4th VP, and thus President, kept me on the edge of my seat.

    It is worth shlepping on buses and subways (I am a NYer). On the day I finished the book, I accidentially (or perhaps karma) ran into David McCullough and thanked him for writing such a terrific bio.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2004

    Great, can't go wrong with this book/audio

    You cannot go wrong with this audio. It is quiet detailed and easy listening. It is great for any person this is a history buff or enjoys learning about the exploits of great individuals who go against great odds. It is highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2004

    History provides lessons for the present

    Reading how Truman was viewed by his contemporaries: dumb, ineffective, corrupt, a sure loser for re-election, etc; it provides valuable insight in how we judge the effectiveness of our presidents. A president's term can only be judged in the long-view. Upon finishing the book, one will have a much greater appreciation for the job itself and for Truman in particular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    No holds barred

    This book is no holds barred. This is a well written biography of president. I began reading this book, because I knew little about Truman. This book is fascinating and real. The author's ability to truly take the reader into a story and allow you to participate every step of the way is amazing. I have read other presidential biographies but this truly takes you to the heart of a man and his presidency.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2001

    outstanding

    A great story about the american's american. McCullough portrays a man of the people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2000

    Anything is Possible

    Democrat or Republican aside, the authors ability to uncover layer after layer of Truman's character, actions, and perception by friend or foe, allows the reader to draw his own conclusions about our 32nd (like Harry would say) President. For a book so rich with technical information and supporting documentation of this period in history it flows smoothly and never fails to captivate the reader. To fail at so many ventures in his life and continue to move forward is a true testiment to faith in one's own abilities, family and God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2000

    'Truman' extremely well-researched, informational, and entertaining

    'Truman' provides wonderful insight into the man who faced more difficult and heartbreaking decisions than most of us could imagine. The author brilliantly captures Truman's personality as son, soldier, husband, father, politician, and president. As a teenage newcomer to the fascinating world of history, I found 'Truman' to be both entertaining and extremely factual. Anyone interested in 20th century history, past presidents, or the post-WWII era would love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 93 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5