Customer Reviews for

The Trumpet of the Swan

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    The Trumpet of the Swan is a children┬┐s novel written by E.






    The Trumpet of the Swan is a children’s novel written by E.B White. This book is a folk-tale story about a swan learning how to believe in himself. Sam, a young boy, shows sympathy for a helpless swan that can’t get his voice. The swan’s name is Louis and his father doesn’t like an imperfect family, but he believes that his son may be able to get his voice. Will Louis ever find his voice?




    Sam Beaver is an eleven year old boy that has black hair and brown eyes like an Indian. Sam also walks like an Indian too, and really likes to visit wild places. Sam finds a Trumpeter Swan at the pond and he has never seen anything like that in his life. In chapter four, the cygnets hatch from the eggs and say hi to Sam, but one of them pulls Sam's shoe laces. The male cob is excited that he is a father now. On page 42, the mother swan gets the father's attention due to Louis's lack of voice. She says “Have you noticed anything different about Louis?” The father swan suffers from anxiety because has an imperfect son. 




    Louis thinks about his communication problem and thinks of his own answer. He will learn how to read and write. He carries a slate and chalk and is able to talk to anyone who can read. Louis spends the night at the Ritz. When the Boatman takes Louis to the Ritz, the clerk has a hard time accepting the swan as a guest. Louis does not like his job. On page 179, Louis says “This job is a waste of my time; I could be playing my trumpet right now.” The swans like to go to sleep when the sun goes down, but musicians seem to wake up a sundown and play most of the night. Louis does not enjoy the noise and chaos of the club.




    Louis and Serena come home to the Red Rock Lakes. The old cob receives a letter saying that he has to pay four million dollars to pay for the trumpet damage. Meanwhile, Serena and Louis plan out their life together. The Greening Spring is the finale. Louis and Serena are all set for a wonderful life. 




    The author uses the literary device onomatopoeia by throwing in the word “Ko-hoh, ko-hoh!” The author was describing how the trumpets sound high above in the air. On page 167, the author uses the literary device rhythm and rhyme. He uses this literary device by putting in the lyrics of a song Serena was singing. The song says “Lul- la- by and good night, with-ros-es-be- dight”. This was in her performance before Louis came and surprised her.




    The theme of the book took place in chapter five. Louis knows he’s nothing like his siblings, who have a voice. He tries to fit in and become like the regular kids, but he can’t. On page 46, the father swan says “If it’s really true that Louis has no voice, then I shall provide him with a device of some sort, to enable him to make a lot of noise.” He is showing that he cares about his son and will do anything for him. The theme of this book is family is the most important thing because his mother and father are concerned about their children and want to help Louis all that they can.




    I would give this book four stars because it’s a great book where lessons can be taught and learned and I would recommend it to anyone. One of those lessons is to never give up and to believe in yourself. Louis gave up because he could never find his voice, but in the end he found ways he could find it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    A must...

    A wonderful, timeless classic. For my new grandson's collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    love it - you have to read it

    I love . it is a good story and touches your heart.Louis is so smart!!
    Awsome book please read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    hauntingly beautiful and touching

    Louis the swan can't honk! That might not seem too much of a problem until one realizes that this is how he and other swans communicate, and certainly how he can win his lady-love.

    At turns heartwarming and funny, this is has always been one of my favorite children's books. highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    The Trumpet of the Swan (1970) Written by E. B. White

    E. B. White writes a great fiction book about a swan, Loius, who learns how to communicate in an interesting way.
    "The Trumpet of the Swan" is a book about a swan who is born different than all of the other swans. He can't talk!
    Louis knows he could get into school, if only he could learn to read and write. Sam Beaver, a young boy who learns how to communicate with Loius and later becomes his friend, is destined to help Louis get in. But the teacher, Mrs. Hammerbotham, isn't quite sure about having a swan that plays the trumpet in her class.
    I really enjoyed this book because it was fun to follow along with Louis' story of how he leanrs to communicate with others. one weakness about this book is that there are many chapters in the book and the words are small so it would be difficult for younger readers.
    I would recomend "The Trumpet of the Swan" for younger readers because the vocabulary is easy to understand and I think that they would like this book more than an older audience.
    My overall rating of this book is a four out of five star book.
    E. B. White has also written some other great and very enjoyable books such as "Charlotte's Web" and "Stewart Little".

    ~Erin~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Such a joy!

    At my granddaughter's urging, and as this book was one I used to read to her when she was a child, she wanted her son to reap the same rewards from the story she did. I can hardly wait to read the story to him. It is a wonderful lesson on perseverance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I like the book

    I liked the book because it shares a story of a bird and a boy living life

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Great for reading out loud to pre-kindergartner

    While the concepts can be mature for a preschooler, they were easily simplified and discussed with my 4.5 year old daughter. Out of the 20 chapter books I've read to her, this was by far her favorite (and mine). The thought of a swan that can write on a chalkboard is hilarious to my daughter. This is a classic to be read time and time again. We now give this book to 4 and 5 year olds for their birthdays. It's very under-rated as a read-aloud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    Good Book

    This was a good book because it followed the swan from birth and told the story from his point of view. The swan thought like a human, which was weird. I read this book in five days. Nine-year-old reviewer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    The best book I ever opened

    Louis the Swan is a trumpeter swan who can't make a peep. His father steals a trumpet so he can woo his love, Serena. Of course, Louis the Swan has a big heart, and wants to help his dad pay for his debt because Louis's Dad 'stole' the trumpet. Go on a high flying adventure that is heartwarming, creative and is a very descriptive story. Read the Trumpet of the Swan Today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Hearwarming

    I read this as a child in the second or third grade for a class and it filled me so much that about eight years later I'm still reeling over it. It's a great book to buy for your kids and teaches them that not only is it okay to be different, but to follow your dreams. It also teaches a child that it doesn't matter what the differences, you can be friends with a wide variety of people, even if they aren't just like you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    A heart warming book

    This book will warm just about any person's heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    The other Louis

    I love this little gem of a book! Sam, 11-year-old boy, discovers the nest of a trumpeter swan family, one of which baby swans is born without a voice. This is the story of Louis the swan's persistance and determination to gain the heart of his true-love, even though he has no voice with which to woo her. I love the old cobb, who fancies himself a wise and poetic bird, and who waxes eloquent and long-winded on many an occasion. White has a dry and wonderful sense of humor! If you never read this when you were 10, it's time to go back and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2007

    Winning someone's affection

    This is a children's tale of romance that brings the heart into play when a trumpet swan has to go way out of his way and then(artificially) call on his love with a 'real' trumpet. Most would think she should love him for who he is, but then she does, since who he is is a determined male swan that wants to love a female swan and wants her love in return.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    This is the best book I ever read!

    This book is famnoninal! I love this book and all of it's vocabulary. The pictures are also very good,there in balck and white but still very detailed and pretty. If you ever get a chance to buy it or rent this book I would recamend it for anyone who likes to read about funny stuff and you would also like it if you like swans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    Swan Song...

    This book has hillariose moments that i was laughing for so long. This is a comedy and adventure book and its hard to mix those two together...... this is by far one of the BEST books i've ever read and i dont read a lot of books. This one just caught my eye!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    my favorite book i ever read

    This is the best book I have ever read! I enjoyed this book. My favorite charter was louis, the swan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Trumpeter Swans

    The genre of my book is double fantasy which means animal characters and human characters speak. The book I am reading talks about swans, and these swans aren't just regular swans they are trumpeter swans. Trumpeter swans are big white birds with powerful wings. In this story there is a little boy named Sam who likes to explore. While Sam was exploring he walked into the swans land, so they seen him as a threat and were ready too attack him but the mother swan told her husband not to do anything since the was not bothering her.The reason why the swans seen Sam as a threat because he was a human being and they are used to humans trying to harm them.A couple of weeks later the swans had four new baby trumpeter swans that were good and healthy.One day all the swans were playing in the pond and the mother noticed that one of her swans was not saying anything but the mother didn't think anything of it.So another day all the swans were playing and the mother noticed that one of her swans wasn't saying anything again so she mentioned it to her husband and he said he didn't see anything unusual with that particular swan.One day the famiy went out for flying lessons and all the other swans were making noises and that same swan was not saying anything.The parents finally discovered that one of there swans had a speech problem.Sam later seen the swan alone and noticed to that the swan was very quiet.The swan decided maybe if he wore a board around his neck to communicate with the other animals all he would have to do is go to school and learn how to read and write, but that didn't work out to well because he still could not trumpet.One day the swan broke into a instrument store and stole a trumpet o he could be able to trumpet and talk to other animals.Every since that day the swan has not had any problems with communicating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    A good book for your library

    The Trumpet of the Swan is a very good story about a swan named Louis that cannot honk. He accomplishes many things throughout the story. I enjoyed reading this story. The writing fits perfectly the age intended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    GREAT BOOK! ONE OF THE BEST I'VE EVER READ!

    This is one of the best books I've ever read. Super Book! Great! Would Highly reccommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4