Customer Reviews for

The Trumpet of the Swan

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    A must...

    A wonderful, timeless classic. For my new grandson's collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    hauntingly beautiful and touching

    Louis the swan can't honk! That might not seem too much of a problem until one realizes that this is how he and other swans communicate, and certainly how he can win his lady-love.

    At turns heartwarming and funny, this is has always been one of my favorite children's books. highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Such a joy!

    At my granddaughter's urging, and as this book was one I used to read to her when she was a child, she wanted her son to reap the same rewards from the story she did. I can hardly wait to read the story to him. It is a wonderful lesson on perseverance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I like the book

    I liked the book because it shares a story of a bird and a boy living life

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Great for reading out loud to pre-kindergartner

    While the concepts can be mature for a preschooler, they were easily simplified and discussed with my 4.5 year old daughter. Out of the 20 chapter books I've read to her, this was by far her favorite (and mine). The thought of a swan that can write on a chalkboard is hilarious to my daughter. This is a classic to be read time and time again. We now give this book to 4 and 5 year olds for their birthdays. It's very under-rated as a read-aloud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    Good Book

    This was a good book because it followed the swan from birth and told the story from his point of view. The swan thought like a human, which was weird. I read this book in five days. Nine-year-old reviewer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    The best book I ever opened

    Louis the Swan is a trumpeter swan who can't make a peep. His father steals a trumpet so he can woo his love, Serena. Of course, Louis the Swan has a big heart, and wants to help his dad pay for his debt because Louis's Dad 'stole' the trumpet. Go on a high flying adventure that is heartwarming, creative and is a very descriptive story. Read the Trumpet of the Swan Today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Hearwarming

    I read this as a child in the second or third grade for a class and it filled me so much that about eight years later I'm still reeling over it. It's a great book to buy for your kids and teaches them that not only is it okay to be different, but to follow your dreams. It also teaches a child that it doesn't matter what the differences, you can be friends with a wide variety of people, even if they aren't just like you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    A heart warming book

    This book will warm just about any person's heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    The other Louis

    I love this little gem of a book! Sam, 11-year-old boy, discovers the nest of a trumpeter swan family, one of which baby swans is born without a voice. This is the story of Louis the swan's persistance and determination to gain the heart of his true-love, even though he has no voice with which to woo her. I love the old cobb, who fancies himself a wise and poetic bird, and who waxes eloquent and long-winded on many an occasion. White has a dry and wonderful sense of humor! If you never read this when you were 10, it's time to go back and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2007

    Winning someone's affection

    This is a children's tale of romance that brings the heart into play when a trumpet swan has to go way out of his way and then(artificially) call on his love with a 'real' trumpet. Most would think she should love him for who he is, but then she does, since who he is is a determined male swan that wants to love a female swan and wants her love in return.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    This is the best book I ever read!

    This book is famnoninal! I love this book and all of it's vocabulary. The pictures are also very good,there in balck and white but still very detailed and pretty. If you ever get a chance to buy it or rent this book I would recamend it for anyone who likes to read about funny stuff and you would also like it if you like swans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    Swan Song...

    This book has hillariose moments that i was laughing for so long. This is a comedy and adventure book and its hard to mix those two together...... this is by far one of the BEST books i've ever read and i dont read a lot of books. This one just caught my eye!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    my favorite book i ever read

    This is the best book I have ever read! I enjoyed this book. My favorite charter was louis, the swan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    GREAT BOOK! ONE OF THE BEST I'VE EVER READ!

    This is one of the best books I've ever read. Super Book! Great! Would Highly reccommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    best book of e.b. white

    this book is wonderful for kids and adults about louis cant talk so he's father steals a trumpet and the funny part is louis's father everytime he speaks he has to make a long speach as if he were the president its very funny book and wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    A very great book

    It is about a swan who can't talk so his dad stole a trumpet from the music store. It has a lot of surprises and it is very funny and cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2005

    im a good reader

    this book is about a swan can't talk like a swan, so he tries to take a trumpet from the music store. Then now, he can talk like a swan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2004

    One of the best books of all time

    I love this book. I read it for summer reading 2 years ago and it was very good, exciting, and something new. It was so amazing and you should really read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    Intrigue for the Whole Family

    I read with my 6 year old daughter before bed almost every night. Dad is not a book lover so this task is almost always mine. When our daughter convinced dad to read with her one night he agreed to a chapter...and was enchanted enough that he had to read more just to see what was really going on. Even grandpa has been drawn in by this book. Its a story about doing what's right, a love story, a story about the wonders of nature and overcoming life's challenges. Top notch all the way around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3