Customer Reviews for

Trust (Bannon Brothers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Trust is book one of the Bannon Brothers trilogy

RJ Bannon needs something to do while he's on the last leg of his two year rehab from a drug bust gone bad, why not the 25 year old cold case of the disappearance of Ann Montgomery age 3 daughter of wealthy Hugh Montgomery. What RJ doesn't know is that by reopening this...
RJ Bannon needs something to do while he's on the last leg of his two year rehab from a drug bust gone bad, why not the 25 year old cold case of the disappearance of Ann Montgomery age 3 daughter of wealthy Hugh Montgomery. What RJ doesn't know is that by reopening this case he's stepped in the middle of a hornets nest and someone's bound to get stung, will it be him, artist Erin Randall that he's taken a shine to, sheriff Hoebel who wants him out or Hugh Montgomery himself. RJ Bannon's about to find out it's not who you know it's who you "Trust" that counts.
Janet Dailey brings us a contemporary romance with a good dose of suspense and mystery inside with a plot that belongs on CNN because who wouldn't be interested in the very cold case of a missing heiress. She brings us this with an everyday easy to read dialogue that makes the reading go very smoothly. She give us characters that run the gamut from larger than life horse breeder millionaires to low life ex-cop/cons to your girl next door. Her characters are all defined very well and she makes sure we know as much about them as we need to so that by the end of the read we know why and how things happened. Her hero RJ Bannon is the wounded hero but will defend his heroine even through his pain, the heroine is a frail and demure woman who has claws when needed. The romance is predicable but that's the beauty of it, it's simplicity, the love scenes are rated a G so no romance reader will be offended but those of us who love hot scenes know exactly what goes on behind closed doors.
Ms. Dailey brings us the first in her new Bannon Brothers trilogy with a bang up mystery that's fast paced and full of good guys vs bad guys and she makes sure the good guys come out on top.

posted by dhaupt on August 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I have always enjoyed reading most of Janet Dailey's books, howe

I have always enjoyed reading most of Janet Dailey's books, however this one just seemed to choppy. From the moment I started reading and read about the first 2 characters I had the whole story figured out. I knew who the bad guys and the good guys were. Not sure if ...
I have always enjoyed reading most of Janet Dailey's books, however this one just seemed to choppy. From the moment I started reading and read about the first 2 characters I had the whole story figured out. I knew who the bad guys and the good guys were. Not sure if I want to read the next two books or not since this one was so predictable.

posted by 2579838 on April 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Trust is book one of the Bannon Brothers trilogy

    RJ Bannon needs something to do while he's on the last leg of his two year rehab from a drug bust gone bad, why not the 25 year old cold case of the disappearance of Ann Montgomery age 3 daughter of wealthy Hugh Montgomery. What RJ doesn't know is that by reopening this case he's stepped in the middle of a hornets nest and someone's bound to get stung, will it be him, artist Erin Randall that he's taken a shine to, sheriff Hoebel who wants him out or Hugh Montgomery himself. RJ Bannon's about to find out it's not who you know it's who you "Trust" that counts.
    Janet Dailey brings us a contemporary romance with a good dose of suspense and mystery inside with a plot that belongs on CNN because who wouldn't be interested in the very cold case of a missing heiress. She brings us this with an everyday easy to read dialogue that makes the reading go very smoothly. She give us characters that run the gamut from larger than life horse breeder millionaires to low life ex-cop/cons to your girl next door. Her characters are all defined very well and she makes sure we know as much about them as we need to so that by the end of the read we know why and how things happened. Her hero RJ Bannon is the wounded hero but will defend his heroine even through his pain, the heroine is a frail and demure woman who has claws when needed. The romance is predicable but that's the beauty of it, it's simplicity, the love scenes are rated a G so no romance reader will be offended but those of us who love hot scenes know exactly what goes on behind closed doors.
    Ms. Dailey brings us the first in her new Bannon Brothers trilogy with a bang up mystery that's fast paced and full of good guys vs bad guys and she makes sure the good guys come out on top.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Handsome Way to Start!

    A thrilling series begins with the first Bannon brother, out of three handsome, rugged, and charming siblings. R.J. Bannon lives in the Blue Ridge Mountains with hawks soaring overhead in the perfect blue sky while staring down at the lush, green Virginia valley. Deke and Linc Bannon are currently out of the state on assisgnment, but R.J. is on leave from the police department (a detective), recovering from a gunshot he took while bringing a criminal to justice. His Chief of Police seems mad at him for some reason, and R.J.'s girlfriend left a year ago because she was more interested in the diamond ring she was supposed to get, than whether or not R.J. was going to survive his gunshot wound. Suffice to say, R.J. is a little bored, wanting to get back to work. When he shows up at the station one day and meets up with Doris - a lady who is in the midst of recording all past crimes and cold cases into the computer so the town can be up-to-date with their database, R.J. stumbles across a case labeled, Montgomery.

    Over fifteen years has gone by since the young Montgomery girl was kidnapped from her home and never seen or heard from again. But R.J. Bannon has an odd feeling about the case - a feeling that leads him to go on television and talk about the kidnapping, churning up trouble in order to see if he can finally find the missing Ann. After R.J. "re-opens" the case, he meets Mr. Montgomery and his lawyers face-to-face, and discovers that Montgomery wants to take back the two million dollars he put in trust years ago to give to the one who found his beloved Ann. The Montgomery family has a lot of secrets, including the fact that their wealth is almost gone and the Montgomery estate is about to lose everything.

    When R.J. is deep into the case, he also finds a "friend" who may just help him. A young woman by the name of Erin, whose special gift is the ability to paint fantastically beautiful pictures of horses, appears in town at the Artist Walk. Not only does R.J. begin to feel for the beautiful lady, but as he gets to know her, he realizes that Erin knows a great deal about the Montgomery family, house, and history - as well as having her own slightly odd past.

    This is a fun read. The mystery has enough twists and turns to keep the reader thrilled to be on the ride, and the romance is passionate! The world will be very happy to meet the first handsome Bannon brother, and they will be chomping at the bit to meet the other two. Enjoy!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Very good book

    I liked this book very much and immediately got the next two. I think this is one of her better series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    I have always enjoyed reading most of Janet Dailey's books, howe

    I have always enjoyed reading most of Janet Dailey's books, however this one just seemed to choppy. From the moment I started reading and read about the first 2 characters I had the whole story figured out. I knew who the bad guys and the good guys were. Not sure if I want to read the next two books or not since this one was so predictable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Good read

    A good read. Easy to follow. Didn't see typos which in a freebie is rare. One thing that I found annoying was the author's mis-translation of a Latin motto. The character goes to Google translate to get the answer but it is not the answer I got. She uses the neutral form in the story which she translates into the feminine to go with the plot. If she had reversed the translation on Google she would have had her correct phrasing. Small detail but then it makes one question all the other research she did.

    Overall a good story; okay romance. No sex other than implied. Notthing wrong with that - just saying don't expect hot and heavy in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Janet Daily has done it again!

    After reading 36 of her previous books over the years, I am so happy to find this e-book. As always, Daily has written a wonderful story about a kidnapped child telling her story in a clean and fast read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I found this book to be too descriptive. I also didn't like how

    I found this book to be too descriptive. I also didn't like how the author focused solely on the characters at the beginning instead of the story. I want to be drawn into the story quickly and slowly introduced to the characters, not the other way around. Not my type of book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Good light read

    This, indeed, was a good light reading. A nice love story with suspense. I liked it a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Recommend

    Enjoyed this book. Just bought the second one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Great story,  interesting and  a lot of action, enjoyed  it thro

    Great story,  interesting and  a lot of action, enjoyed  it throughly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    A good fast read

    Well written without gratuitous sex. A fast read with some mystery and some romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Wow

    Janet Dailey is a terrific author. Ereaders...please stop complaining about the cost of books, especially if it is stopping you from reading. Most libraries have ebooks Free.
    Check it out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Anonymous

    I'm glad I checked the other books in this series, the third book is $12. I never pay that much for a romance story.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Average

    An OK read though the coincidence is a little strained. I did buy the second in the series - Bannon Brothers Honor and wished I hadn't. A former military heroine who seemed an hysterical coward.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Great!

    Interesting story couldn't put the book down! A must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    very good read - always like Janet's books especially the series

    very good read - always like Janet's books especially the series ones ladybug

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Good read

    At last, a story without all the discriptive graphic sex scenes!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Loved it!

    Janet Daily is one of my favorite authors, I enjoyed this story and look forward to reading the rest of the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Kora

    Walks in

    1 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    loved the book hated the ending

    Janet Daily is one of my favorite writers, and I looked forward to her new series. The ending left me flat. Sorry, but it just didn't end with any closer.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5