Customer Reviews for

Trump: The Art of the Deal

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Great Book!

    After reading this book I felt very inspired and inclined to succeed. Another book that also has helped me out that was refered to me when I bought this book was "Life After Foreclosure" by Dean Wegner. Overall this book was great and I would recomend both!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    A Good Reading And Reference ONLY For the serious minded Entrepreneur

    This highly readable book I would recommend ONLY to the clear and serious minded entrepreneur. Trump is a master at getting the right jobs done pretty much at the righ time. His eleven steps elucidated in the text are a platform of wisdom that he has come by from his family, education and the choices he has grown used to making in his ambitious professional as well as in his private life. Mr. Trump offers no panaceas in this co-authored hand-book. I found that he tends to invite the reader to posture to their fullest as a person, planner and doer. Like all good books you may want to return to the text more than once. Every good reading experience opens new vistas and parts of your mind. You hopefully will feel motivated to evalute and re-invent yourself from time to time as Mr. Trump seems to like to do with himself. I now have read the book more than eleven times. I can see reading it as much as I need to return to its pages to either clarify or hone an idea. It does need a better index, actually a better prepared index for the readers that will come to this reading with actual results in mind. The book is written in a manner that will also invite a bit of 'reading between the lines' as well as reading behind the scenes. Mr. Trump has a formidable ego and an interesting stage presence. He blows his own horn, a lot. Which is also a lesson of merit. I read this as being a sharing of an example for some that may chose to champion their own projects in much the manner that Mr. Trump goes to battle for what he apparently believes. In my mentoring program for new business associates, IBOs, in my own growing Quixtar business as well as in building my Language/Literacy centers, there is much immediate and useful energy in this little book. I happily recommend and share this with all the clear minded and serious business people that I know. Good reading!!! All the best Dr. DuMaine, The Master-Teacher

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Great Book

    I think it was a gret read, even though it wasnt what I expected which was a how too book. Stll I would recomend this book too anyone interested in business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Trump

    Above astonishing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Phenominal must read book for anyone looking for business or life advice

    Donald Trump is an incredable businessman and human being. I know there are many people that do not care for him, PLEASE read this book it will change your mind.
    The book is full of sound business advice. Even more it is inspirational, encouraging and offers something for every reader not just business people. You will not be sorry you bought this book, it has changed my approach to life. Mr Trump is a hard working person he does not sit back and dictate, he is out proactively involved in everyday business. He has truely earned the right to be as wealthy as he is and shares his keys to sucess freely with his readers.
    I went and bought all of his books after reading this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    There is a Reason Mr. Trump is So Successful

    I have become a student of Mr. Trump - having read four of his books now. This book really explains what makes Trump so successful. It's not an accident that he has become so successful at what he does. Read this book to discover how he did it. He tells all! http://www.photographybyski.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Donald Trump in a class by himself

    Art of the Deal came out the same year that I made my first trip to the capital of the world and reading it dismantles the myth that Donald J. Trump was born with a silver spoon in his mouth which gave him an edge over others. It illustrates that character matters. Character is the number one ingredient that produces competent leadership. Without leadership everything else fails and society disintegrates. The other remarkable thing about the Donald is that he did not compromise his principles to get to the top. If you hold on it will eventually pay off in the long run and that is the most valuable lesson to be learned from this book. All in all it is an American classic and should be on a must read list for all, young and old and those in between because it is social science 101.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    Entrepreneur

    Trump is one of the funnest authors that I have read to say the least. 'Trump The Art of The Deal' is amazing and filled with uplifting stories, and a week in the life of Donald Trump. Trump starts you out putting yourself in his shoes for one week, and wow it made me enjoy being a student. Then he starts actually giving tips to the reader which I will take to heart because if they worked for Donald, it can work for me, and look how far it has taken him. Background is not a bad thing, he explains growing up and making some of his first real entrepreneurial deals that made him big. I liked this book because it influenced my life with techniques from a very well known businessman. It was also easy to read, no complicated words or phrases like 'Beowulf' or 'Romeo and Juliet.' Although there are ups and downs to every book. There were not many negative sides to this novel, mainly the fact that Trump woulod sometimes explain a situation for to long or give to much detail that the reader did not need to know. Otherwise I would strongly recommend 'Trump The Art of The Deal' to anyone. On the cover there is a quote saying 'He makes one believe in the American dream again.' - New York Times. This is true, if he can do it the way he did it, then anyone has the possibilities to. I think that the main theme that Trump is trying to get across is, if you are not going to try, then don't complain to the person that did try. Also to believe in yourself, and anything is possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    Awesome

    It is very informative and interesting, it goes in depth about all of his deals before 1987(when the book was written) and it shows how he got started. It was before he became very cocky so it isnt just a flamboyant book about his accomplishments

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Highly Recommended!

    This book is as smooth as its namesake author. Long before 'You're fired!' entered the popular lexicon, 'The Donald' was piecing together deals that changed Manhattan's skyline. The book includes a diary of Trump's typical week. He flirts with a hostile takeover of Holiday Inn (which nets him tens of millions of dollars), has a friendly conversation with radio personality Don Imus, selects Christmas decorations for the Trump Tower atrium, chats with NBC executives, talks with Ivan Boesky just two weeks before Boesky pleads guilty to insider trading, meets with a top New York banker who begs him for his business, has a conversation with Missouri senator John Danforth and speaks with international designer Calvin Klein ¿ all by Tuesday. If you conclude that Trump is a self-promoting, silver-spooned name-dropper, take your shirt off now and hand it to him ¿ before he tears it off your back. Trump plays for keeps. Tony Schwarz has done his usual masterful job of co-authoring this book. (If nicely spun anecdotes could be used as collateral, Schwarz could be a real estate magnate himself.) Of course, some of the less rosy chapters in Trump's career are downplayed, and his major bankruptcy problems (and bounce back) happened after this book's initial publication. We strongly recommend it to anyone who wants an entertaining look at some of the actual reality show behind Donald Trump's towering success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2004

    EXCELLENT !!!

    If you have a business or not... this is a must read. I couldn't put this book down once I started. Looking forward to 'Think Like a Billionaire'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2004

    The best Trump written book I ever read

    If you love Trump, you must read all books written by him. And if you are going to, Art of the Deal is highly recommended to be the first choice. This book is a hall of fame. Trump, you are brilliant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    A Book for the Wise

    This novel begins with the reader getting inside of Donald Trump's mind and daily routine that has made him such a successful mogul in the real estate business. The reader feels as if Donald is talking to them while giving pointers on how to close deals. The chapters are divided amongst the most important deals that made Trump the billionaire that he is today. What I loved about this book is that Donald Trump shows various techniques in which to make deals and how to approach potential buyers and sellers. Much on how Mr. Trump goes about learning and knowing 'The Art of the Deal' is through the many personal experiences that he has gone through the past 3 decades. Donald is shown to be a down to earth guy but can be very demanding when it comes to getting what he wants. Another great accolade about the novel is the fact that it shows people on how things work in the real world. This novel focuses on bettering bad habit of doing business to a great way of accomplishing what one wants in a deal. I would recommend this novel to anyone who looks to invest in real estate as well as learning the ropes of what it takes to finalize the deal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    True Thrump style. Must read for every buisness major! No wonder Thrump's a BILLIONAIR...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2